JobAdder Reviews | Glassdoor

JobAdder Reviews

Updated Aug 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
JobAdder CEO Brett Iredale (no image)
Brett Iredale
23 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "JObadder is awesome! Great technology, innovative, and incredible company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JobAdder full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This company is like no other that I have ever worked for. The employees are the most important thing to the management and they go above and beyond to take great care of everyone of them. It is clear to me that the believe if employees are truly satisfied that will transcend directly to satisfied customers. Lots of room for upward mobility and career advancement, great earning potential and benefits, and a beer... fridge that is always stocked by the company! Innovation is key to the business and doing things just to do things because that is the way it has always been done is not acceptable.

    Show More

    Cons

    No cons to speak of!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing and you will become the dominant market leader!

    JobAdder2014-06-20
  2. "Great Company and Vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JobAdder full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company has a great product that is head and shoulders above the competition. Company has a great culture with very accessible leadership.

    Cons

    I bit of a late comer to the US market. If the company were able to keep a full force effort in the US, it would be a great disrupting force in the marketplace.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. The culture and focus is unmatched, and having a great team, that loves coming to work everyday, is a blessing.

    JobAdder2016-07-06
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Not ready for the Denver market"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at JobAdder full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Small enough team that people mostly got along. Base salary was not bad.

    Cons

    Very limited voice. Constant fear of being fired due to how management would interact with you. They did not fully understand who did what in the team. Did not show equal appreciation to all parties involved in releasing a quality product. Alcohol consumption was very encouraged. You would be shamed if you did not drink. Strict 8:30 - 5:30 work day. I am fine with the length of the work day but flexibility of... start and end time would have been nice. Benefits were lacking in quality and quantity. That would be fine if the company gave a plus elsewhere such as schedule but it did not.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I heard that JobAdder has left Denver so this may not apply to other locations as culture does differ. Even in a startup environment, separating business from pleasure is important. Drinking in the office probably caused more problems than it was worth. Slow down on hiring. Even when I started, I saw at least a couple people who probably were not necessary at that stage. I eventually realized that I was in the... same boat. Let go of the product a little. You are too close to it. Employees in the U.S. want to come into a startup environment to innovate and voice their opinions. You hold the product too close to your hearts to let your employees be productive.

    Show More
    JobAdder2016-05-29

    JobAdder Response

    May 29, 2016Managing Director

    Thanks for your review. You are right in that cultures can vary from office to office, so we have worked hard to ensure everyone at JA understands our core company culture. This includes all employees coming to Sydney at least once a year to get to know the whole team. In the year ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Thankful For My Time At JobAdder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant/Sales Executive in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JobAdder full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was with JobAdder from day one when they opened up their North American office. You're treated as an Adult by management, Brett I. was very approachable with any help that I needed (we sat right next to each other). JobAdder was always a fun environment, very untraditional and a true work hard play hard mentality when it comes to company events.

    Cons

    There were a few bumps in the road as far as getting the product ready for the US market, (most issues have been worked out by now). Due to a change of strategy, my position was no longer offered to me by JobAdder.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for the opportunity JobAdder gave me, I do not think I would be where I am today without your help. I hope nothing but the best for JobAdder and my friends still working there.

    JobAdder2016-02-11
  5. "A Fun Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JobAdder full-time

    Pros

    The people. Everyone was fun to work with, I enjoyed coming to work and have made friends in the long run. Management is very approachable and really take the time to get to know their employees.

    Cons

    For me, JobAdder was a great place to get hands on experience in a small start up emvrionment. Some people may enjoy a more fast paced environment, but Jobadder just is a laid back company at heart.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the hiring great people! Maybe look at career paths development internally to keep your employees engaged and invested in the company long term. Although your strong backing in AUS suggests you've already found that. Best of luck!

    JobAdder2016-02-12
  6. "Enjoyed It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Software Developer in Denver, CO

    I worked at JobAdder full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed my brief stint with JobAdder. While it wasn't perfect by any means, overall the culture was great, it was a fun group to work with, and I was treated well by Brett M. and Brett I. Work was for the most part challenging and interesting, and there was no shortage of it.

    Cons

    As I noted above, it wasn't perfect, and I doubt that the environment/culture would be a good fit for every random person off the street, but my main issue was the length of the commute (obviously not the fault of JobAdder). I was disappointed to hear that they eventually closed down their Denver office, although they did keep some employees on to continue North American operations.

