KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Micro Center

Engaged Employer

Micro Center

Add a Review

Micro Center Reviews

Updated May 23, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,069 of over 1,083 reviews

3.5
59%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Micro Center President & CEO     Richard M. Mershad (no image)
Richard M. Mershad
405 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Micro Center and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Fun place to work

    Apr 19, 2022 - Customer Service Representative (CSR) in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very fun place to work if you love technology. Easy to get used to transaction process and customer service

    Cons

    They really want you to be on top of your game in asking for a customers info.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Micro Center Response

    Sr HR Generalist

    Thank you for leaving your review and for your years of service with our Houston location. It means a lot to us that our associates have a positive experience with Micro Center. Thank you! Brian Sr HR, Home Office

  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great in the beginning

    May 23, 2022 - PC Technician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Good co-workers -Amazing Training -Good employee discount

    Cons

    - Constant harassment form Customers -Heavily incentives to up-sale useless products -Never have time to fix/build anything because your a secretary/salesman first then technician

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work!

    May 23, 2022 - Build Technician in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great environment. Everyone wants to see you succeed. Sales roles can be very well-paying. One of the best retail workplaces.

    Cons

    Not extremely flexible with full-time student schedules. Of course, this is a full-time retail position, so this is to be expected. If you are younger and/or in school, be prepared to commit your weekends to this job, especially in the Service department.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Best Retail Job

    May 19, 2022 - Front End Lead in Duluth, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible schedule. Health benefits with no probationary period.

    Cons

    Long retail hours especially during holidays

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Micro Center Response

    Sr HR Generalist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We're glad that you had a great experience and wish you success in your future endeavors! Brian Sr HR, Home Office

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Nice Place to Work

    May 16, 2022 - Customer Service Representative in Sharonville, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pay is good and the managers are nice.

    Cons

    Scheduling takes a very long long time

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Micro Center Response

    Sr HR Generalist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and for your service with our Sharonville location. We appreciate the feedback that you've shared. We are always working to do what is best for our associates and customers and value input from our associates. Thank you! Brian Sr HR, Home Office

  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Decent place for someone tech savvy to get sales experience.

    May 16, 2022 - Sales Representative in Tustin, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Chill work environment, you keep busy when not dealing with customers. You will have to sell service plans to make anything other than the minimum but it's not hard to get at least a few within a pay period.

    Cons

    Managers are usually pretty persistent about their employees selling attachments (ms office, eset anti-virus and service plans). This can be stressful if your not getting many of these attachments on your sales and If your working in a higher department maybe even a demotion, but this would be pretty hard as even some of the worst sales guys in my department would still do ok for themselves. This will vary depending on the manager, my original manager was pretty chill and realistic with meeting quotas for attachments whereas the new manager was very pushy and wouldn't shut up about selling attachments. Pray your manager isn't the type to give you the impression that this job is the most important moment in your life and everything you do is crucial to your sucess.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Micro Center Response

    Sr HR Generalist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and for your service with our Tustin location. We're glad that you had a good experience with our company appreciate the feedback that you've shared. Best of success in your future endeavors! Brian Sr HR, Home Office

  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Alright

    May 16, 2022 - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Coworkers were good people and it also had a decent commission rate.

    Cons

    Standing a lot, It's retail.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Micro Center Response

    Sr HR Generalist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We wish you success! Brian Sr HR, Home Office

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great place to work

    May 14, 2022 - Sales Associate in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay is great for sales environment

    Cons

    Never knowing what your paycheck will be like every 2 weeks.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Micro Center Response

    VP-Human Resources

    We truly appreciate the "5 Star Review" and wish you continued success with our Company. Angie Miller

  9. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good starter job if you're into tech

    May 14, 2022 - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Paid Time Off Good employee discounts Likeminded co-workers

    Cons

    Non set schedule Heavy customer traffic

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Micro Center Response

    VP-Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. As a retail organization with a focus on customers, our schedules do vary based upon customer needs. We are happy to hear you are taking advantage of the knowledge sharing among associates as well as your discount!☺

  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Decent Depending On Boss

    May 12, 2022 - Customer Service Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers Good Atmosphere Decent Discounts on Products

    Cons

    Overly Focused on Metrics Out of Touch with customer base VERY stringeent policies

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Micro Center Response

    VP-Human Resources

    Thank you for the great review! Our goal is to make sure each customer leaves our store with everything they need and we count on our front end to ensure that happens by asking our customers. We're happy to hear you are enjoying your time and encourage you to reach out to your Regional HR Manager or local leadership team if you have suggestions or questions. Angie Miller VP-HR

Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,069 Reviews

Micro Center Reviews FAQs

Micro Center has an overall rating of 3.5 out of 5, based on over 1,083 reviews left anonymously by employees. 59% of employees would recommend working at Micro Center to a friend and 49% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Micro Center employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.4 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Micro Center. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

59% of Micro Center employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Micro Center 3.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.6 for culture and values and 3.1 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Micro Center to be career development, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be culture, management, compensation.

Popular Careers with Micro Center Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Micro Center? Share Your Experiences

or

Micro Center Photos

+ Add Photo
Micro Center photo of: Micro Center at 6 minutes drive to the south of Meredith G. Davis, DDS
Micro Center photo of: microcenter
Micro Center photo of: Microcenter Store
Micro Center photo of: Outside
Micro Center photo of: Apple Dept
Micro Center photo of: Customers
Micro Center photo of: HP Store inside Microcenter
See All Photos