IndependenceFirst Reviews | Glassdoor

IndependenceFirst Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Lee A. Schulz
1 Ratings
  1. "Independent First is the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at IndependenceFirst part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Place to work for and the personnel works with you and helps with any needs that you have

    Cons

    I really do not have anything negative to say

    IndependenceFirst2015-06-15
  2. "Front Desk Receptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IndependenceFirst full-time

    Pros

    I was not being micromanaged by my immediate supervisor

    Cons

    many personalities to interact with daily.

    IndependenceFirst2018-10-11
  3. "Fund Development Volunteer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Fund Development Volunteer in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IndependenceFirst for less than a year

    Pros

    -Friendly and genuine staff in the Fund Development department -Nice, clean, and quiet work space -Free food and snacks -Plenty of parking

    Cons

    -Roles aren't well defined -Work was dull at times -Not a lot of interaction with coworkers -Didn't get to meet other volunteers or get to know them -Never got a key card within the 2 months I volunteered there -Office staff could have a little bit more enthusiasm and energy -Receptionists seemed unprofessional at times (gossiping, etc.)

    Advice to Management

    Throw more department or organization-wide events so staff can get to know each other. I think there was a lot of potential to build chemistry and team spirit with the office staff, but I think there could have been more opportunities to do so. Otherwise, keep doing what you're doing! I think the mission and values are great and I believe the organization will stick around for a long time!

    IndependenceFirst2018-06-12
  4. "just a few warnings ahead of time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IndependenceFirst full-time

    Pros

    There are some very caring nurse coordinators. And over all the hiring process is paid for when you do the training.

    Cons

    The company don't communicate good with their employees. They are quick to send a letter in the mail instead of taking a few moments on the phone or in person to talk to you. plus the orientation could a be shorter.

    Advice to Management

    make sure that you communicate with your employees before cause there is a lack of understand between the company and workers. You also could pay more for the personal care workers salaries cause they do a lot with their consumers then you think.

    IndependenceFirst2017-06-23
  5. "PR/Marketing Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I worked at IndependenceFirst

      Pros

      Great co-workers and work environment

      Cons

      No cons come to mind. I only wish I had been able to stay more than a semester.

      IndependenceFirst2017-04-28
    • "Learning Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at IndependenceFirst

      Pros

      Diverse working environment, learned a lot on the job

      Cons

      Management treated employees differently and favored some over others.

      IndependenceFirst2017-01-24
    • "Personal Care Worker"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at IndependenceFirst

      Pros

      It's a great organization who's employees are truly helping people succeed in life.

      Cons

      Unless you are a nurse, employment is only part time.

      IndependenceFirst2015-04-13
    • "Wonderful, could have been more welcoming to move current employees forward within the company."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Personal Care Worker in Milwaukee, WI
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at IndependenceFirst part-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Sometimes flexible schedule, no long hours, can spend time and handle personal business between clients.

      Cons

      Getting a increase in salary even after competing schooling, not open to welcome current employees in the door if you have not already been working in the office.

      Advice to Management

      Consider welcoming and promoting employees throughout the company, and do not hold on positions as if it was a leash. Welcome outside staff to work in the office through the monthly newsletters.

      IndependenceFirst2014-05-20
    Found 8 reviews