    Advice to Management

    Not much to say here, because from what I understand they are very successful in Australia and New Zealand.

    JobAdder2015-11-22
  7. Helpful (16)

    "Good Luck!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Consultant in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at JobAdder full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing software, probably the best in the industry. I would recommend this product to anyone in the industry. JobAdder's number one priority is to have the most innovative recruitment software in the industry and I think they deliver.

    Cons

    Over a 200% attrition rate, at least in the US office. Check for yourself on LinkedIn. I did enjoy working there in the beginning, then it seemed like someone was either getting fired or quit every week, eventually it was my turn. I only say this because I think potential employees should be aware. Some do last, so you could be one of them. Pretty uncomfortable work environment, only because I felt like I could... lose my job at any minute or the company could close their US office.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You might want to give those you hire more of a chance to be successful. I worked with some amazing people at JobAdder and most of them aren't there anymore. I think the software is amazing, so keep innovating, but please treat your people right.

    JobAdder2015-06-30
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Beware the Denver office. Take the positive reviews for the Denver office with a grain of salt."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at JobAdder full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Kitchen is stocked with alcohol. Staff is taken out for occasional drinks/food/outings. If you're in the customer service industry, this might be an enjoyable place to work, since the customer service industry as a whole tends to treat its employees extremely poorly.

    Cons

    The owners try to sell the Denver office as being relaxed and laid back but that's far from the truth. There's an atmosphere of fear in the office; people are afraid to speak openly because it may get them fired. The outings for drinks and/or food don't make up for the poor environment, especially when one of the owners has a very serious problem with alcohol. They claim to hire the best talent because they want... everyone to contribute but they don't leverage that opportunity; not to mention that they provide zero feedback to their staff. Which leads me to the attrition rate, which is nothing less than atrocious. All of their technical staff (programmers, testers and graphic artists) were either fired without warning or have quit. Same goes with the sales staff, except for the one individual who was still employed on my last day. For their US operations to succeed, the company needs qualified, competent management in their Denver office. Unfortunately, the Bretts aren't able to meet that challenge. One thing to note: one of the owners is especially conscious of the company's image and encourages his staff to leave positive reviews on GlassDoor. Look for several extremely positive reviews posted on the same day or within a couple of days of each other.

    Show More
    JobAdder2015-07-29
  9. Helpful (12)

    "The Definitive Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at JobAdder full-time

    Pros

    For as long as the "honeymoon period" lasts it's a really fun company to work for. JobAdder had fridge stocked full of beer.

    Cons

    Strictly a 8-5 work environment. Don't dare show up 2 minutes late or leave 2 minutes early as you could receive an earful. The company is unwilling to relinquish decision making power to the so called "smart people" they bring onboard to the various departments. There is a good chance every email or chat you ever send on a JobAddder computer is read by one of the owners. JobAdder is a company without a HR... department, so you'll find yourself in extremely uncomfortable situations that are deemed ok because of a concept management calls "safe zone".

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you want to successfully sell your product in the USA, you need to be willing to adapt to the business customs and standards of the country. Keep in mind, you are no longer a big fish in a small pond. US customers expect the software product to run like a well oiled machine. Things like not having all of your job boards configured and running for your US customers is unacceptable. You have to keep in mind you... only have the one chance to make a first impression so be sure to do everything in your power to make it a positive one. As for how you manage employees, perhaps start with treating EVERYONE with the respect that you demand they show you. Try not to fire employees on a whim, or just because you have some personal vendetta against them. Learn to create a clear distinction between business and friendship. Not every employee you hire is going to drink the Kool-aid, nor should they. After the humbling start you've had in the US, I suggest you start to realize that you don't have all the answers. With that being said, I wish JobAdder the best, but I would not wish employment at JobAdder on my worst enemy.

    Show More
    JobAdder2015-06-22

    JobAdder Response

    June 24, 2015Managing Director

    In 2014 we opened an office in Denver, setting out to reproduce the incredible business and culture we have built over 8 years. We hired some unbelievably good people but we also made some mistakes. We also made a couple of very poor hiring decisions. Divisiveness, malice and ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (3)

    "I enjoy coming to work on mondays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at JobAdder full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is very helpful to make sure you have the tools to succeed. Amazing benefits, tons of room for growth, and we are selling an amazing product! Beer Fridge Foosball Happy Hours

    Cons

    You are not micro managed, so if you do not have the self discipline than this company may not be a good fit for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    JobAdder2014-06-13
Found 46 reviews