FreightCenter Reviews | Glassdoor

FreightCenter Reviews

Updated May 15, 2017
43 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.4
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Matthew J. Brosious
31 Ratings

43 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. Helpful (2)

    "A growing company with wonderful people"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Palm Harbor, FL
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Palm Harbor, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FreightCenter full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - The Employees are like a family environment
    - Promote from within
    - Exceptional supervisors, they treat employees with respect and understanding

    Cons

    - There is a learning curve that takes a few months to be comfortable getting the details down on shipments.

    Advice to Management

    Continue with empowering employees and being accessible for advice.

    FreightCenter Response

    May 16, 2017 – Marketing Coordinator

    We're so glad to hear you feel the family environment we work hard towards instilling. This lets us know we are moving in the right direction. We can understand the learning curve you mentioned, as ... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Bad sales people always complaining."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Palm Harbor, FL
    Former Employee - Sales in Palm Harbor, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FreightCenter full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    If you like selling and know how to sell, not just take orders, there is money to be made.

    Cons

    Lots of order takers that think calling someone that actually put their information in the system and has shipments is hard work! They need to hire more 'sales' people.

    Advice to Management

    Hire sales talent and continue to weed out the under performers that constantly complain and treat the customers badly.


  3. Helpful (2)

    "Friendly Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting Specialist in Palm Harbor, FL
    Current Employee - Accounting Specialist in Palm Harbor, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FreightCenter full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly employee atmosphere, Game room, Growth incentives, Great special events, Benefits offered including PTO

    Cons

    High turn over rate

    Advice to Management

    High quality training, strong SOPs and seasoned employees would all benefit our company

    FreightCenter Response

    May 2, 2017 – Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for your review! We' appreciate your feedback as it helps us continue to improve. We have been working towards making improvements with training as we know how crucial it is to the success ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Happy Camper"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting in Palm Harbor, FL
    Current Employee - Accounting in Palm Harbor, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FreightCenter full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great culture
    Pleasant atmosphere
    Friendly co-workers
    Approachable and fair bosses
    Ability to work over-time for extra money

    Cons

    No 401K
    Low hourly pay
    Health insurance is not fully paid and the contribution is too high (the plan is awful too )

    Advice to Management

    Instead of hiring more low paying workers, pay your good, hard-working employees more money so they stay. Also, a 401K plan is needed with a matching contribution. Better health insurance would be well appreciated too.

    FreightCenter Response

    May 2, 2017 – Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for providing your feedback! We're glad to hear that you're happy with your time at FreightCenter.


  6. Helpful (4)

    "Horrible company, stay far away"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Palm Harbor, FL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Palm Harbor, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FreightCenter full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    you get a paycheck and they give out food and alcohol.
    The standard of performance is set pretty low.
    They will hire practically anyone.

    Cons

    1. They changed the sales commission structure to cut the top 15-20 sales people's commissions to half, with no notice. Most of them left after that.

    2. The health insurance isn't worth what they expect you to contribute for it. Terrible coverage, high deductibles, and high contributions.

    3. A company that gives employees alcohol while on the clock is just asking for trouble.

    4. I've seen people fired for being caught drinking in the bathroom, smoking weed, getting caught having sex in the bathroom. (Yes that really happened, during work hours) So the quality of people they are hiring are not the greatest, and you'll be working alongside them.

    5. The marketing team is pressured to manufacture positive customer reviews and employee reviews.

    6. Business decisions are based on the owner's greed, not the best interest of the company.

    7. When I gave my two weeks notice, they told me to get out after one. I found out later this was because my second week went into the next month and they didn't want to provide me health insurance for the following month. So they cancelled it the Friday they told me to leave. I then had to fight them to get refunded for the health insurance I had paid, but now wasn't receiving.

    8. They used to have a retirement program, they cancelled it because employees actually started signing up and it became "too expensive".

    9. They are constantly hiring and doing training classes. People do not last.

    10. The management level are just sales people who have stuck around longer than all of the others, so they are eventually promoted. They weren't provided with management training.

    11. One of the sales managers tried to tell his team that they weren't going to be paid for time worked, it took them going to HR before the company relented and paid them.

    There were plenty of other instances where this company proved to be less than upstanding, but why go on, I think I've proved my point.

    Advice to Management

    Stop catering to the greed of the owner. If you treat people well, they will want to do well for you. By treating people as disposable you are doing them, yourself, and your customers a disservice.

