Golden Frog Reviews | Glassdoor

Golden Frog Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 53 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
33%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
Golden Frog CEO Sunday Yokubaitis (no image)
Sunday Yokubaitis
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work ethic: Not to be confused with a mismanaged work/life balance(in 5 reviews)

  • "Some other pros: The new office is awesome(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "This is a place with high a very high turnover(in 5 reviews)

  • "This company is the same as Giganews, Powerhouse Management, and Data Foundry, though DF is mostly operated independently(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Breath of Fresh Air"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Golden Frog full-time

    Pros

    Golden Frog is an innovative, forward-thinking environment, full of positive energy and can-do attitude.

    Cons

    Expectations are high. If you are going to work here, you are going to earn your paycheck. No slacking off or trifling around here.

    Continue reading
    Golden Frog2018-08-16
  2. Helpful (4)

    "All companies have their ups and downs."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Golden Frog

    Pros

    Challenging work in an ever changing tech space.

    Cons

    Outsourcing engineering roles clearly for the purpose of managing the bottom line. All businesses exist to make money and thrive, but American companies lead in innovation when technology is developed in-house. When companies outsource, the in-house employees feel devalued and worry that their number will be up at any time.

    Continue reading
    Golden Frog2019-07-15
  3. Helpful (16)

    "Negative Reviews are True. Stay Away."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Golden Frog full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - The team members you get to work with are awesome, hard-working people. - The office is in a nice, central location. - The office building is nice.

    Cons

    When I say CEO, I am referring to Sunday Yokubaitis. When I say Leadership, I am referring to the CEO, VPs, and Director-level roles. There are previous and current Leaders/employees at Golden Frog that can very easily substantiate the things I have put in this review. Most (if not all) decisions made by the Leadership are short-sighted; you will see that in the rest of this post. --- Leadership treats many decisions as ripping off a band-aid -- doing something that in the moment is harsh, but they think in the long run will be good for the organization. In truth, a better metaphor for their actions would be a small blade slicing at a new part of the body every single day. And that is how you can describe the impact that the Leadership group makes on the morale at Golden Frog -- as one former leader put it: death from a 1,000 cuts. And to be clear, the fish rots at the head. Many Leaders have come and gone in the business, but the morale and culture remain the same, because of the person running the company -- he is the common denominator. The CEO creates a culture of fear that constantly leads the VPs and Directors to make bad/rash decisions. I've had multiple leaders (ones that have left Golden Frog, and ones that are still there, but have shifted to different roles) tell me that they are so glad they do not work for the CEO anymore. One said to me that now that they are on the outside looking in, they see that working for the CEO led them to be a distrusting leader of their staff. They said to me that they used to be so frustrated with the staff for not maintaining quality work, but now that they are on the outside of the management chain looking in they can see that it wasn't the team members' fault at all, but instead the fear created from the top-down. --- I was in a couple meetings where the CEO essentially assigned blame to all of the VPs and Directors for the bad Glassdoor reviews, instead of properly using the time to ask what he could do to help improve morale. There were a few times where members of Leadership (not the CEO) were trying to figure out who wrote a bad Glassdoor review, or who submitted negative feedback on an internal survey -- as a way to sort of rationalize the poor feedback as irrelevant instead of trying to see how they could use the feedback to improve the culture. It seemed clear to me that they approached things this way because of the Leadership culture being created from the top. --- Often I had Leaders tell me that the CEO just got done being very angry at them about something; even though what he was angry about would go against something he had said weeks (or even days) earlier. For instance, the CEO saying he doesn't care about dates or timelines for projects, and then Leaders acting very fearful about having to tell the CEO about a missed date, even if it was a minimal delay. This clearly seemed to be because the CEO was getting angry at these Leaders when a date was missed. This often led to my team pushing out work to customers that hadn't been fully tested, which would result in bugs being found by customers, and which would then make my team look bad (internally and externally). --- I would often be told by my leaders to always be positive with my team, and never show any negativity about decisions being made at the top, even though I would be in meetings with leaders where they were doing the exact same thing -- including when my leader told me he was updating his resume to get employment somewhere else, or (as mentioned above) leaders telling me that they were pissed off because the CEO just got done being very angry at them over something ridiculous. --- Other examples of what it is like working at Golden Frog: I can’t begin to describe how many times I heard someone in Leadership explaining the proper way to speak to the CEO. If there is this much conversation going on about how to speak to the CEO, here is your sign that he is in fact the one that needs coaching, not the people around him. One of the top leaders (in the management chain above me) would sometimes say in meetings that "everyone is replaceable", which is an awful thing to say in front of staff. Leaders speaking ill (or spreading misinformation) about team members or teams in other departments, without working with Team Leads to address issues. This would lead to teams or team members having invalid reputations with Leadership. I constantly had to do what I could to turn these perceptions around, but often Leaders were too stubborn to allow their perceptions to be changed. Incredibly talented, veteran employees being let go for irrational, invalid reasons -- I wish I could get into details on this, but I need to keep with Glassdoor policies. Company not paying an exiting employee their PTO for irrational, invalid reasons -- I wish I could get into details on this, but I need to keep with Glassdoor policies. Tech Debt is a bad word here. Multiple Leaders would say that we should change the term "tech debt" to something else because the CEO does not respond well to that term. In general, do not expect to get time to work on Tech Debt. The company is incredibly stingy when it comes to compensation, benefits, etc. Often team members not even getting a cost of living adjustment. The CEO has such little trust of the staff that he has to approve every purchase, no matter how small they are. I could keep going for hours. These examples are just the tip of the iceberg, even if we’re only talking about the last year. --- So, needless to say, the comments made in the other negative Glassdoor reviews are (for the most part) incredibly accurate. I would recommend that everyone stay away from this place, unless you want to put yourself through truly one of the most difficult work experiences out there.

