KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

HarperCollins

Is this your company?

HarperCollins

Add a Review

HarperCollins Reviews

Updated Jul 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 260 of over 328 reviews

3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
HarperCollins President and CEO Brian Murray
Brian Murray
90 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free books, good healthcare, great discounts, a handful of intelligent, gifted people if you’re lucky to work with them(in 32 reviews)

  • "Great people, great relationships, tons of great initiatives, mostly open minds(in 14 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management does not put a lot of value on their lower level employees(in 15 reviews)

  • "Honestly, it’s crazy that big 5 publishers get away with paying their entry level employees less than 40k a year, when non-profits pay higher(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of HarperCollins and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great list of books to sell

      Jul 13, 2021 - National Sales Director in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      HarperCollins has an amazing breath of books to sell

      Cons

      I don’t have any downside

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great people, horrible pay/treatment

      Jul 8, 2021 - Assistant Editor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The team is full of the smartest, kindest people I've had the pleasure of working with. I learned so much working there, and wouldn't trade it for the world.

      Cons

      If you want to live off ramen and beans for the first 10 years of your career, apply for a job at HarperCollins. The pay is despicable: I was working 50 hour weeks (at least) and barely able to pay my bills. HarperCollins likes to think it is progressive and talk about how it raised the base pay to $45,000 for entry-level employees, but for all of us working at the entry level in New York and San Francisco, that's not far from the poverty line. I started at $39,000 my first year. Also, I'm a woman, and I learned my male coworker (who I trained and who hadn't been there as long as me) was earning more than me for a WHOLE year. The response? They barely cared. A coworker once told me I should marry a rich guy so that I could work in publishing. What's worse is HarperCollins has no incentive to change because no matter how many people quit, thousands of people rush to fill the jobs. Publishing is romanticized so that people think the low wages are worth it. It's not. Financial security is so important, but HarperCollins just wants you to be so hyped about your "passion job" that you forget that. Also, advancement is glacial. Don't hope for a raise or a promotion for at least two years. Do yourself a favor and work somewhere willing to pay and recognize you for your time.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Low Pay, Favoritism, No advancement

      Jul 14, 2021 - Customer Service Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      37.5 hour weeks, summer hours, 3 weeks vacation and one week personal time,

      Cons

      Managers play favorites in this department, they treat the employees in this critical role like children.Many polices are not clear.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great

      Jun 30, 2021 - Production Associate in Princeton, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very solid Experience. I would recommend.

      Cons

      None at all. Love working there.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee

      A Corporate Chernobyl

      Mar 6, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free books. An abusive, hazing-type atmosphere leads to a lot of close friendships.

      Cons

      Where to start? The atmosphere is incredibly toxic; members of senior management frequently gossip about each other and their assistants. This is probably due to the fact that everyone is working constantly; I've never seen such a collection of dysfunctional people desperately trying to find meaning in life through work. This place is a lawsuit waiting to happen. Unpaid overtime is required for promotion, regardless of whether one is legally entitled to pay. I was told this explicitly during a performance review. After years of excellent reviews, it counted against me that I dared to admit I was struggling with my work load after it was drastically increased. HR is aware that this happens, by the way. They turn a blind eye because the company loves its cheap labor. The union is powerless. The worst part is that while I worked here I thought it was normal to be told I was not doing enough, even when working 50-60 hour weeks. Normal being told not to ask for a raise or promotion because that could hurt my relationship with my bosses. Normal to be accused of not being dedicated enough to my job. Please, save yourself the time and effort. You deserve better than this.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      good for starting your career

      Jun 13, 2021 - Software Engineer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      fair pay, nice co-workers that support you

      Cons

      little upward mobility. Many non-technical people who like to

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Enables Toxic Work Environments While Refusing to Respect Employees

      Feb 2, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Unionized, lots of talented employees with a passion for the industry, the ability to maintain work/life balance.

      Cons

      This was by far the most toxic work environment I have ever worked in. While it varies by department and imprint, HR and leadership demonstrate a great deal of hostility towards their own employees and it was commonplace for basic requests for accommodation to be met with resistance. Adequate tech was not consistently provided across departments during the pandemic, and there were constant attempts at union-busting by HR. As an employee at HarperCollins I worked on several popular titles that made a great deal of profit for the company - absolutely none of that work was recognized in my salary or the way I was treated as an employee. Several employees are in management positions despite showing no interest in providing training, leadership, or basic kindness towards their junior staff. Little to no action taken to making HarperCollins a more diverse and inclusive company, and was the LAST major publisher in the US to raise salary minimums despite having the funds to put a 2 billion dollar bid on Simon and Schuster.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      New Here - the people seem great

      May 26, 2021 - Lead Audio Engineer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly, understanding, team that seems to put care into their published works.

      Cons

      The company is a subsidiary of NewsCorp, the corporation that also owns Fox News (bleh)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Well run, great sales force, all about the $$$, not particularly friendly

      Dec 16, 2020 - Associate Editor in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great CEO, very focused on profit but in a way that is inspiring. Amazing sales force. Positivity high. Very nice offices in a part of NYC much more fun than previous Midtown location. Very laid back--almost never see anyone in a suit, and the hours are very flexible compared to some other companies like Hachette or parts of PRH.

      Cons

      Bad HR--nice but do nothing to actually cultivate talent. Great CEO but he does not seem to read books, except maybe a few business books every so often which is kind of weird. Very unwelcoming to outsiders/newcomers. Bad about diversity--will hire at the entry level to make the stats look good but not promote. Will not give raises—company attitude is that you are lucky to work there, take it or leave it. Getting more and more obsessed with immediate profit, fewer excellent, long lasting books.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Loved working here

      Apr 5, 2021 - Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Terrific cross-divisional team work for special projects and operational improvements. Everyone is nice and helpful! Great management (personally, had a great boss that was hands off and not a micro-manager). Great support from upper management.

      Cons

      Not many growth opportunities. I had to advocate for my own promotions and be proactive about creating learning/growth opportunities for myself without direction.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 260 Reviews

    Popular Careers with HarperCollins Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at HarperCollins? Share Your Experiences

    or