    FreightCenter Response

    May 23, 2017 – Marketing Coordinator

    We're sorry to hear you found your experience with us to be less than upstanding. We are confident we treat our employees well and know many would agree. We wish you the best of luck in your future ... More


  7. Helpful (4)

    "These positive reviews are laughable"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Palm Harbor, FL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Palm Harbor, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FreightCenter full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Easy to get a job

    Cons

    Where do I start! This place is the worst joke Ive seen in my 20 year career. Just read the other NEGATIVE reviews. The positive ones are the marketing team making stuff up. Don't fall for it.

    Advice to Management

    Retire.


  8. Helpful (8)

    "You'll thank yourself later for steering clear"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Performance Manager in Palm Harbor, FL
    Former Employee - Sales Performance Manager in Palm Harbor, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FreightCenter full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    With such low standards, you have a great chance of being a shining star with little effort. Food and alcohol are given freely in lieu of vacation time, raises and a 401k plan.

    Cons

    Wow just look at the themes within the reviews below. FreightCenter has pay well below what you can get anywhere else. Horrible benefits. You want decent salary, affordable health care and a retirement plan? Nope! You get an "open social media policy" and free coffee.

    This company churns and burns like no other. Check out the list of previous employees on linkedin. It's extensive. Check out the past press releases. Every year they talk about growth then the next year report numbers that are exactly the same. That's because Freightcenter's business is stagnant and you will be compensated at the exact same scale. Employees are disrespected and untrusted. All phone calls, emails and inter-office communications are monitored.

    Advice to Management

    Sell it, pay off your house and let someone with some experience actually make the improvements you are unable to. Stop going with your gut, it doesn't serve you well, and neither do the people in the outer offices.

    FreightCenter Response

    May 2, 2017 – Marketing Coordinator

    We're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time at FreightCenter. We wish you good luck in your future endeavors.


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative (CSR) in New Port Richey, FL
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative (CSR) in New Port Richey, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FreightCenter (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great People
    Make you feel valued
    Fun place to work

    Cons

    No 401k plan
    Needs more communication between departments

    Advice to Management

    Provide an option for retirement benefits.

    FreightCenter Response

    Jan 10, 2017 – Marketing Coordinator

    We're glad to hear you think FreightCenter is a great place to work! Communication between departments is something we're actively working towards improving as we can understand the frustration in a ... More


  10. Helpful (9)

    "Terrible place to work, CEO is awful & has no idea how to run a business"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Representative in Palm Harbor, FL
    Former Employee - Account Representative in Palm Harbor, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FreightCenter full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    some "perks" like free food, drinks, alcohol & games/ pinball machines in break room

    Cons

    Ceo must like you personally, or you will be out the day in a day. They are CONSTANTLY hiring & training classes are every 2 weeks. If they are always hiring, what does that tell you? They tell you that you won't be cold calling, but that is the managements answer whenever you have no leads- which is often. You have to call people so often, that they get really angry & tell you to stop calling them. There is no guarantee of keeping your job, nor getting enough leads to keep you busy enough to reach your sales "goals", which if you don't meet them, no bonus pay (which could & should be a large portion of your income) & low hourly pay. The CEO is supposedly a retired Army Ranger, who has supposedly ran this business for the last 18 years, yet he has no idea how to retain, treat nor manage any of his people. Say something negative or express a way things could be done better & you risk being fired immediately. This company is not a place to work if you're looking to make the money they boast you can/ should, if you value/ need job security & can live off a wage well below industry standards. If you can sell, find a realistic job that you'll be much more successful at & certainly have more job security & make more money. This place is a joke- particularly the 42 yr. old owner that has no idea how to run a business. Look at most of the other reviews- most say the same things. Too many negatives to share here, but you get the idea..... Beware!!

    Advice to Management

    Ceo Matt should take some business classes to know how to run a business. Management needs to understand ow to manage people & provide realistic sales goals. Too much to list........


  11. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Palm Harbor, FL
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Palm Harbor, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FreightCenter part-time

    Pros

    I really appreciate that the company allows flexibility in your workday. My co-workers are easy to work with, and I feel supported by Freightcenter team leads. I'm enjoying learning new things and picking up a few skills.

    Cons

    I wish the pay was a bit higher

    Advice to Management

    Have more training classes

    FreightCenter Response

    Sep 20, 2016 – Marketing

    We're very happy to hear a flexible work environment and support from your team leads have helped make your time here enjoyable. Our training department is working on developing additional ongoing ... More


Showing 43 of 43 reviews
Reset Filters