LPA Reviews | Glassdoor

LPA Reviews

Updated Aug 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
LPA CEO Wendy Rogers (no image)
Wendy Rogers
11 Ratings
  1. "A unique culture where architects and engineers love to work with each other"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LPA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Collaborative Culture - architects respect and value engineers and vice versa. Great people Lots of perks not offered at typical engineering firms Amazing office and amenities I love the many free educational opportunities provided by the company The company cares about its employees

    Cons

    No trash cans at our desks (I love the thought be hind this - promote recycling and reduce waste, but this can be pretty inconvenient). The suburban setting isn’t ideal but the office space and amenities (including a restaurant and free gym in the building) make up for some of the lack of walkable lunch options.

    Advice to Management

    Looking at other reviews on here it seems like others are working at a different company than the one I do. Perhaps a focus on consistency of employee experience is needed.

    LPA2019-08-01
  2. "Proud to work for LPA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Coordinator in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LPA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    LPA is an integrated design firm with multiple disciplines under one roof. The talent and knowledge within our office is vast! So much room for growth, personally and professionally.

    Cons

    Fast paced and challenging deadlines

    Advice to Management

    Manage client expectations in regards to turn around time and deadlines

    LPA2019-06-09
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Stop, Drop, Tuck and Roll"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Coordinator in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LPA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule. Business casual dress code. Good location.

    Cons

    Toxic workplace. Advancement opportunities are structure like a pyramid scheme. Therefore, very difficult to grow. Management lacks a lot of experience.

    Advice to Management

    Do your part to help out with the workload and create a healthy work place. Employees want to see and be with their families.

    LPA2019-06-19
  4. "Integrated Design Teams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Architect in Irvine, CA

    I worked at LPA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Integrated design teams make for better design up front. Co-workers are also a perk. The co-workers are high performing and good team players. Great IT support.

    Cons

    Some challenging deadlines and schedules.

    Advice to Management

    None

    LPA2019-05-07
  5. "Below average employee benefits. Horrible retirement match."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at LPA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work environment, projects, people.

    Cons

    Below industry average retirement match (around 1% of your salary contributed once per year), expensive health care employee portion for family members.

    Advice to Management

    Industry average employee retirement contribution is now 4.7%, LPA’s is 1.25%. Health care benefits are too expensive if you have family members.

    LPA2019-06-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Principal Leadership with Some Toxic Subcultures for Mid-Level Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LPA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Uplifting CEO and worksharing abilities between branches. Certain sectors such as K-12, civic, higher ed, landscape are great departments to work in

    Cons

    Each department is it's own family. Some of them extremely toxic to work within. If you happen to be within one of these 2 toxic departments, expect to be overworked, underpaid, little opportunity for upwards mobility, and potentially thrown under the bus.

    Advice to Management

    Be extremely selective on hiring managers at all levels and ensure that they bring with them a healthy culture and proficient skill set.

    LPA2019-05-03
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Say goodbye to your family . . ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at LPA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good opportunities to advance, as long as you are willing to

    Cons

    Be prepared to work 50+ hour weeks. You'll be flooded with assignments and unrealistic deadlines and be expected to sacrifice everything to meet them.

    Advice to Management

    Worry less about the bottom line and have some consideration for your employee's well being.

    LPA2019-05-23
  8. "Full time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Technical Designer in Irvine, CA

    I worked at LPA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are nice overall; good benefits

    Cons

    When it merged with a smaller company, the smaller company culture was not to LPA's standards. I happen to work for this new manager and I ended up leaving due to management's lack of communication skills.

    Advice to Management

    When merging with another company, it is best to have a change management agent to help the new company abide and align with the company values, or people will leave the company.

    LPA2019-04-28
  9. "Good mentorship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at LPA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff are supportive and provide as much mentorship as they can. Good work culture and the people working there.

    Cons

    It is a corporate environment.

    LPA2019-03-21
  10. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LPA

    Pros

    I love the people I work with.

    Cons

    Seem like there has been more turnover recently.

    LPA2018-10-10
Found 43 reviews
</>Embed