KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Highmark Companies

Is this your company?

Highmark Companies

Add a Review

Highmark Companies Reviews

Updated Oct 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 of over 40 reviews

4.8
96%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Highmark Companies Chief Executive Officer & Managing Member Darrell Smith (no image)
Darrell Smith
25 Ratings

The latest conversations about Accounting

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Management is great and the culture is caring.(in 7 reviews)
  • "Highmark offers great pay, benefits and work(in 3 reviews)
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Place to Woryk

    Oct 6, 2021 - Professional Learning Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibility, Leadership has great integrity!

    Cons

    I can think of no cons.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Supportive and Pleasant

    May 13, 2020 - Curriculum Specialist in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It has been a treat to be on the Highmark team. From the moment I joined Highmark three years ago, the leadership team has been communicative, supportive, and transparent. I have been given the training I needed and the flexibility that I wanted. I enjoy the work—it has been as it was promised in the initial meetings when I wondered if it was too good to be true; actually, it has been even better than expected. Most importantly, I appreciate that the leadership team is reasonable and pleasant and puts our well-being first.

    Cons

    There are really no cons to this job. I guess if you are not looking for something that is flexible and part-time, then this is not the job for you.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Exceptional compensation and benefits, meaningful work, competent management that cares. Two thumbs way up!

    May 4, 2020 - Project Manager in Burlington, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I am employed by Highmark as a Project Manager in corporate IT for a Fortune 500 medical laboratory company with global reach. After only four months of employment in my first position, I was selected for promotion to a more advanced team within the organization. I can honestly say that my job with Highmark is the best job I've ever had. I feel so much less stressed than my previous job, I have more time with my family, and make way more money to boot. As a valuable intangible benefit, I know that the work I do matters, as I am directly involved in work that impacts the lives of people all over the country. Room for advancement is tremendous, and the relationship between Highmark and my host organization is so intertwined, I never feel that my job is at risk. I am writing this review in the throes of the COVID-19 pandemic. Highmark companies has facilitated a process with my host organization by which I have been allowed to work 100% remote from early March 2020 until the time of this review. I haven't missed a day of work, and was even provided a small stipend in addition to my ample compensation in order to purchase any home office supplies I may need to make remote work easier. On top of that, I have complete trust in the CEO of HIghmark (and his team) to do everything in his power to ensure my job stays secure in this unprecedented time. Were I working at my last job, I likely would have been laid off by now. Management at Highmark is outstanding. From my direct supervisor, to the Manager over the site where I work, all the way up to the CEO - my honest opinion of each of them is that they are good people who genuinely care about me and my family. How many can say the same? I always have what I need to do my job well, and they are supportive and understanding whenever any issues arise. I would recommend Highmark Companies to any professional seeking to make a transition. I have never been so happy with my work in my professional life.

    Cons

    I have not encountered anything negative to say about Highmark. From the first communication I received from the recruiter to now, I have been thoroughly impressed with Highmark Companies.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company

    Apr 19, 2020 - IT Project Manager in Burlington, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working for Highmark companies has been a amazing experience from the interview process to being employed by them. Their compensation is exactly what I asked for, not to mention their health insurance is amazing and very affordable! Dealing with management if it’s regional or executive management has always been a great process from their open door culture. I have never felt more like family and taken care of when working for a company. They truly have your best interest at heart.

    Cons

    I have no complaints for this company!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Outstanding Employer

    May 1, 2020 - Education Specialist in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The leadership is extremely responsive and supportive. Employees are approached as team members and the company shows that it values input by seeking and acting on feedback. The Leadership values learning and likes to ensure that its employees are equipped with the best strategies to support client needs.

    Cons

    I am not aware of any cons.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Treats Employees Like Professionals

    Jun 9, 2020 - Vendor Relations in Burlington, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Employees are considered assets at HighMark. They have employees at the forefront of all initiatives. Very responsive to employees' needs.

    Cons

    I have not experienced any cons working with HighMark.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Excellent regard for employees

    May 17, 2020 - Senior Project Manager in Burlington, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Supportive of employees Support work life balance Good pay

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Not Your Average Consulting Company

    Jan 12, 2018 - Director in Cary, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Even though no consultants work onsite, Highmark puts a lot of effort into making sure the consultants are supported by all levels of management from the Recruiter that hired them , Directors, VP's and even the President. There is also a strong benefits program for salaried employees. This is not a "job shop" where people are brought on for very short term positions and then cut loose. Longevity and career-pathing is important and some people have been a consultant for over 10 years. Highmark does their best to keep their employees indefinitely and offer stability yet growth. You can work for one company for years yet advance your skills/career.

    Cons

    Because of people not being onsite, it is difficult to do a day to day check with them but there are Director's and VP's in consistent contact as well as 30 day, 90 day and year anniversary calls to make sure job satisfaction is high and if they need anything or have any concerns.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great work experience

    Aug 24, 2012 - Senior Consultant in Cary, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great, open communication with my supervisor. Full vesting in the 401k after 3 months of employment. I work remotely, so I'm not required to go into the office ever.

    Cons

    Highmark Companies is a contracting / outsourcing company. It's different working for one company and working on a full time assignment with a different company. Keeping track of who to talk to about human resources issues is annoying because for some things I go to one company and for other things I go to the other one.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Company

    Jan 12, 2018 - Senior Recruiter in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked for Highmark for 6 years now and cannot say enough good things about this company. Highmark truly values its employees, and that is evident in its corporate culture and core values. Its management team and office staff are top notch, and are always very friendly and supportive. Highmark offers great pay, benefits and work-life balance. It encourages your career growth and does everything it can to set you up for success.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons...

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 31 Reviews

Highmark Companies Reviews FAQs

Highmark Companies has an overall rating of 4.8 out of 5, based on over 40 reviews left anonymously by employees. 96% of employees would recommend working at Highmark Companies to a friend and 93% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Highmark Companies employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Highmark Companies. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

96% of Highmark Companies employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Highmark Companies 4.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.8 for culture and values and 4.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Highmark Companies to be management, senior leadership, benefits and the cons to be career development, compensation.

Popular Careers with Highmark Companies Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Highmark Companies? Share Your Experiences

or