Lumentum Operations Reviews | Glassdoor

Lumentum Operations Reviews

Updated 16 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
57%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Lumentum Operations CEO Alan Lowe (no image)
Alan Lowe
47 Ratings
Pros
  • "I interned at Lumentum in the summer of 2018(in 10 reviews)

  • "Excellent summer internship program with plenty of intern off-sites(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance continues to be challenging but employees do have flexibility with their schedules(in 11 reviews)

  • "Depending on the project, sometimes long hours are necessary(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Great coworkers and fun internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supply Chain Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lumentum Operations full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I started joining Lumentum as a supply chain analyst intern in 2018. The internship program provides many activities to get to know other interns, coworkers and the company. Generally, coworkers are supportive and Lumentum is a great place to learn and start your career.

    Cons

    Still many things need to be organized in system.

    Lumentum Operations2019-02-28
  2. "good place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Optical Engineer 
    Recommends

    I worked at Lumentum Operations part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are friend; free lunch sometime

    Cons

    **Share some downsides of working**

    Lumentum Operations2019-08-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "This is a tough company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lumentum Operations full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are some dedicated people working for this company and I really liked working with them

    Cons

    The senior executives drive a culture that they themselves don’t follow. They set unrealistic goals, have no idea of what is really going on several levels below them. I would never recommend this place to anyone that I know.

    Lumentum Operations2019-09-30
  4. "Lumentum"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician 

    I worked at Lumentum Operations full-time

    Pros

    Good workplace. Nice coworkers to work with.

    Cons

    Small offices. small break room. Not enough bathrooms

    Lumentum Operations2019-08-23
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Most 5 stars from interns!?! (and Directors and VP's, etc.) Rest of them are low."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lumentum Operations full-time

    Pros

    After working here and leaving you'll find almost any other company so much better.

    Cons

    Probably worst appreciation of employees I've ever experienced.

    Advice to Management

    Manage.

    Lumentum Operations2019-09-09
  6. "Very dynamic and constructive work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lumentum Operations full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    1. Competitive 2. Very constructive and good team work 3. Good growth potential

    Cons

    Can not think of any .. good company to work for.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the current maangement style.

    Lumentum Operations2019-06-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Appalling Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineer in Milpitas, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lumentum Operations full-time

    Pros

    Excellent pay, standard benefits , so few engineers to work on projects that you can do lots of interesting things

    Cons

    I have worked in several optical companies in Silicon Valley- the managers here are the worst by far. If you are personal friends with them you get frequent raises and everything is great. If you are competent enough to pose a threat to them they will start bad mouthing you behind your back until they lay you off. I saw this with very competent technical staff. Warning: Do not work here unless you are desperate.... Layoffs occur every 3 months.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    What can you say to people like this? What good would it do? These are seriously disturbed managers who work for and with enough seriously disturbed managers that when combined collectively create a nightmarish distopian environment. The high turnover is your report card—— you fail.

    Lumentum Operations2019-07-05
  8. "Good company, could use some work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lumentum Operations full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company is doing well, but could use some work in places.

    Cons

    Culture could use an update and a better work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees

    Lumentum Operations2019-06-10
  9. "Long hours and poor work/life balance..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supply Chain Manager in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lumentum Operations full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun parties (Annual Holiday Party, Summer Picnic, Beer & BBQ celebrations) Good employee packages (Annual salary, ESPP, RSUs, Bonus) No individual performance tie-up to Bonus payment....promotes fairness Leadership is very technically competent

    Cons

    Work/Life Balance - long hours, evening calls with overseas manufacturers Frequent leadership turnover

    Lumentum Operations2019-06-09
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Don't join if you have other offers; Don't join if you are strong in technical; Don't join if you're on H1B"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lumentum Operations full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good coworkers; Company paid relocation, salary isn't too low in photonics industry. But working load is terrible

    Cons

    Lots of Layoff, voluntary layoff is on-going since 2018. VP and above level changes are dramatic. A lot of JDSU directors and young engineers starts to leave on their own in the same time. NPI stopped, existing production discontinued. Terrible company culture, managers are playing politics game in dark. Don't join if you are strong in technical, go find other places to stay. Saw they laid off fellow engineer as... nothing to lose.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop buying and cutting, spend money on technology, not just escape. Engineer to management ratio ~ 2:1 in some BU, seriously???

    Lumentum Operations2019-04-04
Found 90 reviews