LINE Reviews | Glassdoor

LINE Reviews

Updated Jun 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 82 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
LINE CEO Takeshi Idezawa
Takeshi Idezawa
17 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "If you’re on a nightmare project work/life balance is non-existent(in 8 reviews)

  • "Low salary compared to other IT giants(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LINE full-time

    Pros

    Collaborative team work culture, and little hierarchy.

    Cons

    Low salary comparing to tech giant companies in US

    LINE2017-09-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Lots to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at LINE full-time

    Pros

    Fast paced environment, lots to learn, especially mobile entertainment, room for professional growth.

    Cons

    Asian leadership style can be challenging.

    LINE2018-09-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LINE part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited creativity, opportunities to stretch imaginations.

    Cons

    Challenge, competitive, and risky but have learned a lot from the experience.

    Advice to Management

    None

    LINE2017-08-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Managing Director in Torrance, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at LINE full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Money great opportunity nice

    Cons

    Too much politics too much everything

    Advice to Management

    find true asset

    LINE2016-12-10
  5. "Problematic top management and product direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at LINE

    Pros

    Lots of new business models / products

    Cons

    Poor top management and unclear product strategy

    LINE2016-10-02
  6. "Programming"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at LINE for more than a year

    Pros

    Serve Free lunch 4 days a week

    Cons

    everything else, and the free food is not so great either

    Advice to Management

    work on being less authoritarian

    LINE2016-08-21
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Project Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at LINE part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Line provided good benefits as well as competitive pay for the job that I was assigned to do. Management was very friendly, and the work environment in general was very positive.

    Cons

    I was notified very abruptly of when I would be terminated. They claimed to have hired too many people for the temp job and just let me go via email on a random day.

    Advice to Management

    Please take better care of hiring responsibilities and be fair with the notification of termination. Don't tell people the day of work that they will be done.

    LINE2016-05-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "LINE Los Angeles Office Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Official Accounts/Associate Product Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at LINE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Opportunity to wear multiple hats - Talented designers and developers - Decent benefits (not to be confused with compensation)

    Cons

    - Korean management style does not mesh well with US based employees - Lack of vision and leadership - Essentially a satellite office for LINE (and Naver) to make half-hearted attempts to enter the US market without caring to understand the US market (demographics + marketing) - Office feels like a factory at times. Imagine headphones and crickets - No upward mobility. Don't expect huge raises - although bonuses aren't...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Commit to your hiring tactics - Establish leadership and vision from the top down - Attempt to educate higher ups in Korea/Japan about the US market and its nuances when launching new products

    LINE2016-04-06
  9. "LINE Los Angeles office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at LINE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Very smart and dedicated colleagues...some of the best people I've worked with - Office is located in a nice area (Mid-Wilshire)

    Cons

    - No clear vision or support from senior management - does not care about employees - Cultural/organizational gap considering that they are based in the US (extremely top-down management practices)

    LINE2016-04-28
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Non-Koreans will feel unwelcome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at LINE

    Pros

    Great in Asia, Better in Asia Cute Characters

    Cons

    Specific review of the LA office. Run by Koreans who don't understand US culture. Frequently speak Korean in the office. Any non-Koreans will feel very unwelcome. Somewhat racist environment, as they favor employees who speak Korean, and is very cliquey. CEO in the US is severely lacking any leadership or strategy. Lack of transparency between Senior Management and Junior employees

    Advice to Management

    Need better training for those who don't speak Korean.

    LINE2016-03-16
Found 82 reviews