    Continue reading
    Golden Frog2019-07-05
  4. Helpful (16)

    "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Golden Frog full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The coworkers, some of the people who work here are worth the effort but that could be said to be true of any company really.

    Cons

    Management. They hired people who don't know how to manage and people who don't like criticism. There have been complaints for months to add additional staff but nothing was done related to this. Their biggest market was China but that is gone. They were slow to address a move to Western markets and in comparison to their rivals, they can only offer slow speeds/broken issues/poor support. Rather than giving people refunds after repeated requests, they hold onto these requests for months without replying. It is something that has been called out many times by employees but nothing is done. This company really is the worst when it comes to customer service, not just to their customers but to their employees. Stay far away from here as this company won't be around for too much longer.

    Continue reading
    Golden Frog2019-04-16
  5. Helpful (18)

    "Private Equity Disaster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Golden Frog full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None. Unless you consider the cardio you will get from running away as fast as you can from here.

    Cons

    This place is a nightmare. If you are a Private Equity Firm looking to buy a company, run for the hills. This company has so many structural & cultural issues, when you begin your due diligence, you will be in complete disbelief on where the rabbit holes lead you. As stated by many others, no C-Level or VP Level Executive would be employable at any other company, due to both, sheer incompetence and their inability to lead and inspire people. The company has plateaued and is doing all the things a company that is in the cusp of failing will do: discount prices, re-market the same product with some fluff, and layoff/fire people to make the books look temporarily decent. There is no innovation coming from this company. NONE, whatsoever.

    Continue reading
    Golden Frog2019-03-28
  6. Helpful (34)

    "A Radioactive Wasteland"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Golden Frog full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent paycheck and a bunch of friendly, regular folk who are too good for what they receive daily from On High.

