Lottoland Reviews | Glassdoor

Lottoland Reviews

Updated Nov 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
69%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Lottoland CEO Nigel Birrell (no image)
Nigel Birrell
17 Ratings
  1. Helpful (19)

    "Long hours, terrible senior management, a warped "start-up" mentality, and no process or structure."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product in Gibraltar, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lottoland full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You are surrounded by smart, intelligent and highly driven coworkers who are dedicated to their roles. This is the reason Lottoland lives and breathes today. The product is also fantastic and the company will go far if it sorts out a number of individuals within the senior management.

    Cons

    Dealing with founding members. They decide everything and anything with "dictator syndrome". There is also a huge disconnect between the two offices in Hamburg and Gibraltar. The only way to communicate between the two teams is through one of the founding members and it's impossible to come up with any process, structure or get the team to work with you unless you have one individual on board. Any process is spoilt with ridiculous decisions from the just a couple of individuals. And there is no freedom or possibility to focus on what is needed. Their claim of a "start-up" mentality is absolute nonsense. I left the company 2 months ago and absolutely nothing has changed on the site in all that time. No products, no improvements, nothing. That's not very start-up in my view. The only "start-up" mentality that appears to be embedded is the long workings hours and the ridiculous 6pm meetings initiated by the senior management. It's not uncommon to leave the office at 8pm so if you value a work/life balance, Lottoland is certainly not for you.

    Continue reading
    Lottoland2015-07-10
  2. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lottoland full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lottoland has transitioned from a start-up company that was naturally run by early hires (which is the case in almost all start-ups) with an empire building mentality of those individuals, to a professional company that values high emotional intelligence over blind ambition. The company has worked on it's core values that promote genuine behaviour and integrity, allowing the empowerment of individuals to do their jobs. There will always be people that find it difficult to fit into this paradigm, however, the majority of the company has embraced this and the majority of people are happy.

    Cons

    At the moment in time I don't believe that there are any downsides to working with Lottoland.

    Lottoland2019-11-14
  3. "Young & innovative culture, fast-moving, lots of perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Executive in Gibraltar
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lottoland full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots to learn - lottery-betting, gaming, scratchcards in different markets Flexible working hours

    Cons

    Different strategies in each market - makes it complicated

    Continue reading
    Lottoland2019-10-09
  4. "Best company I´ve ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Acquisition Marketing Manager 

    I worked at Lottoland full-time

    Pros

    Everything is so great and workes smoothly

    Cons

    Nothing I find relevant to criticise about the company

    Lottoland2019-09-24
  5. "It's all about the people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gibraltar
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lottoland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some very talented people across all departments. Great products and growing that portfolio. Strong emphasis on giving people the opportunity to move within the company. A lot of people have been there a long time and had many roles.

    Cons

    Too much 'top down' - if the founder wants something it's always the highest priority even if the idea makes no sense to anyone else. Very siloed - internal communication is terrible. It's all about the numbers. If you are a high performer you can be as toxic as you like which makes the office politics nasty.

    Continue reading
    Lottoland2019-10-02
  6. "Left hand doesnt know what that Right hands doing ( The Stratton Oakmont of Lotto/gaming)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lottoland full-time

    Pros

    Some nice people that work there - great location. if you like living at work, Training was excellent relating to Lottos. Free Fruit/Tea and Coffee

    Cons

    Where do i start lack of professionalism serious favoritism between certain staff and the head of department, when awake is not very approachable and the main thing is the lack of integrity of this department is shocking...... say one thing do another. Staff move to departments that are have no degree experience or industry experience and are moulded and this is evident as normally the pieces are left for others to pick up, pay peanuts you get monkeys and this is the case here. Pay is a abysmal compared to the rest of the other gaming companies. generally a fragmented company a bit like a civil company, also have say that it certainly does have narrow minded German management mentality.

    Continue reading
    Lottoland2019-04-17

    Lottoland Response

    May 19, 2019Talent Acqusitions Manager

    Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback about your time at Lottoland. Firstly, we were delighted to read your kind comments regarding the training we provide and how you valued our welcoming working environment. We are sorry to hear you mention some issues encountered with other members of staff. We do appreciate that there can be personality clashes in the working environment; however, we would challenge your assertion that there is a culture of favouritism in our hierarchy. We endeavour to treat all our employees as equals and with dignity and respect at all times. It is worth bearing in mind that our HR team are always available to mediate any disputes. We respectfully disagree with your comments regarding our compensation. We are proud to offer some of the most competitive gaming salaries in Gibraltar and it is worth noting that we also offer many additional benefits, such as free lunches, gym subsidies, health insurance, social events and generous relocation packages. Once again, thank you for being so candid in your review. We have noted your comments fully and we appreciate your feedback as we continue to improve our Lottoland employee experience.

