Map Communications Reviews | Glassdoor

Map Communications Reviews

Updated August 6, 2017
29 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Garry J. Morrison
10 Ratings

29 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Sales MAnager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Chesapeake, VA
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Chesapeake, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Map Communications (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Cold calling therefore you always had to be on your toes and push for sales....

    Cons

    They had constant turnover....new blood was there way of work...only upper management was permanent however I count my blessings I was laid off after 4 years

    Advice to Management

    Be more open with your employees regarding issues....not just terminate or constant tlking about you to others out loud it makes for bad work enviornment

    Map Communications Response

    Aug 14, 2017 – Senior Vice President

    We never had a sales manager in Chesapeake. We took on some employees that were telemarketing and about to lose their jobs because their company was closing down. We tried a pilot program with them... More


  2. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Map Communications full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule pay rate was good based on industry standard.

    Cons

    Management micro managing everything you do. Stuck in the past with a system that is out of date.

    Advice to Management

    Allow the people you put in position of authority to have authority

    Map Communications Response

    Aug 14, 2017 – Senior Vice President

    Thank you for your comment.

  3. "Good first job for teen or college student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist (Phone/Call Center) in Chesapeake, VA
    Former Employee - Receptionist (Phone/Call Center) in Chesapeake, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Map Communications full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    A good part time job, they are sometimes flexible with school schedules, each call is different, and they have an annual Christmas party that's fun

    Cons

    You work one day of every weekend, there are very strict rules, and it is always busy which is very frustrating at times.

    Advice to Management

    Don't be so strict and your employees will never leave

    Map Communications Response

    Jul 13, 2017 – Senior Vice President

    Thank you for working with us for over 5 years. Wishing you well on your future endeavors.


  4. "Great if you want phone experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Virtual Assistant
    Former Employee - Virtual Assistant
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Map Communications full-time

    Pros

    Friendly Trainers
    You are compensated well if you work holidays
    Most supervisors were friendly
    Some co-workers were friendly
    Customer service there to help
    Training program
    You answer for various clients so it keeps it interesting
    There are possibilities to advance to a certain extent

    Cons

    People are human at the end of the day so with that in mind, be prepared for a lot of angry customers

    Some of the companies you answer for provide you with minimal info which leaves you unprepared to answer basic questions such as business hours

    Some supervisors were not friendly

    Some customer service reps could use some work

    Pay does not match what you are expected to do

    Phone audits are subjective which means you never sound friendly or helpful enough which affects your QA score

    You literally have to stick to a script even if it does not apply to the call which creates awkard situations while being on the phone. If not read you lose points on your QA. This really needs to be exploredin more depth

    Map Communications Response

    Aug 14, 2017 – Senior Vice President

    Thank you for your comment


  5. "My experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Map Communications full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Sweet people/co-workers for the most part.

    Cons

    Small spaces (cubicles); high call volume so never a breather in between calls; tedious because the calls last about 1-2 minutes a piece...so very back to back; kind of made me feel like I had to work on certain holidays even though I really didn't want to so I signed up for 4 hours but then they changed it to a full shift. Not okay. But life I suppose.

    Advice to Management

    Not hard to be a supervisor at all.

    Map Communications Response

    May 4, 2017 – Senior Vice President

    Thanks for the review. We are a 24/7 work environment and all staff know we have to work a day on the weekend and some holidays. Thank you for the time you spent as part of our team and we wish you... More


  6. "Quality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Good pay, room for advancement

    Cons

    works on a point system

    Map Communications Response

    Aug 14, 2017 – Senior Vice President

    Thank you for the great review.


  7. "Conversion Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Map Communications full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Very lenient work environment, my bosses were awesome and very understanding when I needed time off. They are a very well structured company who have everything monitored and they stay on top of things at all times. Also if you feel if something is unfair you are always entitled to reach out to upper management to discuss any discordance you may have.

    Cons

    Workers are very under compensated for the amount of work done. The operators which are the backbone of the company allow the company to stay afloat by handling calls efficiently and effectively. Through their work the company receives a good amount of revenue on a monthly basis. Yet they are only paid $11-12 hourly.

    Advice to Management

    In order to maintain skillful and dependable workers you must compensate workers at a higher rate whether it be conversion or customer service. If you see potential in an employee try to hold on to those employees.

    Map Communications Response

    May 4, 2017 – Senior Vice President

    Thank you for the review and for all your hard work on our conversion team. We wish you and your family the best in the days to come.

  8. "DO NOT APPLY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Receptionist in Chesapeake, VA
    Current Employee - General Receptionist in Chesapeake, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Map Communications part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Management is kind. Co workers are very kind.

    Cons

    They do not care about their employees. Poor quality. Low pay for big responsibilities. Pay cuts. They are VERY unprofessional.

    Map Communications Response

    May 4, 2017 – Senior Vice President

    I am sorry you feel that we don't care about our employees because that is certainly not true. We sincerely care about our employees and we have never in our history cut pays.

     I would be eager... More


  9. "Lots of Opportunities For Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Map Communications full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    If you work hard, it will show and you will have opportunities for growth within the company. Promotes from within. The company is expanding, offering more opportunities for growth than before. Every employee is automatically enrolled in the Employee Stock Ownership Plan (Basically free money towards retirement when the company does well...and there hasn't been a year since I began working that the company has not done well)

    Cons

    The call center environment can be a bit stressful, but it is worth it!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!


  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great Pay, Great way to gain experience,

    Cons

    Drama, Rude Floor Manager, Strict Attendance Policy


Showing 29 of 29 reviews
Reset Filters