First Cal Reviews | Glassdoor

First Cal Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
5 Ratings
  1. "I Miss first cal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at First Cal

    Pros

    Had some of the best people in the business. Strong moral character. You can always count on them to do the right thing

    Cons

    You really can't complain it's the mortgage business you know what you're getting yourself into

    Advice to Management

    I wish them the best and their new Ventures. I will always remember our times we shared.

    First Cal2018-06-29
  2. "Wish the company would have persisted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Petaluma, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at First Cal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This was a great greenfield, fullstack engineering position

    Cons

    Didn't have access to financial internals, and I was blindsided by the layoff and closure

    Advice to Management

    I think you were closed into your own box, try to think outside it (or get the opinions that are certainly available out there)

    First Cal2019-03-16
  3. "Processor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at First Cal full-time

    Pros

    Best team in the world

    Cons

    First Cal is closed now, which is sad for the employees

    Advice to Management

    Might have not hired so many execs. Things got too heavy on top. Too many cooks in the kitchen.

    First Cal2018-07-18
  4. "Great possibilities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer in Bellevue, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at First Cal full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great CRM (Salesforce) and loan originator tools like Mortgage Coach and ListReports provided. Professional, helpful tech support and marketing.

    Cons

    Management terminals were revolving. No stable leadership.

    First Cal2018-03-16
  5. "Company closed their doors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at First Cal full-time

    Pros

    Was a great company to work for

    Cons

    Closed with no notice. Laid off everyone nationally

    Advice to Management

    Management at the Colorado office was amazing

    First Cal2018-03-22
  6. "So long FirstCal. Company going out of Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loan Officer Assistant in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at First Cal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great compensation and excellent benefits.

    Cons

    Lack of communication and training.

    Advice to Management

    If you see Chris Hart run!

    First Cal2017-11-30
  7. "Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at First Cal full-time

      Pros

      Office in a great location, friendly co-workers.

      Cons

      No training structure at least in the past

      First Cal2017-09-19
    • "Pretty Good Place for a Loan Officer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Loan Advisor in San Diego, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at First Cal full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Access to Mgt. Team Good Technology Access to Ops and UW Team Fair Pricing Heathcare benefit that is fairly priced and comprehensive

      Cons

      Instruction in how to use some of our competitive tools need to be upgraded,

      Advice to Management

      Keep being accessible Keep up our push to new technology

      First Cal2017-09-01
    • "Positive Momentum"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - IT Analyst in Petaluma, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at First Cal full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      I have enjoyed my experience here over the past five years. I have always felt like I have a voice that is heard, not to mention a direct route to the people that should hear it. It is a wonderful experience, with a constant upward trajectory. If you are willing to work for it, you will find success. Friendship and fun are just a bonus.

      Cons

      The market can still be harsh.

      Advice to Management

      We are moving in the right direction! Efficiency and culture will drive our collective success.

      First Cal2017-08-18
    • "EVP, National Production"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Petaluma, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at First Cal full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Over the past year we have built an Open, Collaborative Culture where people are heard and concerns are responded to. We encourage all team members to push us to make us the best we can be.

      Cons

      Change is challenging the way some approach their business, thus causing them to opt out and not achieve the level of success possible.

      Advice to Management

      Stay the course - you are going on the right direction!

      First Cal2017-08-13
    Found 23 reviews