Metropolitan Opera Association Reviews | Glassdoor

Metropolitan Opera Association Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
4%
Approve of CEO
Christine F. Hunter
11 Ratings
  1. "An awesome organization to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dev Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metropolitan Opera Association full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Tickets, opera, part of a great global team

    Cons

    Low salary, and silo's, and insular top management

    Advice to Management

    Listen , listen more. The only thing permanent is change

    Metropolitan Opera Association2018-05-23
  2. "Nice workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Extra Chorus 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Metropolitan Opera Association part-time

    Pros

    Work with great artists and on a great stage.

    Cons

    Only contracted for a few shows a year, and the shows make it hard to find another job to help support living in NYC while we are here.

    Metropolitan Opera Association2019-04-24
  3. "Metropolitan Opera Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Metropolitan Opera Association part-time

    Pros

    Work with one of the best opera houses in the world. The flexibility was great.

    Cons

    The hourly pay was low ($12 per hour).

    Metropolitan Opera Association2019-02-01
  4. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Metropolitan Opera Association full-time

    Pros

    Good team to work with

    Cons

    Office Politics and not much room to grow

    Metropolitan Opera Association2018-06-26
  5. "overall great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Musician in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Metropolitan Opera Association full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with who want the art form to thrive, good benefit

    Cons

    could have more transparency in terms of management

    Metropolitan Opera Association2018-04-27
  6. "Favorite Place I've Ever Worked. Also not Perfect."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Metropolitan Opera Association part-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Largest live art producing organization in the world. Free opera tix. Great cafeteria where the stage hands and admins mingle with the orchestra and singers. Walking to work through Lincoln Center is a dream. Feeling part of something bigger.

      Cons

      The Met has been slower to learn the professionalism of other industries in term of interpersonal relationships between departments and employees. People can avoid confrontation and then be back biting. This can delay or prevent innovation. This situation is vastly improved though over the 8 years I've worked there.

      Advice to Management

      Continue to increase transparency and positivity in the workplace. Work for more of a team environment between departments.

      Metropolitan Opera Association2018-04-20
    • "Hard to advance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Metropolitan Opera Association full-time

        Pros

        Awesome environment, great staff relationships

        Cons

        Little to no room for advancement, pay is pennies

        Advice to Management

        Pay your employees livable salaries

        Metropolitan Opera Association2018-03-21
      • "Overall good experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Metropolitan Opera Association

          Pros

          genuine people, top-tier performing arts org.

          Cons

          idiosyncratic workflow, very segregated departments.

          Metropolitan Opera Association2017-11-12
        • "Sales Associate"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook

          I worked at Metropolitan Opera Association part-time

          Pros

          Great people, great institution to be involved with, realistic and supportive management

          Cons

          Hours available and rate of pay not great

          Metropolitan Opera Association2017-09-29
        • Helpful (1)

          "80 hours a week"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Stagehand in New York, NY

          I worked at Metropolitan Opera Association full-time for more than 9 years

          Pros

          The money is good if you're single and don't have to work about work/life balance.

          Cons

          In order to make good money you have to work an immense amount of overtime and you're family/personal life will cripple because of it.

          Metropolitan Opera Association2017-08-21
        Found 40 reviews