Hawk Ridge Systems Reviews | Glassdoor

Hawk Ridge Systems Reviews

Updated October 25, 2017
40 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Dale Ford
28 Ratings

40 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Freedom to excel and progress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hawk Ridge Systems full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Flexibility, empowerment, encouragement, knowledgeable leadership and co-workers, friendly atmosphere.

    An employee can find a place to fit if they are not happy. They can make their own path, as long as it aligns well, which is very rewarding.

    Cons

    Disconnected. Because of the flexibility, and the sheer amount of work that needs to be done, there seem to be pockets of people either working on the same thing and/or struggling through issues on their own.

    Hawk Ridge Systems Response

    May 10, 2017 – HR Manager

    I love it when people understand that they also have a role to play in their career development. The people who get new opportunities here are the ones who are open to them and don't restrict their... More


  2. "Great products, not much "career" opportunity."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hawk Ridge Systems full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great sales team, local management, and products.

    Cons

    Not much opportunity for growth. Highly metrics driven.

    Advice to Management

    Making it harder to obtain a "bonus" at the end of each month is never a good idea. Sales people (and their families) depend on those.

  3. "Hawk Ridge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Orinda, CA
    Former Employee - Sales in Orinda, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hawk Ridge Systems full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I got great sales training and an opportunity to learn software sales. I had good managers who challenged me to work harder and pushed me more and introduced me to how to be a better salesperson

    Cons

    The market competition is very intense and I was hired to develop new buisiness and I competed with my coworkers. hard to find accounts not already being handled but when i did the product almost sold itself and even though we competed the other salesmen were always helping out new guys like me.

    Advice to Management

    Let reps sell all products and make them more money


  4. Helpful (3)

    "This is the worst company I ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Get lunches bought for you sometimes, the product is good (they are a reseller of SolidWorks). They are one of three choices if a company wants SolidWorks so leads come in if a company requests a quote. They have a weak Halloween costume event for last 15 minutes of day once a year

    Cons

    Where to begin. The communication between departments is horrible. Old, dusty offices where they compiled random mismatching furniture where customers walk in and are the opposite of impressed. The owners are cheap and employees barely scratch by for the most part. Very negative culture and no deal is ever good enough. WEAK commissions for the industry. High turnover of sales reps and operations. The people are mostly rude and will often just slide things under the rug and pretend the don't exist as the customer continues to call in with a problem. Gets really embarrassing after talking with the customer with the lack of follow through. My life was awful when I worked here. Again worst job I ever had

    Advice to Management

    I wouldn't want to help this company by giving them my advice. The sentiment would never be reciprocated by Hawk Ridge if the situation was reversed. Flat out don't care about their employees...keep churning and burning through them

    Hawk Ridge Systems Response

    May 10, 2017 – HR Manager

    I am so sorry that was your experience. The ad.hawk team is working on process improvements and communications is a priority for all of us. Successful sales people average over six figures so we... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Absolute Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales
    Current Employee - Sales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hawk Ridge Systems full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great opportunity to get paid for the work you put in. Aside from that, there is no other company that Iv'e worked for that has a flexible schedule and understanding company. You work hard, they reward you for it. Simple! Love the culture!

    Cons

    There's no perfect company. Communication is key. Seems like each department is having a hard time communicating with each other.

    Advice to Management

    Keep growing, but be honest with your employees. We are all adults and can take the good and bad news. To grow even more, everyone needs to be transparent.

    Hawk Ridge Systems Response

    May 10, 2017 – HR Manager

    Nicely said - thank you!


  6. "Miss this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Former Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hawk Ridge Systems full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent Work Culture. One Big family. Management genuinely cares about you.

    Cons

    Raises were minimal. I still miss this place.

    Hawk Ridge Systems Response

    May 10, 2017 – HR Manager

    Thanks for sharing!


  7. "Nice introduction to Design Sotfware Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Oakland, CA
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hawk Ridge Systems (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Company allows a sales person to come in prove themselves and work their way up though the ranks. Salary is average but the commission opportunities easily balance out.

    Cons

    Territories are regional and when working ones way up the ranks it could be tough waiting for one to open up.

    Advice to Management

    Promote internally.

    Hawk Ridge Systems Response

    May 10, 2017 – HR Manager

    Many employees don't know this but I have been here for seven years and have seen that the only time we hire from the outside is when we need a specific skill set: someone who has managed education... More

  8. "A great way to grow in your mastery of Solidworks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solidworks CAD Tech Support Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Current Employee - Solidworks CAD Tech Support Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hawk Ridge Systems full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The team is great, everyone's supportive and friendly and everyone's working together to solve problems and help one another. If you're looking for a place to hone your skills as a drafter, CADer or just looking to improve yourself with Solidworks CAD, this job will help you IMMENSELY.

    Cons

    Wasn't incredibly impressed with the amount of benefits given to employees and the salary when compared to the housing costs of the Mountain View/Sunnyvale area is just barely enough to keep you afloat. Also, working in technical support, especially with a software as complicated as Solidworks can lead to some extremely frustrated customers calling in and taking out their anger on you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on having an open lane of communication with the tech support team and continue to listen to inputs from both management and the engineers on the phone to make the most informed decision possible.


  9. Helpful (4)

    "Don't do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orinda, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orinda, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hawk Ridge Systems full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Working for any other company becomes an easy thing to do. Giving 2 weeks notice and leaving was a very relieving experience (never felt that good about leaving any company)

    Cons

    Like someone else said, this place reminds you of "Office Space". Horrible benefits, bad pay, idiotic policies, micromanagement, favoritism, no room for advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Stop posting fake reviews.

    Hawk Ridge Systems Response

    May 10, 2017 – HR Manager

    Different people can have very different experiences in the same company, and even in the same office of that company. Our employee survey results definitely tell a different story. I hope you found... More


  10. "Keeps getting better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hawk Ridge Systems full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good people to work with, Free lunch each month, room for growth if you work hard, dont have to work weekends
    When I started a few years ago mgt was questionable at best, figured I would put in a year then be out and find a new job, after six months the manager was let go new manager is great lets you do things your way as long as you are working hard and will give you good advice.
    CEO is looking towards the future and where the company will be in 3&5 years, understands the world is changing and you have to change with
    So far I am really enjoying the job and hope it keeps getting better

    Cons

    no matching 401K; coffee sucks; occasionally have to work through lunch; can only take time off on slow months

    WAY to many non work email chains

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing the quarterly meeting to let us know what is going on, match the 401K, hire more support staff

    Hawk Ridge Systems Response

    May 10, 2017 – HR Manager

    401k match now in place! Employees are fully vested in four years! :-D
    Thanks for the comment about the email chains. Definitely something to look into.


Showing 40 of 40 reviews
Reset Filters