    Cons

    Do you enjoy working in a high-stress environment? Are intimidation tactics, backstabbing, and arrogant executives an absolute must in your American Dream? Will knowing your manager is utterly inflexible gear you up for time away from your family? If your life is incomplete without a daily dose of nerve-wracking metrics and corporate condescension, this is the perfect company for you! Don't miss your opportunity to work at a place where the customers hate you and your personal wellness doesn't matter. Where honesty and integrity make you a target for opportunistic, manipulative sharks. Where bosses say, in no uncertain terms, it's perfectly acceptable to 'punch down' the average worker because the upper echelon is more successful. [ “Hold up,” I hear you protest, perhaps sporting wide eyes or a furrowed brow. “Pump the hyperbolic brakes. They say *what*?” No hyperbole, dear reader. Spoken from the mouth of a recently hired manager: it is perfectly acceptable to 'punch down' the average worker because the upper echelon is more successful. And I still have four and a half years of backlogged bullcrapery to market to you. I can't pull my own punches now given I've held them coiled tight in my bones so long. Shall I? “Proceed . . .” ] That’s not all! Take a peek at these outstanding perks! - Slog through thankless, tedious 12-hour shifts on the support team while you rely on superficial loyalty to give you the thinnest hope you’ll transition to other departments - Battle governments and your employer alike in a no-win IP Cat-and-Mouse game as a SysAdmin - Scramble to meet unreasonable deadlines from the discomfort of the marketing department - Receive mediocre benefits for yourself; add family to your insurance plan at an absurd rate - Prepare for guilt trips and warnings about attendance when you use PTO to see to your personal wellness - Weather hurricanes of revolving supervisors - Grit your teeth against Holier Than Thou attitudes - Bask in passive-aggressive reminders that your contributions aren't good enough (Protip: you never will be good enough) - Endure ambush-style retaliation after you ask for guidance from execs - Shoulder blame, all 100%, for all incidents despite management’s equal or greater culpability For everyone else: your life is too short to spend it toiling in this radioactive wasteland. -- For obvious reasons, all these negative reviews aren't going to cease their familiar themes. Hostility with a smile and CYA culture both still thrive near the top. The company turns on employees at the drop of a hat. Maybe someone can code them a conscience? Until that time, you must make kissing CEO posteriors your life’s ambition in order to succeed here. Otherwise, you're fodder. They'll pull you into an ambush-style meeting with HR regarding your performance faster than you can spit. There, they might insist you have nothing to worry about, that “this isn’t a warning,” yet still demand your signature on an agreement about improving your performance based on their arbitrary goals so they can throw it back in your face when it suits them. One manager they brought in a few months ago was the catalyst for just such an ambush against myself. The new manager is an unpalatable brew of abrasive, micro-managerial, inflexible, disingenuous, and inconsiderate. They turn teachable moments into insults while beaming a false Big Business smirk and, true to form, heap every ounce of blame on those employees. In other words: perfect for the execs. My four and a half years of commitment held ZERO clout against the new manager in that room. The experience put such a sour taste in my mouth that I promptly took my leave. Icing on the Disappointment Cake? The turnover for the dwindling support team got so bad that the department began to drown in customer complaints over the summer. While the powers that be threw more money at sales, they also pulled former support agents from their current work in other departments to respond to tickets. Which I guess is cool because a return to battle against enraged users is precisely what workers look forward to after they've escaped support’s gnashing maw.

    Continue reading
    Golden Frog2018-11-12
  7. Helpful (24)

    "Years of dedication rewarded with swift termination"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Golden Frog full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Office is nice. Health insurance for personal coverage is decent. Get to work with some cool people, supporting products in a hot tech space. In some departments there are decent opportunities for advancement.

