Hedstrom Reviews | Glassdoor

Hedstrom Reviews

Updated 2 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Hedstrom CEO James D. Braeunig (no image)
James D. Braeunig
3 Ratings
  1. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in Ashland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hedstrom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff, great management, Reliable career

    Cons

    Gets hot in summer

    Hedstrom2019-06-03
  2. "Sales Manager/ Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Manager/Project Manager in Delaware, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hedstrom for more than a year

    Pros

    Good employees. Good products and licences.

    Cons

    Complete lack of organizational structure.

    Hedstrom2016-11-28
  3. "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Leader in Ashland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hedstrom full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    This place is great if you need a job fast, if your just leaving prison, or trying to get your life back together. There is plenty of work, and overtime available.

    Cons

    Poorly managed! This place is a mess of rework, non-conforming products, and quality issues. Management puts production before employees, and focus ' on the wrong safety issues. Management is all too quick to pass blame down to the machine operators and finishers. Also many drug related issues inside the factory's.

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time and energy focused on employees instead of customers. If you take care of the employees, they will take care of your customers. Stop making safety rules that are not necessary, this drives good employees away. Stop being mean to employees that do things wrong, they are learning, embrace that! Work with them instead of dealing with turnover. Work on leaning out the machines, put in technology instead... of another person. Get rid of the drugs!!!

    Show More
    Hedstrom2016-01-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Poorly managed and just want constantly run machines"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Tech in Ashland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hedstrom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great if need a job fast

    Cons

    Low pay and don't train good

    Advice to Management

    Take more time to train new employees. Have a better interview process

    Hedstrom2015-06-17
  5. "Hedstrom simply sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Foaming Finisher in Ashland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Hedstrom

    Pros

    At 84 hrs mandatory work week I took home over $600 AFTER child support

    Cons

    No life and no respect if you don't make the numbers their formula says should be made per hour. Expect to be written up for every shift for "poor performance", that your numbers don't meet written standard.

    Advice to Management

    Go back to the YETI process of doing things. It worked great, the product was made right and out the door in an hour. Quality and end cash value sometimes necessitate investing up front, not simply the cheapest way of doing things.

    Hedstrom2015-05-14
  6. "Great place to learn and grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Marketing in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hedstrom

    Pros

    Bosses are great to work with and learn from. They do an excellent job of delegating work, and providing you with autonomy to get the tasks done. I felt like an important cog of the process every day I stepped into the office.

    Cons

    It was a challenge at some points due to transparency. There were instances when some people of the team were not on the same page; things were moving extremely fast to keep up with growth.

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent in terms of goal setting for each employee.

    Hedstrom2015-01-01
  7. "I would say It's overall enjoyable."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Ashland, OH

    I have been working at Hedstrom

    Pros

    I would say because of the reliability of the job and the skills learned are definite benefits to working at Hedstrom.

    Cons

    The political things in the background for one thing. ie: one person approving something that another person steps in and disapproves.

    Hedstrom2012-05-01
Found 7 reviews