LatinWorks Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

LatinWorks Reviews

Updated 4 Mar 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
28%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
LatinWorks CEO Manny Flores
Manny Flores
49 Ratings
Pros
  • "Austin is a cool city and the agency has free parking(in 7 reviews)

  • "Overall, the people make the agency, great people that work together(in 6 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Warm and Employee-Centered Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LatinWorks

    Pros

    This agency adheres to a people first mindset that is very unique. You can tell the leadership team truly cares about employee morale and works hard to create a welcoming environment. The CEO is regularly on the floor, circulating, and checking in to see how everyone is doing. Employee's receive appreciation in various ways - from snack carts on Fridays, unexpected holiday gift cards, and random lunches/happy hours.... LatinWorks is a very successful agency and is an example of what can happen when you put people first. I'm happy to be a part of this team.

    Show More

    Cons

    Typical cons that come with any agency: long hours, unrealistic deadlines, uninformed clients.

    LatinWorks2017-01-03
  2. "Our new constant is change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LatinWorks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a lot of positive energy in the agency, some of that comes from a new agency name and positioning that should be out very soon. Overall the agency is getting in sync, all the way up, and the owners have taken a more engaged role in the day to day. Its a little crazy with three pitches going on, but that's why we're here, its exciting Overall, the people make the agency, great people that work... together. You can bring your dog and there are new flex schedules that make work and life not collide.

    Show More

    Cons

    More change is coming, but it could come a little faster. Some areas are not adapting like others and it causes some holes, but change can fix that.

    Advice to Management

    Keep encouraging your employees, it matters. Everybody wants to help get to the next level.

    LatinWorks2019-03-04
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Art Director in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at LatinWorks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's based in Austin Even though its golden years have passed there are still pretty nice and decent people working there

    Cons

    Salaries are generally low If your salary isn't low you risk being fired if money runs short It's been in free fall since Sergio left, hard to see it recover

    LatinWorks2018-08-25
  4. "Make history, don't repeat it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LatinWorks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Once you get past the fast and furious first day, you get a chance to be what you want to be. If you are not a self-starter this might seem like a rough place at first, but if you are, you can take your job as far as you want to. Some people don’t like change, but advertising is changing every day. It may seem crazy, but it's also new and challenging. As much as I want to take on I get but I need to manage what... I ask for.

    Show More

    Cons

    We don’t get asked, usually we are told what is available and offered. But in case you are interested, the things I feel are needed: -More training opportunities -Need a clear growth path -Need for my voice to be heard more

    Advice to Management

    It is easy to throw out a list of things that are not great at any agency, and Latinworks has its share. So did the agency I came from, but the difference I see is that there appears to be an effort by senior management and owners to make some changes and I believe change will happen. Maybe its slower than I would like, but change none the less. I hope that management takes the time to listen to all of us while... charting our course, that is where the difference can become positive. Make us part of the adjustment. Not listening leads to a repeat of history, not creating it.

    Show More
    LatinWorks2017-08-16
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Look Again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at LatinWorks full-time

    Pros

    High profile. Good industry rep. Very creative shop. In Austin.

    Cons

    Better days are in past. Morale is bad. Everyone's paranoid, distrustful.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in the people. Look beyond short term profits.

    LatinWorks2017-07-29
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Mediocre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at LatinWorks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of free time since most clients are leaving. Owner has political connections so government accounts paying fat fees continue holding this place up.

    Cons

    No perspective whatsoever. No culture, no thinking, no creativity this is what is left when bureaucrats have it their way.

    Advice to Management

    Won’t give any. They aint worth it.

    LatinWorks2017-08-18
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Dysfunction Junction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at LatinWorks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Parking, location, modern office space, snack cart with beer, breakfast tacos. If you want to work totally independently with no management or oversight or accountability - this place is perfect for you. Just know that you also won't get support, loyalty, stability or any job mobility with that 'pro'.

