LBMC Reviews | Glassdoor

LBMC Reviews

Updated Jan 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
LBMC Managing Partner Jeff Drummonds (no image)
Jeff Drummonds
26 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "My first year, I wasn't aware of this and then never got to take PTO as you aren't allowed to take it for 5-6 months during busy season(in 8 reviews)

  • "People leave here to do the same exact job at another Nashville firm - don't waste your time(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Operations Center Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LBMC full-time

    Pros

    Great Culture, Great Benefits, Great Company

    Cons

    Nothing negative to say about the company.

    LBMC2020-01-08
  2. "Experienced Tax Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Owner in Brentwood, TN

    I worked at LBMC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good overall culture and client base.

    Cons

    Somewhat political management team but overall a good firm.

    Continue reading
    LBMC2019-09-20
  3. "Great People...Long Hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Staff Accountant 
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at LBMC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent experience to learn and grow technical skills in the profession. Co-Workers are generally great people to work with and learn from.

    Cons

    The hours are long (65+) during Spring and Fall busy season. Expect to work through your weekends. Turn over is very high due to burnout. CEO and upper management need to address this or the firm will suffer in the long run. Pay for staff and seniors is difficult to justify for the amount of work they put in during the year.

    Continue reading
    LBMC2019-09-01
  4. "Audit Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly 

    I worked at LBMC full-time

    Pros

    Great people, treated me like staff.

    Cons

    Some issues with communication between staff/seniors and senior mgt

    LBMC2019-08-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Decent firm but have rooms to improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LBMC full-time

    Pros

    Travel time counts as billable time, Coaching program

    Cons

    Favoritism !!! office politics!!! etc. etc.

    LBMC2019-08-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good Job but can definitely use some improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brentwood, TN
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at LBMC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    #1 - The People you work with. I've formed some great friendships here and will continue to grow them. #2 - You get to Travel & Charge Travel. One of the best perks is that you get to use your own personal credit card and reap the benefits. They pay for travel and food while you're there as well. (However, you do not have much downtime - so I would advise leaving a day early and paying for one night at the hotel as extra to fully enjoy it). You generally work later days when traveling. #3 Path to partner can be shorter than other firms

    Cons

    #1 - First year - you WILL get the bad jobs, the projects and workpapers no one wants, and you will feel like you aren't respected as you should be. I even scheduled an exit interview that they blew off. This is just one example. #2 - Not competitive in salary (They say they are, but do your research before accepting). People leave here to do the same exact job at another Nashville firm - don't waste your time. #3 - PTO. This is a big one. You think you get 4 weeks, but it is 100% necessary to submit a request 3-4 months in advance - even in the Summer. My first year, I wasn't aware of this and then never got to take PTO as you aren't allowed to take it for 5-6 months during busy season. I rolled over all my PTO to the next year and was expected to not take it. It really is looked down upon here.

    Continue reading
    LBMC2019-06-20
  7. "Great workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Tax Accountant 

    I have been working at LBMC full-time

    Pros

    Work Life Balance is emphasized.

    Cons

    Busy season hours can be long.

    LBMC2019-06-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Do NOT... I repeat... DO NOT WORK HERE!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brentwood, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at LBMC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    4 weeks of vacation (even though get judged when you use it)

    Cons

    Read below for my thoughts on the company.

    Continue reading
    LBMC2019-06-19
  9. "LBMC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Audit Senior in Brentwood, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LBMC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people and the culture; you cannot find a better public accounting firm

    Cons

    Health benefits could be better

    LBMC2019-03-21
  10. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brentwood, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LBMC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are some of the best co-workers you will find here! Great perks such as a monthly Learning & Development Day. Competitive salaries and quality benefits. Excellent location and covered parking garage!

    Cons

    Long hours during peak seasons. Lack of senior leadership engagement with junior employees.

    Continue reading
    LBMC2019-01-16

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 48 reviews
</>Embed