First Bank (Alaska) Reviews | Glassdoor

First Bank (Alaska) Reviews

Updated May 5, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
William Moran Jr.
3 Ratings
  1. "Teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at First Bank (Alaska)

    Pros

    Great environment. Positive caring indiviuals

    Cons

    the bureaucratic process sometimes gets in the way of real growth. Using for example set milestones for raises rather than performance.

    Advice to Management

    more training

    First Bank (Alaska)2015-07-28
  2. "Float Teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at First Bank (Alaska)

    Pros

    Banker hours Monday thru Friday light travel small bank good clients

    Cons

    Sales Environment inconsistent sales goals growing bank without proper guidance

    First Bank (Alaska)2016-05-06
  3. "great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Bank (Alaska)

    Pros

    Great people and fun enviornemnt

    Cons

    Hard to earn incentives unless knowledgeable about all products

    Advice to Management

    My is wonderful

    First Bank (Alaska)2016-03-31
  4. "Took part in almost every aspect of the bank, from teller work to working with loan officers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at First Bank (Alaska)

    Pros

    All employees want to make the customers happy as well as the community. They are willing to work with you and teach you whatever it is you want to know.

    Cons

    The upper management is divided. Management does not have a set goals to measure performance.In a urban environment with little or no room to move up in the organization.

    Advice to Management

    Goals need to be set. Try and get to know your employees as much as you do your customers. If want business to expand you need to get into sales mind frame.

    First Bank (Alaska)2015-07-22
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President Retail Banking Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Bank (Alaska)

    Pros

    Small community bank, customer friendly

    Cons

    technology, out of date, cumbersome

    First Bank (Alaska)2015-04-03
  6. "Great Company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Help Desk in Ketchikan, AK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at First Bank (Alaska) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Willing to promote from within, a friendly place to work.

    Cons

    If you are under one certain person, they make you feel like a child and cannot do anything for yourself.

    Advice to Management

    Let your employees shine. We are capable of being more then you let us.

    First Bank (Alaska)2014-09-26
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Not a good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at First Bank (Alaska) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the employees were nice and worked well together as a team.

    Cons

    Horrible management, lousy pay, lousy hours.

    First Bank (Alaska)2014-05-18
  8. "REVIEW"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at First Bank (Alaska)

    Pros

    Stay in same position for a while

    Cons

    This is not a good location

    First Bank (Alaska)2014-05-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "I worked at First Bank for over 10 years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at First Bank (Alaska) full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Not a lot of bureaucracy.

    Cons

    The systems are a little backwards and the technology is so old fashioned.

    First Bank (Alaska)2014-04-21
  10. Helpful (2)

    "First Bank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at First Bank (Alaska) full-time

    Pros

    Stable company, with decent pay.

    Cons

    Branches are too spread out. A promotion may cause you to travel a bit.

    Advice to Management

    Updated software.

    First Bank (Alaska)2013-05-23
Found 13 reviews