Insightpool Reviews | Glassdoor

Insightpool Reviews

Updated Feb 20, 2018

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Insightpool CEO Devon Wijesinghe (no image)
Devon Wijesinghe
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "The fact that influencer marketing is such a source of curiosity for so many companies keeps the phone lines busy, and sales agendas full(in 4 reviews)

  • "I've gained lots of experience with fan-to-brand engagement by acting as the social media manager on several accounts(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "If you are looking for a 9-5, this isn't the place(in 3 reviews)

  • "You are expected to work long hours(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Nothing but positives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Insightpool

    Pros

    The main reason I enjoyed my time at Insightpool was the people - everyone's incredibly motivated, kind, and passionate about the company. It is a great working environment that has very challenging work while maintaining a (mostly) stress-free and fun atmosphere. The hectic schedule and ever-changing responsibilities that come with a startup may be a turn off to some. However, it was a perfect fit for me as everything felt so much less mundane and way more exciting than a standard job.

    Cons

    Atlanta traffic is really bad, that's really the only negative I have

    Insightpool2017-08-03

    Insightpool Response

    August 7, 2017CEO

    Thank you for your thoughts here. Sounds like you are built for the start up game! Look to your future

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Business Development Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Insightpool full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The other coworkers were awesome

    Cons

    Management was poor. You will not feel appreciated. You are a number and that is it. Very poorly run organization.

    Insightpool2018-02-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Insightpool full-time

    Pros

    fine atmosphere but I think people only stayed because of the people

    Cons

    management isn't great, you are expected to stay late and if you don't you look like a slacker

    Insightpool2017-12-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "BDR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Insightpool full-time

    Pros

    Innovative, robust platform and had experience working with Fortune 500 companies.

    Cons

    Unpredictable working hours, no transparency, no balance between work/life

    Insightpool2017-04-28

    Insightpool Response

    April 29, 2017CEO

    Thanks for your feedback. Our BDR positions are especially hard working as they are a gateway to the rest of the company. Our flex hours and other aspects of our work environment make us an ideal fit for work/life blend..not just balance. We wish you many successes in the future. Thanks for making us part of your journey!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Insightpool full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Always learning, surrounded by motivated people, made me become a self-starter, cool office, flexible.

    Cons

    don't have anything bad to say about this company.

    Insightpool2016-12-14

    Insightpool Response

    December 14, 2016Human Resources

    Thanks for your feedback. We hope your next career path is awesome. Thanks for being a part of our journey.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Would Not Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Insightpool

    Pros

    Insightpool offers opportunities to work in different disciplines and explore what you're interested in. They also provide support for networking events and did help teach me how to use social networks for networking more so.

    Cons

    All that glitters is not gold. Despite having an excellent product, the company lacked structure and the ability to really provide people with opportunities for growth. It became a pretty toxic environment by the end of my time there. I would say steer clear of this place until they straighten out priorities.

    Continue reading
    Insightpool2016-12-01

    Insightpool Response

    December 5, 2016Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. We agree that all that glitters is not gold..but we don't promote it's all a bed of roses at start ups. They certainly are hard, but so very worth it. Sometimes structure in a startup is harder but thank you for your feedback there. We wish you the very best in your next adventure and glad we could be part of your career.

    Continue reading
  7. "Super Hard and Super Fun company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Insightpool full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The team sits in the open together and the CEO and President are a good team. The influencer marketing category is new and exciting and everyday there is something that is learned. Incredible culture but recently distancing itself from just the cool start up vibe which is fine by me as any company grows in size and maturity. Incredibly transparent culture

    Cons

    Influencer marketing is not always an assigned budget so if you're in sales you have to push harder than if you were just selling a commodity.

    Continue reading
    Insightpool2016-09-03
  8. Helpful (9)

    "A Stepping Stone, But Nothing More"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Insightpool for less than a year

    Pros

    The people. Hands down some of the best there are. Or at least that's how it used to be. Lots of ways to make coffee. Free snacks and beer.

