Highmark Companies Reviews

Updated May 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.9
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Highmark Companies Chief Executive Officer & Managing Member Darrell Smith (no image)
Darrell Smith
24 Ratings
  1. "Excellent regard for employees"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Burlington, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Highmark Companies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Supportive of employees Support work life balance Good pay

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of

    Highmark Companies2020-05-17
  2. "Supportive and Pleasant"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Curriculum Specialist in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Highmark Companies part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It has been a treat to be on the Highmark team. From the moment I joined Highmark three years ago, the leadership team has been communicative, supportive, and transparent. I have been given the training I needed and the flexibility that I wanted. I enjoy the work—it has been as it was promised in the initial meetings when I wondered if it was too good to be true; actually, it has been even better than expected. Most importantly, I appreciate that the leadership team is reasonable and pleasant and puts our well-being first.

    Cons

    There are really no cons to this job. I guess if you are not looking for something that is flexible and part-time, then this is not the job for you.

    Continue reading
    Highmark Companies2020-05-13
  3. "Exceptional compensation and benefits, meaningful work, competent management that cares. Two thumbs way up!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Burlington, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Highmark Companies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am employed by Highmark as a Project Manager in corporate IT for a Fortune 500 medical laboratory company with global reach. After only four months of employment in my first position, I was selected for promotion to a more advanced team within the organization. I can honestly say that my job with Highmark is the best job I've ever had. I feel so much less stressed than my previous job, I have more time with my family, and make way more money to boot. As a valuable intangible benefit, I know that the work I do matters, as I am directly involved in work that impacts the lives of people all over the country. Room for advancement is tremendous, and the relationship between Highmark and my host organization is so intertwined, I never feel that my job is at risk. I am writing this review in the throes of the COVID-19 pandemic. Highmark companies has facilitated a process with my host organization by which I have been allowed to work 100% remote from early March 2020 until the time of this review. I haven't missed a day of work, and was even provided a small stipend in addition to my ample compensation in order to purchase any home office supplies I may need to make remote work easier. On top of that, I have complete trust in the CEO of HIghmark (and his team) to do everything in his power to ensure my job stays secure in this unprecedented time. Were I working at my last job, I likely would have been laid off by now. Management at Highmark is outstanding. From my direct supervisor, to the Manager over the site where I work, all the way up to the CEO - my honest opinion of each of them is that they are good people who genuinely care about me and my family. How many can say the same? I always have what I need to do my job well, and they are supportive and understanding whenever any issues arise. I would recommend Highmark Companies to any professional seeking to make a transition. I have never been so happy with my work in my professional life.

    Cons

    I have not encountered anything negative to say about Highmark. From the first communication I received from the recruiter to now, I have been thoroughly impressed with Highmark Companies.

    Continue reading
    Highmark Companies2020-05-04
  4. "Outstanding Employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Education Specialist in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Highmark Companies part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The leadership is extremely responsive and supportive. Employees are approached as team members and the company shows that it values input by seeking and acting on feedback. The Leadership values learning and likes to ensure that its employees are equipped with the best strategies to support client needs.

    Cons

    I am not aware of any cons.

    Continue reading
    Highmark Companies2020-05-01
  5. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Burlington, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Highmark Companies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working for Highmark companies has been a amazing experience from the interview process to being employed by them. Their compensation is exactly what I asked for, not to mention their health insurance is amazing and very affordable! Dealing with management if it’s regional or executive management has always been a great process from their open door culture. I have never felt more like family and taken care of when working for a company. They truly have your best interest at heart.

    Cons

    I have no complaints for this company!

    Continue reading
    Highmark Companies2020-04-19
  6. "Great Benefits - Solid Work Environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Burlington, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Highmark Companies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Solid work environment. Upper management is polite and consistently interested in connecting with their employees. I've always felt appreciated for the work I do. Benefits are very good with insurance and vacation time.

    Cons

    Being a contractor instead of a FTE. However the work has been consistent in my job that I've never had to worry about the contract not being continued

    Continue reading
    Highmark Companies2018-07-25
  7. "Curriculum Specialist"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Highmark Companies part-time

    Pros

    Everyone at Highmark truly cares about you and your success and they want to make sure that you have what you need to succeed. Upper management is very responsive and will always get you the answer you need even if it is outside their relm.

    Cons

    Keep in contact with employees about growth opportunities.

    Continue reading
    Highmark Companies2018-03-16
  8. "Excellent Company To Work For"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Education Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Highmark Companies part-time

    Pros

    Always willing to assist employees Excellent communication Constantly checking in on ES to see how we are doing in the field

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Continue reading
    Highmark Companies2018-03-13
  9. "Kind, thoughtful, and personable company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Education Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Highmark Companies part-time

    Pros

    Thoughtful staff that cares about employees; keeps employees best interests at heart; communicates consistently and openly; easily accessible to answer questions; supportive of goals-- both professional and personal

    Cons

    I do not have any cons to share.

    Highmark Companies2018-03-13
  10. "Highmark ROCKS!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Highmark Companies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been given many opportunities to work on short and long-term projects. My manager and those with whom I work have continually cultivating my leadership abilities. My assignments are both challenging, rewarding and significant...just how I like it! I am appreciative that Highmark Companies has placed confidence in me to represent them.

    Cons

    I have no cons to share.

    Continue reading
    Highmark Companies2018-03-08
Viewing 1 - 10 of 29 Reviews