IMI Reviews | Glassdoor

IMI Reviews

Updated May 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 71 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
IMI CEO Mark Selway
Mark Selway
23 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Downside are the lack of consistency with the upper management(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Equipment engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Equipment Engineer in Laguna Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IMI full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    integrity, quality, safety concern for others

    Cons

    no downside have to say

    Advice to Management

    i have nothing to advise

    IMI2017-04-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Just ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CNC Machinist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IMI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are decent for the market

    Cons

    Working conditions could be improved

    IMI2019-05-28
  3. "Great place to work if you have personal ambition and drive!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President Operations in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IMI full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunities to make significant improvements and grow your professional development. If you apply discretionary effort you will be rewarded. If you demonstrate a strong desire to learn and work well in a matrix and team environment then you will succeed. Business strategy is very clear applicable to current market conditions. Great leadership at the helm. Mark Selway set a standard for operational excellence...

    Show More

    Cons

    Too lean (not enough resources to carry out the full strategy); too conservative at times (unwilling to make big bets); and too much internal bureaucracy that impedes ability to be more nimble and responsive.

    Advice to Management

    Empower your people more, trust your middle managers, and remove the barriers that interfere with making progress. Take some chances else you will continue to chase the competition vs lead the pack!

    IMI2019-04-24
  4. "Production Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IMI full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture and team environment

    Cons

    Lots of potential but minimal support for growth at this time.

    IMI2018-10-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Gt-Norgren-IMI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IMI full-time

    Pros

    Their benefits are ok but not great.

    Cons

    GT was a great company to work for. Then it was bought out by Norgren. Not much changed in the first 7 years. Then it changed little by little. Took our bonuses away cut our PTO and changed it to week vacations and took 1-week vacation and turned it into sick time. Started hiring from outside and demoted or fired longtime employees.

    Advice to Management

    Go back to caring about your employees. They are the ones making you money.

    IMI2018-08-22
  6. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at IMI full-time

    Pros

    Good people, good place to work, fast pace

    Cons

    Lacks strong leadership and direction of the business, communication to lower is less than effective.

    Advice to Management

    Listen.

    IMI2018-02-04
  7. "Machinist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brunswick, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IMI full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Cycle time, easy jobs, co workers

    Cons

    Lack of communication, pay, benefits

    Advice to Management

    Pay your good employees before they leave...

    IMI2018-01-23
  8. "Sales & Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IMI full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment and co-workers.

    Cons

    An extremely heavy workload and disparate software tools.

    Advice to Management

    Staff is too lean. Hire / retain more workers to disseminate the workload.

    IMI2017-09-28
  9. "Great Aftermarket support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Service Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at IMI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Intimate relationships with customers led to very stable and increasing range of services around OEM equipment- SALESFORCE as an ERP!

    Cons

    during outage season long days required to get everything done.

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work!

    IMI2017-06-28
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Bent over backward to help."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IMI full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice Lunchroom & Free Coffee

    Cons

    Like playing with the guy who will just take his ball and go home. Dishonesty. Very underhanded.

    Advice to Management

    3 blind mice. Let someone with experience drive. Find you a different trade. I was lied to about the job the whole time there.

    IMI2017-03-12
Found 71 reviews