Interpublic Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Interpublic Group Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 154 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Interpublic Group CEO Michael I. Roth
Michael I. Roth
87 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work environment, culture(in 12 reviews)

  • "Strong work life balance which allows you to be the best employee while also taking care of home too(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior management do not try to engage with staff(in 7 reviews)

  • "Did not have the budget to hire me on full-time(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "best in class company with great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Interpublic Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Best performing company in its peer set -- so always nice to be part of the winning team. The people in the top positions are nice, fair and hard working -- including the CEO. It's one of the few corporate environments where you are still connected to the creative arts.

    Cons

    Corporate culture is fairly formal.

    Interpublic Group2019-05-09
  2. "Great place to work on right team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Compensation Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Interpublic Group full-time

    Pros

    Fair pay Good benefits Nice people Excellent CEO

    Cons

    Not a lot of career growth or investment in lower level talent Being in right department is key

    Interpublic Group2019-07-20
  3. "Great Skill Building Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Media Coordinator 

    I have been working at Interpublic Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful experience, learned so much about programmatic media and data analysis

    Cons

    low pay for job requirements

    Interpublic Group2019-07-18
  4. "Good pay but work-life balance a challenge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Interpublic Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Interesting industry and good salary and benefits

    Cons

    Lean staff support, lack of future vision.

    Advice to Management

    Consistentltreatment of employees and more flexibility in schedule to accommodate a better work-life balance

    Interpublic Group2019-05-14
  5. "Good place to work. Complicated Environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Interpublic Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people to work with. Good tech. Good Challenges. Good overall company. Middle Mgmt is relatively good.

    Cons

    Complicated organization. Often lacks intra-organization communication.

    Interpublic Group2019-05-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Billing Associate in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Interpublic Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent benefits package, lots of PTO (starts off at 23 days - 18 days PTO, 4 Summer Fridays, and 1 floating holiday), casual work attire, opportunities for advancement and pay increases after a year of employment, only required to work 37.5 hours/week but paid for the full 40, overall great company culture and morale.

    Cons

    High turnover in the Production Billing department

    Interpublic Group2019-04-21
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Interpublic Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company culture and enviornment

    Cons

    Work/Life Balance is difficult to achieve in this particular role

    Interpublic Group2019-04-16
  8. "Seem to Walk the Talk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Analyst in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Interpublic Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Overall, the company seems to embrace diversity with regard to Title VII. Benefits are pretty good - particularly with vacation time. I've heard others say theirs was much better though, so I guess it's all relative...

    Cons

    Speaking for my little corner of the IPG universe (one of many agencies) , management changes had really begun to kill the positive atmosphere. We used to actively celebrate diversity, participate in community/civic minded activities, and have a healthy fun but hard working work environment. When management changed, over a couple years pretty much all that stopped. I don't care so much about the annual baseball outings...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your people. When there is a problem with someone in management and virtually everybody is reporting it to anyone who will listen - do something about it.

    Interpublic Group2019-04-18
  9. "Overall Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative/Clerical 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Interpublic Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    CEO is AWESOME! Actively involved and working on inclusion and diversity in the advertising industry. PTO/FMLA/Holiday ...is one of the best around. That is crucial as a working parent. Strong work life balance which allows you to be the best employee while also taking care of home too! Benefit package offers many options to participate in.

    Cons

    While CEO is awesome with his work in diversity and inclusion-you don’t really see it in HR at the Corp level. Lower level employees aren’t paid well. Lose a lot of quality employees due to wages.

    Advice to Management

    Work on diversity at visible Corp levels. Work on improving wages. Lower level employees are predominately female and many are moms. IPG can work to help raise wages on all levels.

    Interpublic Group2019-04-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Desk Supervisor in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Interpublic Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent benefits. Lots of holidays off and PTO allowance is very generous.

    Cons

    Departments are clicky and can be terrible with communication at times.

    Interpublic Group2019-02-08
Found 154 reviews