KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

IMAX

Engaged Employer

IMAX

Add a Review

IMAX Reviews

Updated May 6, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 121 of over 175 reviews

3.8
62%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
IMAX Co-Chairman and Co-CEO Richard L. Gelfond
Richard L. Gelfond
51 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Poor management that does not focus on employees.(in 7 reviews)
  • "Upper management is rude and belittling to employees.(in 5 reviews)
  • "Worked there for a year and a half and when a position comes up within the department, the manager brought back someone that I replaced.(in 4 reviews)
  • "Salaries are low compared to industry and politics run rampant(in 4 reviews)
  • "Why are we giving individuals the impression that we are still recruiting for those roles when we are not?? Good leadership would have immediately included a disclaimer on the careers page notifying potential applicants that recruiting efforts are on hold.(in 4 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Love my job

    Jan 25, 2022 - Supervisor in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Effective management and easy work

    Cons

    I can’t think of any cons to write

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Could be a great company again someday if they can get out of their own way.

    May 5, 2022 - Manager in Syracuse, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Caring people, well known brand.

    Cons

    Structure, too eager to dilute brand even further, high fees kill smaller theaters, which is why so many "institutional" theaters have moved to other PLF brands or left educational programming behind altogether. Went from a bright spot in the cinema world to trying to straddle billion dollar gross Disney films and educational films that put them on the map and are quickly leaving them behind.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Fun summer job

    Apr 7, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Opportunity to earn raise every 4 months

    Cons

    Long shifts for little pay

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Out of bus

    Feb 2, 2022 - National Sales Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent pay and good experience

    Cons

    Company went out of Business

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great Benefits! Better perks :)

    Nov 29, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friends and Family screenings for employees in their office IMAX Theatre

    Cons

    Personally I did not see any cons to working at Imax!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    IMAX Post Production Review

    Nov 3, 2021 - KDM and Technical Support Manager in Playa Vista, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People are generally friendly and knowledgable. Health and other benefits are pretty great. Content you work on is top notch tentpole films.

    Cons

    Some people are compensated much better than others, even for similar roles.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee

    ?

    Nov 12, 2021 - Manager in Columbia, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    easy work and easy enviornment

    Cons

    dealing with mad customers all the time

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good company overall

    Oct 10, 2021 - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people all over. Fairly transparent.

    Cons

    Questionable decision-making by top brass. New initiatives are often poorly planned and so inevitably poorly executed.

    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Terrible

    Nov 17, 2021 - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I don't recall any worth mentioning

    Cons

    Abusive, disorganized, siloed, antagonistic, frustrating

    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    I love working here

    Sep 20, 2021 - Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love working here. It was a great culture and I learned so much I was able to participate in anything I was interested in.

    Cons

    Very little time off aloud and long hours for what you get paid.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 121 Reviews
</>Embed

IMAX Reviews FAQs

IMAX has an overall rating of 3.8 out of 5, based on over 175 reviews left anonymously by employees. 62% of employees would recommend working at IMAX to a friend and 65% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 7% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, IMAX employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.7 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at IMAX. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

62% of IMAX employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated IMAX 3.9 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.7 for culture and values and 3.7 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at IMAX to be compensation, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be management, senior leadership, career development.

Popular Careers with IMAX Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at IMAX? Share Your Experiences

IMAX logo
or

IMAX Photos

+ Add Photo
IMAX photo of: 3D Digital

Have you worked here?

See All Photos