Mainfreight Reviews | Glassdoor

Mainfreight Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 134 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
23%
Approve of CEO
Mainfreight CEO Don Braid
Don Braid
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Solid work ethic among the team members, company is very supportive in any aspect of increasing revenue(in 9 reviews)

  • "good people who make the work fun(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours minimal reward small pay packet(in 12 reviews)

  • "Grad program is very "ad-hoc" approach, with little structure to move and learn the business(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mainfreight full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast growing company in the Americas, every one learns the business from the ground up! The culture is very empowering, the ability to openly discuss day to day problems . Everyone is a team member with a purpose. Very large visibility from the CEO Level all the way down. The upper leadership actually cares about every single team member. If you have a position you want to try out, they will let you. ... Mainfreight culture is absolutely amazing, once you buy into the sky is limit as far as how high you can go. I have been here for almost two full years, i have moved up so fast because of the culture! You have to buy into it and you will see the results! This is the best company to work for, I absolutely love my Career!

    Show More

    Cons

    The business is growing so some times there can be growing pains. Mainfreight can be hard to see the bigger picture. We do not have much in advertisement, so people don't really know who we are. I wish we had more Mainfreight painted trucks on the road.

    Advice to Management

    We need to advertise more! Maybe and aggressive YouTube, Instagram, Twitter, social media campaign.

    Mainfreight2019-04-18
  2. "Mainfreight USA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Logistician 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mainfreight full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and great culture

    Cons

    pay is very low and bonuses hard to get

    Mainfreight2019-08-11
  3. "Logistics Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Coordinator in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mainfreight full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You are able to learn fast pace as the business continues to grow. Mainfreight offers leadership training through its future leader's program for recent graduates. Culture is important for Mainfreight, and team members can collaborate with each other.

    Cons

    Pressure to perform, always working against the clock. Strict deadlines.

    Mainfreight2019-03-28
  4. "Fast growing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Coordinator in Bolingbrook, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mainfreight full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities, great team environment, very flexible schedule

    Cons

    It’s not a good place to be if you don’t enjoy hard work

    Advice to Management

    Develop employees to retain your investment

    Mainfreight2019-03-14
  5. "FAMILY CULTURE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mainfreight full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you were ever on a team growing up and as an adult you miss that commrodary then go to Mainfreight. They do not just hire anyone. Especially those that are out for themselves. They make decisions off of being around for another 100 years. That means that they make the tough decisions that sometimes are hard for a greater goal - a common goal that unites all of the 240 offices. They promote within - super... motivating. Push to grow all the time.

    Show More

    Cons

    The culture at Mainfreight outlines a must of hiring future leaders. I love that idea and its awesome Mainfreight does it. However - sometimes they throw them in to manage a specific operations/job and because they are not properly trained yet they can mess up/slow down the system. Sometimes we lose business because of it.

    Advice to Management

    Always have someone with experience/tenure to man or women the operation/Job/ so although we are training someone know - it does not directly affect our customers.

    Mainfreight2019-02-20
  6. "Overall good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Future Leader in Flower Mound, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mainfreight full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Bonus, Paid overtime, standard sick and vacation time. 401k with company matching

    Cons

    Not enough competent employees, ops manager lacks foresight and leadership abilities

    Advice to Management

    Tighten up operations and employee accountability, hold everyone to the same standard

    Mainfreight2019-02-23
  7. "Great Culture and Room for Advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Flower Mound, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mainfreight full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company culture. It is an open office environment where everyone is treated with respect. We are one team and everyone can voice their opinions in an open environment. If you are a team player and have a strong work ethic, there is a lot of opportunity for advancement

    Cons

    It is a New Zealand based company, so you have to be able adapt to a fast paced environment and sometimes follow the direction that may be different than US culture. The hours can be long, but that is expected in this industry

    Advice to Management

    None, keep supporting your people and keep leading the 100 year vision.

    Mainfreight2018-08-29
  8. "Logistics account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Flowermound, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mainfreight full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love this job! Great benifits in a fast pace enviorment. It’s actually fun to go to work. Our culture is casually serious.

    Cons

    We work a lot but the company takes care of you. Best job I’ve had that really cares about you as well as getting the job done

    Mainfreight2018-05-11
  9. "What you put in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mainfreight full-time

    Pros

    - Company culture - People (senior executive level) actually care about your progress - If you are intelligent and put the time and effort in, it is very easy to progress - big annual bonus if your branch makes profit or if you are recognized as an outstanding performer - Senior management team actually know your name - Internal promotion strategy seems to be working better now than it has in the past for USA... business

    Show More

    Cons

    - Pay reviews are not doe face to face but behind closed doors (one of the only things not done openly). No chance to discuss your pay related to performance or understand why you didn't get a raise. If you bring it up, you're treated like you are not grateful. - Widely disparate pay among people with similar levels of repsonsibility

    Advice to Management

    - Make pay more transparent through the business. Many people are motivated by money as well as doing a good job. - Listen to your future leaders ideas - Get rid of dead beats on inflated salaries who are toxic to the culture and company

    Mainfreight2018-04-12
  10. "Great people and a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mainfreight full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I think a lot of the previous reviews reference Target logistics or Target Corp which are unfortunately not related to Mainfreight. Mainfreight acquired Target Logistics quite a while back and there seems to still be some confusion.. I am still very new to Mainfreight but what I have learned in the short time here is that they have some of the friendliest people, and if you work hard, the sky is the limit! What I... love most about Mainfreight is their family-oriented culture and their support behind each team member to live a healthy and fun life in and outside of work. If you are looking for a place to put in the work to grow your professional career, this is definitely the place to be!

    Show More

    Cons

    I cannot think of any cons or negatives to put down, which is probably why I am so passionate about working here!

    Mainfreight2018-04-10
Found 134 reviews