    Cons

    The product. What you're selling is not unique, and it certainly is not superior to other offerings. It also doesn't perform the way it's sold. Leadership. Or lack thereof. It's more chaos, pivot, back to the drawing board. Pay. Entirely venture capital and angel investor funded, so salaries (and resources) are low. CEO invests in sports cars and multiple homes, not his company. High turnover of great, talented people. The "Be a Family" core value couldn't be further from the truth. Zero of the original founders are still involved beyond a weekly stroll through the empty office. CEO was not an original founder, but came later. Core values are not lived, but just look good on the wall. High executive turnover. Previous COO, CMO, and multiple VPs have left or been forced out. If the team closest to the CEO can't hack it, how will you? Revenue. Or again, lack thereof. The reliance on investment money is so high, the MRR is quite the opposite. If a round of funding doesn't come in or is less than expected, there WILL be layoffs. This is not "high growth" as they'll tell you, and certainly isn't sustainable.

    Continue reading
    Insightpool2016-09-21

    Insightpool Response

    September 22, 2016Human Resources

    Sorry your time at the company didn't work out. It's interesting that you mention turnover of talent and that many were entry level and have been successful in later career paths...that actually is a compliment to our training. We are very proud of the internal promotions that have happened at the company and many that started here as 'entry level'. As companies grow and change, different skill sets are required at different points in this evolution. We are proud of those that have spent some of their professional career with us, and extremely proud of those that continue to grow with us here. We wish you the best in your future endeavor.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Startups are all about the journey and it was an fun ride"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Insightpool full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of friends work in old school environments, but this is surely not one of them. Insightpool has one of the more exciting cultures in town. The extra hours you put in are worth it when you're able to see the personal impact you have on a weekly basis at a startup. The startup experience can full of ups & downs, but when you're in it with people you enjoy being around, it makes for a really fun experience. On top of that, Insightpool is a unique software in the social media world so it was always gratifying to get the product in front of marketers and watch them light up at the possibilities. I grew leaps & bounds during my time at Insightpool, and if you're one to value learning through experience, you'll be exposed to plenty. Glad to get the variety of exposure at Insightpool rather than a large organization where you would often be treated as just a number.

    Cons

    The salary pay could be better, but I guess that's part of startup life. When you factor in the stock upside and the work environment, I guess it evens out. There's always more to be done at a startup so once you get through one milestone, it's on to the next one. This is good and bad as it's easy to get lost in the day-to-day and forget the larger picture.

    Continue reading
    Insightpool2016-06-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Looking back - It was all worth it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Insightpool for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As a newly former Insightpool employee I can truly say my experience has set me up for success in all future endeavors. With that being said, every former Insightpool employee that I'm in touch with are also wildly successful at their next opportunity. This place will help you learn and gain experience at a very rapid pace. First and foremost, as every other review states, you will work with some of the best and brightest people -- and yes, this is from top to bottom. You get to learn from people that have been apart of massive exits and success stories, but also work with a team of hard workers who always have your back. Secondly, not only do you have excellent people internally, you are exposed to some amazing minds externally. The investors, advisors, brands and customers you're exposed to are second to none. There is no where else in Atlanta you get an opportunity to work with the most innovative brands in the world, but also can call on multi-billion dollar company executives for advice. You will be rewarded for good work. It's not always monetarily, but you will be recognized. Excellent work is appreciated and doesn't go unnoticed. Transparency - as most of these reviews state, the amount of transparency from Devon and the executive team far surpasses many other companies.You want to learn about the ups and downs of building a start up, there's no better place. Opportunity - work hard, be loyal and do more than you're asked and you will have tremendous opportunity to grow. Age and Experience are not determining factors for growth opportunity -- hard work and execution are. Lastly, the product is incredible. The immense amounts of innovation coming out of the product and engineering team are second to none.

    Cons

    No place is perfect and not ever employee is right for every employer (and vice versa). The cons here may not necessarily be negatives for everyone -- its about knowing what you like and dislike. If you are looking for a 9-5, this isn't the place. This isn't a large corporation where you can hide behind others... your results are highlighted and exposed daily. And, yes, it may take nights (and sometimes weekends) to complete items you're expected to have done. In today's day and age, that's fairly common. With that, there's still much flexibility in how and where you work. You're building a first to market, innovative technology, so you need to embrace change. Some people love and thrive in this environment, others don't. You will need to be innovative and creative here. If you hate fast pace and like uniformity, this isn't the place for you. Just be self aware of where your personal interests are.

    Continue reading
    Insightpool2016-06-29
Found 46 reviews