MacNeal Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

MacNeal Hospital Reviews

Updated December 14, 2017
36 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
M.E. Cleary
1 Rating

36 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MacNeal Hospital full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great staff, good doctors, worked at MacNeal for a long time!

    Cons

    Management and Admin changes constantly, not sure where you fit with the new changes happening.

    Advice to Management

    Check Glassdoor, they still have Brian Lemon as CEO.. that was 3 CEOs ago!!

    MacNeal Hospital Response

    Nov 7, 2017 – Recruitment & HR Operations

    We appreciate your feedback. We believe that our employees are our greatest asset and are always looking to improve our offerings.


  2. "Mental Health Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mental Health Counselor in Berwyn, IL
    Current Employee - Mental Health Counselor in Berwyn, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MacNeal Hospital full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Tight knit nursing staff, Flexible schedule, Decent pay

    Cons

    Paper charting including doctor's orders! Since there is a housekeeper storage BHS units are at times not cleaned properly. Management plays favorites and allows certain staff members overtime week after week but complain then that they are over budget. Not staffing units based off acuity which places staff and patients in danger. The amount of physical injuries against staff that have occurred in the last year alone are terrifying. The staff turnover rate is so high you don't learn someone's name unless they work for about a month to save you some trouble. Not feeling safe enough to speak out about something you feel is unfair or unsafe.

    Advice to Management

    The BHS department is one of the largest one of the hospital but at times feels like it is an after thought.

    MacNeal Hospital Response

    Dec 15, 2017 – Recruitment & HR Operations

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear about your experience, but appreciate you voicing your concern.

  3. "PCT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at MacNeal Hospital full-time

    Pros

    A Lot of experience
    EKG
    Phlebotomy
    Great staff

    Cons

    under staffed
    not the highest pay

    MacNeal Hospital Response

    Nov 2, 2017 – Recruitment & HR Operations

    We appreciate your feedback! Our employees are the heart of our organization and are crucial to MacNeal Hospital's success.


  4. "Behavioral Health Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Behavioral Health Counselor in Berwyn, IL
    Current Employee - Behavioral Health Counselor in Berwyn, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MacNeal Hospital full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Supportive Management that understands challenges working with Patients with Behavioral Disorders

    Cons

    Hard to deal with population

    MacNeal Hospital Response

    Oct 24, 2017 – Recruitment & HR Operations

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback!


  5. "Sterile Processing Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at MacNeal Hospital full-time

    Pros

    They have some very good people working there.

    Cons

    Beyond a doubt, the worst run sterile processing dept I have ever seen.

    Advice to Management

    Get people who know what they're doing in charge.

    MacNeal Hospital Response

    Nov 1, 2017 – Recruitment & HR Operations

    Thank you for your review. It is important that our employees feel they can be heard at all times.


  6. "phlebotomist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berwyn, IL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berwyn, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MacNeal Hospital full-time

    Pros

    You can make your own hours. Some staff is awesome.

    Cons

    Boss is very clicky. Doesn't post new listings. Gives to favorites. No raises. Some don't even know order of draw. Boss tells personal things of other employees to others. Doesn't act like boss.

    Advice to Management

    No point...

    MacNeal Hospital Response

    Oct 9, 2017 – Recruitment & HR Operations

    Thank you for leaving an honest review about MacNeal Hospital's management. It is important that our employees feel they can be heard at all times.


  7. "Great company. Horrible managers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office in Berwyn, IL
    Current Employee - Office in Berwyn, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MacNeal Hospital full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The company does offer excellent benefits. Several career opportunities. Numerous locations.

    Cons

    Certain managers are more like dictators. They belittle you and treat you like a child. Being told the door is wide open is also not professional and comes off more as if management is bullying you. Upper management does not take your concerns seriously. So employees feel like that have no one to turn to. Promotions are not earned. They’re given to whom ever kisses the managers butt the most. Regardless if they’re under qualified. They say paid holidays but it actually comes out of your PTO.

    Advice to Management

    Take employee concern a little more seriously. Even if it’s about current managers. Treat employees like employees. Promotions should be given to those whom are actually qualified to take on position and responsibility. Managers shouldn’t tell employees when it’s ok to take days off much less retaliate when days requested interfere with managers personal schedule and not the work office.

    MacNeal Hospital Response

    Nov 8, 2017 – Recruitment & HR Operations

    Thank you for leaving an honest review about MacNeal Hospital's management. It is important that our employees feel they can be heard at all times.

  8. "Patient Sitter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    -You can create your own work schedule
    -Decent pay for position

    Cons

    -Not the greatest location
    -The staff wasn't always too friendly

    MacNeal Hospital Response

    Sep 27, 2017 – Recruitment & HR Operations

    We appreciate your feedback. It is important that our employees feel they can be heard at all times.


  9. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Intern in Berwyn, IL
    Current Employee - Intern in Berwyn, IL

    I have been working at MacNeal Hospital full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great work experience. Professional and dedicated staff.

    Cons

    Would like to be paid for internship

    MacNeal Hospital Response

    Sep 6, 2017 – Recruitment & HR Operations

    Thank you for your feedback.


  10. "Patient Transporter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at MacNeal Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Cleanliness, professional, nice people,great experience

    Cons

    Hours, money,to much work, un professional


Showing 36 of 38 reviews
Reset Filters