Fingerhut Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Fingerhut Reviews

Updated Jul 28, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
13%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Fingerhut CEO Brian Smith (no image)
Brian Smith
2 Ratings
  1. "This was a great part time job, lots of flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Shipping Clerk in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fingerhut

    Pros

    Flexibility, good money to help make it through the month. The hours are flexible. My manager was a joy to work for. I really like the extra money.

    Cons

    While the pay was okay, I would not make this a full time Job. The shipping warehouse is a good place to work. We were shipping stuff all the time.

    Advice to Management

    Please keep the flexible hours. I think that will continue to draw the right people to work there. A few more breaks would be appreciated.

    Fingerhut2012-03-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Nice to work from home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Fingerhut

    Pros

    Working at home, no traffic

    Cons

    Can get ho-hum same 'ole same 'ole because of the lack of coworker interaction.

    Fingerhut2018-07-28
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Too Much Politics and Few Is Actually Working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fingerhut full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule. Loved the summer Friday afternoon off benefit. Decent compensation and benefit package.

    Cons

    In one department, there are 6 VPs, 6 Directors, 3-4 Mangers/Senior Mangers, 3-4 Analysts. See the problem??

    Fingerhut2015-07-09
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Lack of coaching and development leads to a toxic work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fingerhut full-time

    Pros

    Great product model, you can't find many retailers who can do what Fingerhut is doing well and that is offering credit to sub-prime customers at monthly payments rather than turning them away. It was the reason that attracted me to the company and the reason I didn't want to leave. However, not many employees (at least in merchandising) remember to embrace this concept. Not many even know or have ever read the... company's mission statement on providing credit to the sub-prime customer who wouldn't otherwise receive it at other retailers. Great work-life balance here. In the last year, they started doing flex hours.

    Show More

    Cons

    Challenging work teams, no leadership direction, no training provided, you really have to help yourself along the way - don't think anyone will mentor of guide you. There are a handful of extremely toxic individuals and behaviors in the Merchandising where I worked; inviduals are negative, demeaning, unprofessional, catty, and disrespectful. There is no such thing as offering solutions, people are not afraid to... challenge and critisize new ideas w/o offering any positive, constructive feedback or solutions. The loudest person always gets heard, and they are not always the most thoughful, experienced or intelligent individuals - yet, they get heard and things change to please them.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Coaching, Leadership Development, Training are needed

    Fingerhut2014-04-22
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Company as a whole is well organized, but continued to become more beaurocratic and unproductive while moving toward IPO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fingerhut full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Successful company with a good business plan for growing their business. Allowed for a good work/life balance.

    Cons

    No room for advancement, selfish, snotty executives. No appreciation for the "little guys"

    Advice to Management

    Care about your employees more than yourselves- they make the clock tick

    Fingerhut2014-03-18
  6. "Okay experience....Repetitive work and no room for advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Saint Cloud, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fingerhut part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good atmosphere, friendly people, nice building

    Cons

    pay, repetitive, no room for advancement, no freedom

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees better and offer more opportunity for advancement

    Fingerhut2012-12-11
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Collector in Saint Cloud, MN
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fingerhut

    Pros

    Benefits, Health, Dental, Medical, Vision

    Cons

    Job Stability and lack of Promotion

    Fingerhut2011-11-04
  8. "Good people, not too good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fingerhut

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    Hard place to work. Look hours

    Advice to Management

    Please take a hard look on the floor

    Fingerhut2011-10-04
  9. "The Hut is okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Analyst in Minnetonka, MN
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fingerhut

    Pros

    My peers where great to work with and I learned a lot from them. There are a lot of smart people there.

    Cons

    Executives live in a ivory castle. My department was closed off to what the rest of the company was doing.

    Advice to Management

    Communication is vital. Let us understand how we are contributing to the bigger picture.

    Fingerhut2010-06-11
  10. "Make your Quotas and life isn't too bad at Fingerhut."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Telemarketing Sales Representative in Brooklyn Center, MN
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fingerhut

    Pros

    Good pay, lots of jobs and security if you work hard. Putting in the effort to succeed will almost guarantee your job is secure, except for uncontrollable executive decisions regarding layoffs and economic woes etc. The team based environment and commission is worth while. Bilingual salespeople make a killing, so brush up on your Spanish in particular. Overall a good place to work but the company has a bad rep from... telemarketing. Team leads can push pretty hard to make quotas, as your performance affects them as well. Expect to work at least a weekend a month. Could be worse.

    Show More

    Cons

    The name Fingerhut has a stigma attached to it in a lof of places. the Telemarketing component of the company has its detractors. I mean, most people don't like getting called by salespeople, especially on weekends, but the company has to make money right? It can be stressful and quotas are no joke. Customizing scripts and improvisation are a big part of the telemarketing sales reps' job and you will get stuck... partnering with better sellers if you don't adapt quickly, so as to learn how they are doing it and up your game. A lot of stress and it can seem shady with shipping and handling costs being ridiculous.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    To be honest, not a lot. I was a little cog in a big machine, so I never had much to consider beyond my team duties.

    Fingerhut2009-03-11
Found 10 reviews