HCSS Reviews | Glassdoor

HCSS Reviews

Updated Jan 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
81%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
HCSS Founder & CEO Mike Rydin
Mike Rydin
74 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fat profit sharing checks every year based on a percentage of salary - fair for everyone, and rewards tenure over position(in 20 reviews)

  • "Work environment is very relaxed, you feel motivated to work(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "The learning curve and interview process can be a deterrent for some applicants(in 5 reviews)

  • "Add annual profit sharing to that, and this isn't really much of a con(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Found my home at HCSS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Manager in Sugar Land, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCSS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Since the first day I've walked in the door, the support department has treated me like family. Everyone here is more than happy to help with any question or problem that might arise. I've never worked with a team so talented, smart, and motivated before. Each person in support truly cares about the customers, as well as each other. I have yet to wake up in the morning and say "I don't want to go to work today".

    Cons

    HCSS is not your typical, corporate environment. If that is what you are interested or you feel you need, then this likely isn't the right fit for you.

    HCSS2019-09-09

    HCSS Response

    September 16, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for continuing your professional career at HCSS. We are working hard to provide the right amount of work life balance for each employee in a non-traditional office that makes time to appreciate the people you work with and the work you complete.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Analyst in Sugar Land, TX
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HCSS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - great opportunity for growth - support and encouragement to learn - amazing people

    Cons

    Like anywhere else you go, no place is perfect. HCSS is working on improving the this but the quality of manager is not consistent across the board.

    Continue reading
    HCSS2020-01-23

    HCSS Response

    January 31, 2020Talent Acquisition Advisor - Lead (Allan)

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are always open to feedback in order to continuously improve and ensure the employee experience is positive.

    Continue reading
  3. "Good Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Analyst in Sugar Land, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCSS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working environment is really good

    Cons

    Only 1 week PTO per year.

    HCSS2019-12-28

    HCSS Response

    December 30, 2019Director of Support Services (Admir)

    Hi there! Thank you for your review. I just wanted to clarify the PTO statement. I think there may be some confusion as every full-time employee gets 120 hours (3 weeks) of PTO per year in their first 5 years, which can be carried forward indefinitely. From 5-10 years of service, you get 160 hours/year, and 10+ years, 200 hours/year. If you have any questions about this please feel free to stop by. Thanks for being part of the best support department in the world! Thanks, Admir.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Great employees, terrible executive management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content Marketing Specialist in Sugar Land, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HCSS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with; lots of fun "perks" like free drinks, free lunch on Fridays, free fruit/nuts/oatmeal, bring your dog to work (limited kennels available), onsite workout facilities and trainers; flexible work schedules (in some departments); relaxed environment most of the time; company-paid employee insurance and HRA contribution; wellness activities.

    Cons

    CEO micromanages every single department and does not trust anyone that is hired, including those he's hired himself. He has outdated ideas of development, marketing, and product management, and if you disagree with him, you're black-labeled. Aside from that, he can be flat-out rude. You may have a great department or team manager that may be able to block you from his oversight in the short-term, but eventually he will direct his focus toward your department and change the way you've done everything, without any reasoning other than because that's how he wants it done. And because he's the CEO, that's it. Executives would rather just go along to get along instead of fighting for their teams, so morale can get pretty low. But if you are just going for a job, not looking for any real growth, and want to have some fun at work, it's not a bad place to be.