    Cons

    I spent almost 6 years at Golden Frog. The other reviews highlighting culture, nepotism, and other issues are generally true. It's not a fantastically run organization. Each department has their own challenges when it comes to managers and directors. Many people have been there for far too long. Fresh directors and upper-level management with new ideas could inject some much-needed energy and positivity into this tech company. It's not as well-adapted to the modern software scene as it could be. In my time there, I was afforded many opportunities to work hard, prove myself, and be promoted several times. Eventually I became part of the management team. For that I am grateful. Then, the director I worked under for 4 years was asked to leave the company. A new director was brought in, who promptly terminated my employment 2 weeks into his tenure. Reasons given could easily be explained or improved upon with increased communication. I had never been written up for any infraction in almost 6 years, and just like that - I was shown the door. Never did I claim to be the model employee, but I was not given any chance to improve. The kicker is, that same director has since been let go. He was there maybe 6 months. I guess the silver lining is that bit of schadenfreude I can indulge in. The question you might want to ask yourself is - along with all the other issues outlined in previous reviews, would you want to work for a company that is so willing to just toss out their tenured employees like they mean nothing?

    Continue reading
    Golden Frog2018-10-09
  8. Helpful (31)

    "The. Worst. Company. Ever."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Golden Frog full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very nice, new office with beautiful views.

    Cons

    The TL/DR version is that you should not work here. Ever. This is a toxic work environment and is by far the worst company that I've ever worked for, and here's why: Nepotism: This is a privately owned company. The couple that owns it has most of their children working there. They are untouchable and can't be held accountable, even by HR, even when their behavior is terrible and would be unacceptable anywhere else. Terrible Management: A few key members of the leadership team have never worked anywhere else, and it shows. They have no idea what industry norms are and they act like children, throwing temper tantrums and at times openly yelling at people in meetings when anyone says anything in opposition to their ideas. Micromanagement is a way of life here, in the extreme. If you want your boss to treat you like you've never worked anywhere else and your opinion doesn't count and to just shut up and follow his/her exact instructions, then look no further. This is your place. Want your boss to tell you one thing, then you do it and it doesn't work out, and he blames you for making that decision? They got that here in spades. Inappropriate Behavior: There is rampant good ol' boy network behavior here. Racism? Check! Sexism? Check! Unprofessional behavior in meetings? Absolutely! Wildly inappropriate/vulgar jokes about people who work here? Yep, everyday. Oh, and most of that is from management. Also, if you are left-leaning in your politics, or just don't want to talk about politics at work, forget it. This is like a Fox News cheerleader squad and they have no problem spewing out their beliefs to you and attacking any ideas that are different. Final thoughts... Most of the SUPER positive reviews on here are from management which is trying to raise their terrible Glass Door rating. They are not reviews from people telling the truth. I know, I was one of the people encouraged by them to write good reviews while I was there because no one wants to work for a company that has 2 out of 5 stars or less and they were having a hard time filling their positions. This company is the same as Giganews, Powerhouse Management, and Data Foundry, though DF is mostly operated independently. They are all just separate legal entities but share most of the staff. Run away. Seriously. Run away or you will regret it. Don't believe me? Well, go ahead and take the job, but when you hate it, just remember that someone who went through the purgatory that is that company tried to warn you and you chose not to listen.

    Continue reading
    Golden Frog2018-09-21
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Golden Frog for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is moving in the right direction. There is a huge room for growth for all employees. The culture is collaborative and the new leadership genuinely cares about the team.

    Cons

    Benefits is good but there is no vision insurance.

    Golden Frog2018-08-16
  10. Helpful (21)

    "All the negative reviews are true"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Golden Frog full-time

    Pros

    Nice view from the office. Apparently they have a good 401k plan . . if you make it to 6 years which most don't.

    Cons

    Management just wants a bunch of people that can execute directions blindly. High turnover rate. This company does not send anyone to conferences . . unless it's free. A lot of very intelligent people have left because of a single "scientist". No training. Projects never get finished. If you are not in one of the vice president's "circle of friends" then good luck to you. To any future managers I hope you know how to keep your stress levels down because you will be under constant unneeded stress.

    Continue reading
    Golden Frog2018-09-10
Found 53 reviews