MembersFirst Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2017

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
84%
Recommend to a Friend
MembersFirst President Ryan Maione  (no image)
Ryan Maione
0 Rating
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    People and Clients First - not just a tagline here

    Oct 10, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Wayland, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Plain and simple they have a truly great and authentic culture and their clients can feel it with every interaction. They are the class of the industry because they listen to and support their employees. All departments pulling in the same direction.

    Cons

    Office location isn't great if you don't have a car. The building doesn't have a recycling program in place but the MembersFirst employees pitch in and do it themselves - another sign of their engagement.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Genuine People, Professional Growth, and Free Snacks

    Dec 16, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Wayland, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Because of its size there is opportunity to have real influence in the business and to affect clients in a meaningful way. Expanding services and growing clientele means opportunities for vertical growth. Many departments offer flextime and also a flexible time-off policy. Managers are professional but friendly and easy to talk to. I've worked with some of the best managers of my career there. Diverse workplace; multiethnic, male/female, gay/straight, Christian/Jewish/Muslim/Atheist, younger/older; and everyone gets along great. Any bad apples get cut from the tree sooner or later, and usually sooner. Company softball team and other team-building outings. Staff genuinely care about the clients, which is really refreshing compared to other agencies I've worked at. Unlimited snacks and freshly ground coffee.

    Cons

    Salaries are less competitive compared to some downtown agencies, but this needs to be weighed against other perks (influence, flextime, etc) Startup environment could be pro or con depending on your energy level, ambition, and ability to communicate what workload you are comfortable with, or when there are projects you don't want to be involved in or can't take on. Dental benefits are confusing and a bit inconvenient. Like any company, interdepartmental communication isn't operating at 100%, but I think it's improving.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    MembersFirst Response

    Marketing Manager

    Thanks for your feedback! It's rewarding to hear our efforts to build a strong and supportive company culture are paying off!

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    The most fun I've ever had at work

    Dec 15, 2014 - Senior Account Manager, Team Lead in Wayland, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been employed by MembersFirst for over 7 years and I have no reason to move on or look elsewhere for another job. This company is a blast to work for and the people here are amazing. If it wasn't for the fun atmosphere of the company I would have left a long time ago. If you are a boring person that cannot laugh and work in the same day you might want to look elsewhere. Every other week the company provides lunch to the entire staff and someone makes a presentation on industry topics. It's a great break from the regular work schedule.

    Cons

    The snacks are too good, I've gained 10 pounds in the past two months.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    MembersFirst Response

    Marketing Manager

    Thanks for the feedback! Glad to hear you're enjoying our biweekly Lunch n Learn sessions. Regarding the 10lbs... we might have to look into stocking healthier snacks!

  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Perfect place to learn about the industry and your job role!

    Aug 28, 2015 - Training Specialist in Wayland, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked at MembersFIrst for almost four of the greatest years of my life. I grew within the company and learned more than I could imagine about the industry. AMAZING working environment, lots of opportunity, great management, excellent benefits and fair pay. Strong company ethnics and a fantastic culture within the company. Free snacks & coffee and the flexibility to work at home if needed. It's perfect place to learn about the industry and your job role!

    Cons

    Every group/division can be different in how they treat their employees, but I'd say overall there is a great atmosphere of trust and fairness.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    MembersFirst Response

    Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and wish you the best of luck in your career post-MembersFirst. :-)

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great team, great opportunity to learn

    Mar 14, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The team is outstanding. Each department has it's day to day, but there's not many days that you aren't collaborating with every team in the company. There's a great mix of seasoned industry vets, and young blood to keep pushing the overall product forward. I left the company for a short time, thinking I was moving into a better spot, but came back because this company is one that truly cares about it's staff. In terms of learning, there's plenty of opportunity across the board, and every team is willing to cross train.

    Cons

    The product offering is huge, so bringing things to current tech is a slow process.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    MembersFirst is like one big family...

    Dec 16, 2014 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked with MembersFirst for almost 10 years and couldn't be happier. The company treats employees like family. They are extremely fair and generous with time off and salary... and have really fun company outings! They also treat our customers with respect, survey them for feedback and support new product initiatives.

    Cons

    The only con for me is I live too far from the corporate office... however, there has never been an issue with working from home.

    1 person found this review helpful

    MembersFirst Response

    Marketing Manager

    Thanks! We feel the same way about you and the rest of the team too! Looking forward to our next outing so we can see you and the other remote employees in person soon.

  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Frustrating Mismanaged Disaster, Mean-Spirited Employees

    Sep 8, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Wayland, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There aren't any good reasons to work here because it's a frustrating place that I wish I had never heard of. The only pro about this place was leaving for another job.

    Cons

    You will be subjected to high school antics and immature jokes being pulled behind your back. If you're any good at what you do, you will be forced to do all the work while your coworkers waste time and make excuses. In all my career I've never experienced a place as dysfunctional as this one was.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    MembersFirst Response

    Marketing Manager

    It's saddening to hear this former employee didn't get along with anyone on her team, as had we been aware beforehand, we could have helped address her concerns by relocating her to a quieter area, improved communication with her colleagues, and clarified how we were dividing the work up amongst them. While we would have appreciated the opportunity to put these things in place, these kinds of actions wouldn't have changed the ultimate outcome for this former employee. We're a no-drama workplace but we still like to have fun. In the past 5+ years, the only things I've ever seen "thrown" were foam darts from the rare nerf battle, or a stray foam golf ball from the put-put area. Doors do sometimes close loudly but never slammed on purpose (as is the nature of heavy doors), and we do have moments where all our account managers are on the phones concurrently. That said, most of the time the office is whisper quiet, and I've yet to hear any angry shouting. Our vastly different perceptions of the same environment is evidence that not everyone ends up being a great fit here, but those who do will find much to like about it.

  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Not Impressed

    Jun 30, 2015 - Senior Account Executive in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice Company Culture Initially but hard to break into millenial crowd if older. Felt like the was subtle age discrimination going on at several levels of the company.

    Cons

    Company is unstable and changing management constantly. Too many chiefs, not enough leadership. They do not know what they want or what their customers really want. Desperate for revenue which leads to por management decisions.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    MembersFirst Response

    Marketing Manager

    Despite the review claiming to be from a current employee, it is not; we don't have any staff with the title "Account Executive" and haven't had a single change in management at *any* level in over a year. Furthermore, our company is stable and profitable. As far as the claims of age discrimination, a visit to the Team page on our site speaks for itself. It's clear from the diverse makeup of our vital team members that we don't discriminate against age, gender, or race; only poor performance. It's unfortunate this former employee had a negative experience with us a few years ago, but it's not an experience shared by the team today.

  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great!

    Oct 17, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and professional development.

    Cons

    Small niche company with antiquated software. Although that has probably changed.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Fun Environment, Nice People

    Oct 21, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Laid back work environment with a group of hard-working and fun people. I looked forward going into work (which wasn't the case with other jobs).

    Cons

    The software isn't that great. The design and UX needs some serious updating.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

Work at MembersFirst? Share Your Experiences

MembersFirst logo
or