    Cons

    Dysfunctional relationships and business behavior begins with the senior "leadership" team and permeates through every level of the organization. The business is actually failing. They regularly put lipstick on the pig and most people go along with it because 1. they can't find a job anywhere else or 2. they can't face reality or 3. don't give a damn. Terrible health benefits. The reputation of the agency... has been in steady decline for several years. So has their revenue. They get contracts by underbidding, not by their creative brand. The 'friendly' environment isn't genuine. Co-workers regularly stab each other in the back to advance their personal status. It's just an ugly work environment.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Sell and let real leaders take it over and try to salvage it all.

    LatinWorks2017-07-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Not horrible, not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LatinWorks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -The people -The culture -Atmosphere -Work environment -Decent benefits

    Cons

    -Poor management -Bad work-life balance -Not enough positive rewards for good work

    Advice to Management

    I think the reason why everyone leaves has to do with management. Managers are not properly trained after getting promoted and furthermore, they do not help with the "busy work." Too many people have too much on their plate and do not get proper support from their managers. I also think upper management has to STOP being so political. You may think your employees don't know about your fights, your lies, etc. but... they do and it just makes them lose respect for you. Be honest--if you're letting someone go, don't say they retired, everyone knows the truth anyway. If you're having financial trouble, be honest with everyone instead of pretending everything is OK.

    Show More
    LatinWorks2017-06-15
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Just awful. Stay away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at LatinWorks full-time

    Pros

    Most "positives" disappeared when the former chief creative officer left, followed by many of the great people that used to populate this company. The only good thing about this agency is that it is located in my favorite city. But you can go to so many other creative shops in Austin instead that will treat you with respect, as well as promote real innovation and career advancement (i.e. McGarrah Jessee, Preacher,... Bakery, T3, Razorfish)

    Show More

    Cons

    This agency had its problems before the former creative leader left, but after his departure it became clear he was holding the agency's culture together by himself. This company has become a petty, mean girl-esque environment that produces mediocre work. The gossip culture has seeped down from management and into the bones of the team. Most of the capable creatives have left and the ones left are either... eyeing the door or have become big-headed with big fish, little pond syndrome. "Strategy" here is essentially a hustle, devoid of real professionals that can add value to their clients. They pay vendors late, so working again with a group you liked can become impossible. Management is delusional, secretive and crude. They run a Texan good ol' boy schtick on the surface, but are piranhas that will turn on their own whenever convenient. The two principals can't stand each other and are rarely around. They've turned the agency into a Billings sweatshop, so forget about going home every night. Instead of fixing the culture problem–and being well aware of the large group of ex-employees who still get together and discuss how they drove this agency into the ground–management conducts exit interviews where they attempt to muscle people into not discussing the agency's circumstances once out the door. They're such hoodlums that it took me months to work up the courage to post this for fear of them knowing who wrote the review and exacting revenge of some kind.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Close up shop and turn the building into a WeWork style business, renting out desk time. You're lost and your egos have driven you mad.

    LatinWorks2017-07-06
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Scene 1, Saving Private Ryan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Art Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at LatinWorks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1- Well, you're not unemployed. Wait. OH GOD *commence layoffs* 2- Big name clients for the resume 3- Worker bees are all wonderful people

    Cons

    1- Paid like your job is cleaning a toilet with a toothbrush (respect to all toilet toothbrush cleaners tho) 2- Growth = have you ever tried to physically change your location while on a treadmill? 3- The total market is swallowing Hispanic agencies 4- As organized as the backpack of a 12 year old who DEFINITELY has ADHD 5- Clients always want you to prove the work is Hispanic enough. This is not progressive... thinking. No, I will not add frijoles to the spot. 6- General state of apathy

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Genuinely consider what is best for the kind people who work for you. If you are going to alter the agencies offering, involve them in the process. And pay them what they're worth.

    LatinWorks2017-05-31
Found 58 reviews