    Continue reading
  7. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gibraltar
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lottoland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible, young, innovative, great company to work for

    Cons

    Some processes/procedures take long to be implemented

    Lottoland2019-01-17

    Lottoland Response

    May 19, 2019Talent Acqusitions Manager

    Thank you so much for sharing your Lottoland experience. You said it’s a great company to work for and we couldn’t agree more! We appreciated your kind comments about our young and innovative working environment. We believe Lottoland is the place to be if you’re beginning your career and are hungry for opportunities you won’t find anywhere else. We accept your comments that we still have some work to do in continuing to improve our processes and procedures. Being one of the fastest growing start-ups in Europe has definitely presented us with challenges accommodating the scale of our success, and for this reason we have introduced a number of process mapping and project management initiatives to the business. We are confident that these initiatives will provide a solid framework that will help us work more efficiently and effectively for years to come. Once again, thank you for your review and we wish you the very best for the future.

    Continue reading
  8. "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lottoland full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment Open and communicative leadership team Treat employees well and understand they have lives outside of the office

    Cons

    Can be a little slow in adapting peoples roles and remuneration to reflect evolution of the business

    Continue reading
    Lottoland2018-11-27

    Lottoland Response

    May 19, 2019Talent Acqusitions Manager

    Thank you very much for your kind words about your time at Lottoland! We were delighted to hear how much you valued the working environment and how our leadership team treat our employees. We believe a little bit of respect and common courtesy goes a long way in creating Lottoland’s unique culture of warmth, conviviality and teamwork. We’ve noted your comments mentioning that we can do a little more to adapt people’s roles to the changing needs of the business. This is a fair criticism that goes hand-in-hand with being one of the fastest growing start-ups in Europe. For this reason, we’ve recently introduced a number of process mapping and project management initiatives which we believe will help us to manage growth and scaling more effectively. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we wish you every success for the future.

    Continue reading
  9. "I miss this place… but life goes on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Analyst in Gibraltar
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Lottoland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are fantastic. Having been in several corporate companies, I miss the opportunity to engage and communicate with other departments as you are allowed to do at Lottoland. Since I have left the company, I think there are several things that big corporate companies could understand, and though Lottoland wasn’t perfect, it still somehow created a great atmosphere amongst the workers. There are lots of functions and weekly get togethers inside and outside of working hours that helps build team spirit. One big difference I have noticed is the HR department. The Lottoland HR department care, and attend to your query. Having left several months ago, I don’t get the same feeling that the HR team are on the side of the employees here, and I guess that the bigger the company, the more they have to deal with, but they certainly don’t have the human touch that the Lottoland HR team had.

    Cons

    There are still some things to improve at Lottoland, I wouldn’t have left if it was perfect. So personal career and skill development was one of the reasons I left. But since then I have heard they are attempting to address the situation. I have a touch of regret for not sticking around, but at the time, it felt right to move on.

    Continue reading
    Lottoland2018-09-09

    Lottoland Response

    May 19, 2019Talent Acqusitions Manager

    Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback about your time at Lottoland. We appreciated your kind words about Lottoland’s culture of teamwork and friendship and how easy it was to liaise and communicate with other departments; indeed, as you mentioned, we believe this is something unique about our business that we treasure dearly, setting us apart from larger corporate work spaces. We noted also your comments about career and skill development. This is an area of the employee experience that we are doing our best to improve. Now, from the moment an employee joins us, we seek to provide as much pastoral care as possible. In the first two months alone, employees have weekly catch-ups with HR to address any teething difficulties and lay the foundations for a long and rewarding Lottoland career. Thank you once again for your comments. We’re sorry to hear how much you miss working here, but we wish you every success in your future endeavours!

    Continue reading
  10. "Excellent place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Gibraltar
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lottoland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Innovative company, great people and optimal work life balance.

    Cons

    I can't think of any

    Continue reading
    Lottoland2018-09-09

    Lottoland Response

    May 19, 2019Talent Acqusitions Manager

    Thank you very much for your glowing review of Lottoland! We recognise that employees such as yourself have created our hugely valued culture of teamwork and friendship, making Lottoland one of the most fun and vibrant places to work in Gibraltar. It’s great to hear you mention Lottoland’s commitment to a work-life balance too. Very often, people refer to “working hard and playing hard” in gaming companies, but at Lottoland we actually strive for work-life harmony; we believe our employees are happiest and thrive best when these two aspects compliment and augment one another and we’re delighted that you’ve experienced this too. Thank you once again for your comments and we wish you every success for your future at Lottoland.

    Continue reading
Found 46 reviews