HC-One Reviews | Glassdoor

HC-One Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
HC-One CEO Justin Hutchens
Justin Hutchens
56 Ratings
Pros
  • "Kindness is through all we do at HC-one(in 29 reviews)

  • "Great company to work for especially other companies I have worked for in the past)(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "I have found no downside at HC-One(in 19 reviews)

  • "Some carers are brilliant some just want to sit and do nothing(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place to get experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinician in Gainesville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HC-One full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great PTO! Good place to get experience as a new graduate.

    Cons

    Poor work /life balance due to lots of uncompensated hours required to maintain productivity. Double booking of clients by schedulers with no say so. pr rather than primary focus of agency is on productivity. Also, Electronic Health Record becomes a crutch (too many check boxes) and you will lose your diagnostic skills and writing skills here. Also, supervision is not free here.

    HC-One2017-08-22
  2. "Salaries"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative/Clerical in Red Bank, NJ
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HC-One full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great health insurance however at my pay level it's costly.

    Cons

    Very low salaries.

    Advice to Management

    It's not just about you. My annual increase would be 35 cents. Really? Shame on Meridian and that's just an insult.

    HC-One2017-01-25
  3. "Needs Improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HC-One

    Pros

    Nice landscaping and front entry

    Cons

    Majority of employees are unprofessional, a lot of sitting around by nurses. CNA's have attitudes when patients ask for help. Lack of obvious housekeeping.

    Advice to Management

    Screen employees better. Use disinfectant when cleaning so the hallways and patient rooms don't smell.

    HC-One2017-01-05
  4. "constant demanding work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Care Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at HC-One full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Our permanent residents and colleagues

    Cons

    Eleven hours pay, but working 12 hours with no break massive loads of paper work

    Advice to Management

    no point

    HC-One2019-10-18
  5. "Hard working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CARE ASSIANT in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HC-One part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    listening to the stories of residents

    Cons

    lack of staff meaning current staff are run off their feet and some residents are not getting enough attention or level of care that they should

    Advice to Management

    Bring staff numbers up

    HC-One2019-10-15
  6. "Truly great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Advisor in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HC-One full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They stick to their values and treat every one fairly. Progression is encouraged and hard work is rewarded.

    Cons

    Top heavy at senior management level, too many cooks

    Advice to Management

    Streamline decision makers, keep things simple

    HC-One2019-09-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Don't go there unless"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care-Assistant in Hambleton, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at HC-One part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nurses provided continuity. Appropriate settings for clients. Training. Activities

    Cons

    No empathy for clients or Co workers who try to introduce. Poor management fail to respond to notified bad practice. Poor staffing levels for high dependency of clients. Noise level is excessive. Fights with relatives not uncommon. Clients moved around units without consultation, and excluded from home if relatives speak up

    Advice to Management

    Proper appraisals and staff meeting needed

    HC-One2019-09-18
  8. "Innovative, Creative, Friendly workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Manager in Darlington, North East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HC-One full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have worked for HC-One for 8 years alongside brilliant people who fully support the company’s kind care ethos. I’ve been fortunate to work with colleagues who have a diverse work background which means that even after many years in Marketing, every day I learn something new. My day to day work involves speaking to colleagues at all levels who are supportive and encouraging and on the rare occasion I have a... problem I know that help is readily available from senior colleagues. Learning and Development is encouraged; there are online learning modules for everyone which are informative and delivered in a creative way. I’ve made some great friends here and there’s always something social going on.

    Show More

    Cons

    I can't think of any.

    HC-One2019-09-02
  9. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HC-One full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a job if you need one

    Cons

    Bullying, awful pay, short-staffed, neglect of residents, the list goes on and on. Avoid at all costs!

    Advice to Management

    You should be ashamed of yourselves!

    HC-One2019-10-07
  10. "Excellent company I absolutely love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Executive in Darlington, North East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HC-One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing team and management Great office environment with wellness schemes I don't hate mondays!! Recently offered me more flexible working which is great

    Cons

    None that I can think of!

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up, love the trust you have in our team :)

    HC-One2019-08-30
Found 248 reviews