Mercy College Reviews | Glassdoor

Mercy College Reviews

Updated Apr 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 98 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Timothy Hall
47 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The common problem across academia--dependence on too many adjuncts who need better compensation(in 7 reviews)

  • "No room for professional development & low pay even with higher degree(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great jobs beside studying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Attendant in Dobbs Ferry, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at Mercy College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Some positions will allow you to balance work and studying. - Great atmosphere

    Cons

    Most positions for students offer minimum wage

    Mercy College2019-04-30
  2. "Amazing Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director of Student Accounts in Dobbs Ferry, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mercy College full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I started working at Mercy College in January 2019 and from day 1 I knew I made the right decision accepting the job offer. I’m an Associate Director, my Director is one of the 2 best supervisors I have ever had. She is supportive both on a professional and personal level. The rest of the staff works incredibly hard and has a desire to learn. I will be here for a long time.

    Cons

    Due to lack of parking, two months a year non-union staff park off campus and have to take a shuttle. It’s not that bad, just stinks when you hit traffic. Also, entry level salaries should increase once someone gets a MA degree as an incentive to stop high turn over in entry level positions.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!!

    Mercy College2019-03-02
  3. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Adjunct Faculty 
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mercy College part-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Small classes, many locations, nice students

      Cons

      average pay, more professional development

      Advice to Management

      offer more professional development

      Mercy College2019-02-21
    • "Excellent place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Adjunct Professor in Bronx, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mercy College part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The students are motivated and eager to learn. Additionally, the administration is quite helpful and always communicative.

      Cons

      I cannot think of any. I have greatly enjoyed my time.

      Mercy College2019-02-19
    • Helpful (1)

      "Internal Admissions Recruiter"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Mercy College

        Pros

        Steady schedule, holidays off, and non-challenging duties

        Cons

        Rapid change in authoritative figures due to huge turnover, no room for growth, noncompetitive pay

        Advice to Management

        Better on-boarding procedures, competitive pay and bonuses need, and equal fairness for room up the corporate ladder

        Mercy College2018-12-13
      • "Tutor"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Tutor in New York, NY
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Mercy College part-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        time flexibility. You choose whichever is better for you

        Cons

        salary would be same forever. No promotion

        Advice to Management

        Fight for your tutors, even though they are great people

        Mercy College2018-12-07
      • "Graduate Assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Graduate Student in New York, NY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Mercy College part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        This job offers to pay tuition plus stipend for every month so it is a good deal. The graduate assistant can attend some of the board meeting to create the value networking in future. The location working is in Downtown Manhattan 5 blocks from Grand Terminal so super easy to get there by Metro North train.

        Cons

        They did not give you enough access to the school system to dig in more in your task due to confidential policy.

        Mercy College2018-08-28
      • "Administrative Assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dobbs Ferry, NY
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Mercy College full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        President Hall is amazing, really has the schools best interest at heart. Fun events to mingle with other campuses. Fun environment to interact with students.

        Cons

        -lack of communication between departments

        Advice to Management

        Encourage communication throughout all departments to help make everyone's job easier.

        Mercy College2018-08-07
      • "Admissions Recruiter"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Recruiter in Bronx, NY
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Mercy College full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Flexibility and a lot of time off.

        Cons

        High turnover and new ideas are not embraced in admissions. Below average compensation for recruiters.

        Mercy College2018-08-10
      • Helpful (1)

        "Great learning & great people"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - PACT Counselor in Dobbs Ferry, NY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Mercy College full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        I loved Mercy, particularly the can-do spirit of the students and many of the employees. My impression was that it is an institution that is determined to succeed and investing in its own learning as well as that of its students. They're trying a lot of new things, learning from their mistakes and iterating. It is a great place to begin building a career in higher ed. Other pros: -Location, esp. the Dobbs Ferry Campus...

        Show More

        Cons

        -Low pay -Poor communication within and between departments led to avoidable misunderstandings (some of which are showing up in these reviews).

        Advice to Management

        Keep learning and growing! Communicate openly, honestly, and frequently, and hear each other in good faith.

        Mercy College2018-07-23
      Found 98 reviews