    Continue reading
    HCSS2019-11-12

    HCSS Response

    December 3, 2019HR Manager - Marcus

    HCSS has doubled in size in the last 5 years and we are currently building a new 58,000 sf building to double in size again in the next 3 to 5 years, so the CEO and supporting staff must be doing something right. At HCSS we feel it is important to make every effort to explain why decisions are being made. Since last year Mike has answered over 400 anonymous questions from staff about why he makes the decisions he has, and why he has left other decisions open or up to someone else. We will continue to look for additional ways to explain the reasoning and expected value of all decisions made at HCSS. Respectfully, I would encourage you and anyone else to consider how they go about disagreeing with any Chief Executive Officer at any company. That said, periodic disagreements with people at HCSS is an occasional occurrence in any department as we work together to find solutions that achieve our Mission Statement. As for benefits being unfair, HCSS does extensive profit sharing. Because of the way profit sharing works here, all benefits to one group of employees come at the expense of other employees because it reduces their profit sharing. Generally, we avoid benefits that favor one group of employees over another. It is true that our 35 dog kennels are sometimes all full. As a result of your post, our Facilities Manager will build some additional kennels. I wish you the best of luck finding a company where you will be happy.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCSS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - 401k/insurance is about average, but other benefits are fantastic! Primarily profit sharing and the annual raises. - Supervisors and managers care about employees on a personal level; even executives know almost everyone by name.

    Cons

    - Company is growing quickly and space/parking is becoming an issue. A third building is in the works, but could have been better planned. - High level turnover at the director level is troubling.

    HCSS2019-10-07

    HCSS Response

    October 25, 2019Talent Acquisition Advisor - Lead (Allan)

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback on our benefits and the care our leadership team has for all our employees. We're looking forward to the new building to accommodate the rapid growth.

    Continue reading
  6. "Amazing company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Entry Level Software Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCSS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Welcoming culture, chances for growth

    Cons

    I can’t think of any current downsides

    HCSS2019-09-18

    HCSS Response

    October 2, 2019Talent Acquisition Advisor - Lead (Allan)

    Thank you for your positive feedback! We're glad to have you on the team.

    Continue reading
  7. "Fantastic place. Fantastic people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HCSS

    Pros

    The culture here is amazing and the people are so nice.

    Cons

    Honestly nothing bad to say here.

    Continue reading
    HCSS2019-09-13

    HCSS Response

    September 16, 2019HR Manager

    Thanks for the time you spent working at HCSS and for your positive comment.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Hands Down Best Place I've Ever Worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Analyst in Sugar Land, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCSS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Leadership that truly understands work/life balance. -Challenging work that keeps it from being monotonous. -Coworkers that are like best friends - everyone shares interests, hobbies and has a positive attitude. -Fat profit sharing checks every year based on a percentage of salary - fair for everyone, and rewards tenure over position.

    Cons

    None. If there are complaints, it's from people who have never worked anywhere else to know how good it is here.

    Continue reading
    HCSS2019-09-09

    HCSS Response

    September 16, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for your help in support. We are excited about your positive reviews and appreciate your advice to management. We are working to hire the best available talent to grow our team.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support in Sugar Land, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCSS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    a company for its employees with great value in their software for a happy customer.

    Cons

    technical support analyst have to work a weekend on call, rotates through the department

    HCSS2019-09-09

    HCSS Response

    September 16, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for continuing to be a part of the HCSS team and for taking your turn to provide 24/7 customer support to our customers. Customers (and your colleagues) appreciate our support team's commitment to answer the phone in 3 rings or less.

    Continue reading
  10. "The best career move you can make"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCSS full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Plenty of opportunities as we are growing at a very fast pace - A challenging environment that creates an exciting workplace - Great pay and generous raises - Profit-sharing, gym, free insurance for you and your kids, generous PTO, work from home options - Great people - some of the smartest, kindest, and best people around. It's a true pleasure to come in to work every day - Continuous learning fund and wellness funds - $1000 to learn whatever you want, without any approval, as long as it makes you better. And the wellness fund can be used for team sports and wellness activities.

    Cons

    - We see everything as an opportunity, which unfortunately translates into ADD and lack of clear direction

    HCSS2019-09-12

    HCSS Response

    September 16, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for your many years working at HCSS! Also, for a great list of some of the unique benefits and attributes of our company. As you mentioned, we are growing fast and making the changes necessary to stay true to our customer service oriented roots while innovating new products to provide our customers the solutions they need.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 94 reviews
</>Embed