KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Homebound

Engaged Employer

Homebound

Add a Review

Homebound Reviews

Updated May 6, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 of over 17 reviews

4.0
73%
Recommend to a Friend
Homebound CEO  Nikki Pechet  (no image)
Nikki Pechet
0 Rating

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Incredible people that are super talented, passionate, and dedicated to what they do(in 3 reviews)
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Startup Energy with Corporate Benefits

    Feb 15, 2022 - Project Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Smart employees, good resources, active HR, remote work, and feedback welcomed.

    Cons

    Supersonic pace; pivots to be expected; decentralized

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Run don't walk... away!

    May 6, 2022 - Operations 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Millions in funding. Smart people. Good employee benefits.

    Cons

    Where do I start? There is a real lack of awareness at this company. Awareness in so many areas, the entire executive teams, are the most non-diverse, out of touch leadership team I've ever worked for. The construction industry is incredibly competitive and yes, it's an industry that could use some updated technology, however Homebound needs to be more transparent about what they are trying to build. They hide behind this fake mission of solving the housing problem for people who want to find homes. Well in all reality, they are building million dollar homes for people who are doing o.k. And ask them about how they decided when and where to go into a disaster market which is the original mission. That's all for publicity at this point, they are doing nothing but finding the "disasters" that will make them the most revenue. This is not a mission driven company! Gentrification was brought up at an all hands meeting, ask them about it... our CEO had to hire PR firm to help her address the topic with employees. Why? Because she is so incredibly out of touch with the communities she is claiming to help, she doesn't know how Homebound is actually contributing to this problem, especially in East Austin. Advice: If you are an established construction professional and doing well in your career, stay there! Do not let Homebound try to sell you on working for them. You will likely be asked to take a pretty large pay cut, forgo your bonus, and they will sell you on equity, that you actually will have to pay for when you leave, you WILL leave. Attrition is bad right now, people are leaving in all departments in droves.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Homebound Response

    First, I am so sorry to hear that you haven’t had a great experience at Homebound. We are building a tech-enabled homebuilder to change the industry, but just as importantly, we’re building a great place to work, and I’m sorry it hasn't been that for you. Second, I want to reiterate that our mission of making it possible for anyone, anywhere to build a home is a long term vision that will take us years - decades, even - to achieve. Along the way, we believe that one of the causes of housing affordability is undersupply, and so we are focused on adding net new supply of homes in the markets where we operate as quickly as possible. As we build both scale and technology over time, we’ll be able to drive improved efficiency and customer experience that enable an even greater impact on the industry and communities around us, and that’s why we’re so excited about what we are building. In terms of employee attrition, we haven’t seen an increase in attrition this year, but the People Team and leadership are working hand in hand to address areas of improvement from our employee survey. We are committed to building an incredible place to work, and deeply value employee feedback that helps us make that happen. We would really value the opportunity to connect live about your feedback. Please reach out to whoever you are most comfortable with - me, Nikki, or anyone on the People Team or ELT - and we will make time. - Caitlin, Chief People Officer

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great work life balance

    Jan 7, 2022 - Sales Development Representative in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    remote but the team is still supportive

    Cons

    be prepared to pivot without preparation

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Doing big things

    Oct 4, 2021 - Operations 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Strong mission - Smart team - Loved my coworkers - Bullish on the biz

    Cons

    - Busy & challenging - expect to work hard!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Good company in general

    Nov 9, 2021 - Visual Designer in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture. Fully remote and very flexible on working hours.

    Cons

    Need better project management. Colleagues are not professionally communicating during work.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Fast paced, great coworkers, mission driven

    May 25, 2021 - Designer in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fully remote, never a boring day, good projects

    Cons

    Crazy hours due to spread out coworkers, fast paced, chaotic, no 401k match, lack of clarity of career patterns

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Mission. Impressive Team. Fun Place to Work.

    Oct 7, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * Important mission focused on getting communities rebuilt after a natural disaster (and increasingly building homes for people outside of disaster areas which is also really exciting) * Massive market, tons of opportunity to build a huge company while making a positive impact on the world * One of the best teams I've ever seen - really talented engineers, PMs, designers, and really smart construction experts. Also, in addition to being really talented, team is also made up of really good people with strong values. * Tangible output (getting people back into new houses) that makes work feel meaningful and is easy for the entire team to rally around

    Cons

    Construction is hard! Things go wrong and you have to be able to roll with it. Also getting construction teams and tech team to speak the same language can be challenging, but that's part of what we get to solve and is motivating in the long run (even if some days can be frustrating)

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company & mission

    Sep 16, 2020 - Operations in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Incredible people that are super talented, passionate, and dedicated to what they do -Mixing of lots of people from two very different worlds (tech and construction). Tech team and Construction team are both A+ players and work really well together. -Mission. It's incredibly inspiring to help disaster victims recover and rebuild -- makes me excited to show up each day and do everything I can to help. And it's so cool to see finished homes come together and keys handed off!

    Cons

    It can be daunting to see how many how many homes keep getting destroyed. There are so many wildfires and hurricanes these days, and getting reminded of that can be scary.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Kind of a joke

    Jun 24, 2021 - Product 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun product, great lower-level employees

    Cons

    Headstrong leadership with an excess of hubris

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Fast growing, mission-driven startup!

    Sep 25, 2020 - Executive Assistant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Love the mission! We are helping disaster victims rebuild their homes faster, with a strong focus on customer experience. - Super confident in the leadership team. - They've hired a great group of people. Everyone is smart, driven and super friendly. - Our CEO puts a lot of energy into building an amazing culture; it really feels like a family.

    Cons

    Just like at other startups, things move fast at Homebound. This is not a bad thing, but be prepared to pivot quickly and get scrappy!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

Popular Careers with Homebound Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Homebound? Share Your Experiences

Homebound logo
or