Micro Center Reviews | Glassdoor

Micro Center Reviews

Updated July 21, 2017
451 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Richard M. Mershad
168 Ratings

451 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Employee discount, atmosphere and training (in 62 reviews)

  • Furthermore, our company respects a work/life balance, which is extremely uncommon in retail (in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • Numbers focus takes away from customer service (in 14 reviews)

  • Long hours, Open on most Holidays (in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Good pay for retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Sales in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Center full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Privately owned. Exciting technology and people that care about it. You get to be around some of the best consumer technology on the market.

    Cons

    Culture could be more professional. Gaming culture definitely steers the social environment. Hard to get things around the store fixed/replaced.

    Advice to Management

    Create an HR position at the store level.


  2. "General Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GSA in Overland Park, KS
    Current Employee - GSA in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Center full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Benefits are great
    Management is nice
    Co workers are helpful
    Atmosphere
    Schedule flexibility

    Cons

    Numbers focus takes away from customer service

    Truck takes away from important tasks and focus on the customer.

    Advice to Management

    Find a balance between customers talked to per hour and actual customer service.

  3. "Not bad of a place to start out, but don't expect a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Technician in Rockville, MD
    Former Employee - Service Technician in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Micro Center full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Fast paced.
    - Managers are generally friendly.
    - Coworkers are friendly.
    - Learn as you go, hands on with everything.
    - Learn how to multi-task, ticketing system, customer service skills, taking apart laptops and desktops
    - Certifications are paid for once you pass the test.

    Cons

    - Managers are two faced at times.
    - Repetitive work after 3 months.
    - Pay is not competitive.
    - You have to put in a lot of effort to make extra commission.
    - Co-workers slack off and you can't do anything about it. Management doesn't do anything either.
    - Certifications can only be paid for if it is Micro Center related. No MCSA or CCNA Certs that the will pay for.

    Advice to Management

    If you want to keep technicians, raise the $/hr

    Micro Center Response

    Jun 19, 2017 – VP-Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I'd like to learn more about the shop and your concerns about your pay. Please call me at 614-850-3150. Thanks, Angie Miller VP-HR


  4. "Responsible for providing customers with a complete computer solution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Systems Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Center full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I'm in control of how much I earn. Have an opportunity to earn more than my managers and everyone is very knowledgeable about tech.

    Cons

    I'm not in control of foot traffic. The location isn't the best. If more people new about the place it would increase sales for everyone.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your associates because all locations are different. What works in Ohio may not work in New York. When employees earn more they perform a lot better

    Micro Center Response

    Jun 12, 2017 – VP-Human Resources

    We are working on ways to increase our traffic so that everybody including customers benefit from our knowledge and solutions. Thanks for your thoughts.


  5. "Knowledge Bar technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Knowledge Expert in Yonkers, NY
    Current Employee - Knowledge Expert in Yonkers, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Center full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Working at the Knowledge Bar at Microcenter helped grow my technical skills and ability. The people you work with are often very chill people in terms of your coworkers.

    Cons

    Management is the worst I've ever dealt with. Its all about favorites and politics. Management is always trying to throw each other under the boss which also drags employees into the drama. The pay is a fight to the death and you must earn it by threatening to quit.

    Advice to Management

    Management should be more concerned with improving the profitability of the company and improving employee moral as opposed to running the place into the ground.

    Micro Center Response

    Jun 12, 2017 – VP-Human Resources

    We appreciate your thoughts and will be in your store soon to discuss associate concerns and how we can resolve the issues. Thanks, Angie Miller VP-HR


  6. "Nice place to work if you are a student and need an extra cash"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk in Fairfax, VA
    Former Employee - Front Desk in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Micro Center part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Amazing place for tech geeks

    Cons

    I haven't seen any cons

    Micro Center Response

    May 1, 2017 – VP-Human Resources

    Thank you for the kind words and please keep up the good work! Sincerely, Angie Miller


  7. "Good business model in a tough location in Santa Clara"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Santa Clara, CA
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Santa Clara, CA

    I worked at Micro Center full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    knowledgeable sales people. way better than Fry's
    stable workforce, way better than Fry's
    investment in training
    free classes and tech support for customers
    good location in Mercado Center on 101
    competitive prices with Fry's, Best Buy, etc.
    Would give 5 stars for the business model.
    Would give 5 stars for the regional manager that came in to help occasionally.
    Yelp reviews reflect the occasional bad experience but a generally loyal customer base

    Cons

    Tough to compete with so many Fry's stores in the area
    Advertised by mailers and not tv or radio
    Therefore low visibility. So many people had never heard of MicroCenter
    Often ran out of inventory of advertised specials, disappointing customers
    Vicious cycle of low visibility, low demand, limited supply, disappointed customers
    Expensive lease at Mercado Center that they were unable to renegotiate.
    Low sales + expensive lease = poorest performing store in the chain.
    Some managers were good, but some managers were very bad. No news there.
    But when your model is investing in your sales staff, bad managers driving away good people was disastrous. And because MicroCenter is a small chain, spread out around the country, the company found it impossible to get good managers from other locations to come in and make improvements at the poorest performing store in the chain.
    Would give 1 star for some of the managers.
    Would give 1 star for the inventory management from home office that disappointed customers for so many years.

    Advice to Management

    Try again in Silicon Valley.

    Micro Center Response

    Apr 24, 2017 – VP-Human Resources

    We are interested in learning more about your post and the timing as it's been several years since we had the location in Santa Clara. Please call me at 614-850-3150 to talk further about any recent... More

  8. "Front End Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Supervisor in Marietta, GA
    Current Employee - Front End Supervisor in Marietta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Center full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Employees, management, opportunities for promotions

    Cons

    Pay, management, customer issues, commission

    Micro Center Response

    Mar 23, 2017 – VP-Human Resources

    Please share more details on the Employee Satisfaction Survey that you received yesterday - we appreciate your opinions. Thanks, Angie Miller VP-HR


  9. "General Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Laborer in Columbus, OH
    Former Employee - General Laborer in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Micro Center part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Employee discounts
    Technological knowledge
    Customer service experience

    Cons

    The hours
    Slow customer turnout on most days
    Management

    Micro Center Response

    Mar 23, 2017 – VP-Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback - please feel free to email me with details (ajmiller@microcenter.com) so we can make adjustments where necessary. Thanks, Angie Miller VP-HR


  10. "OK to work there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Fairfax, VA
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Fairfax, VA

    I worked at Micro Center full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Nothing really good to share

    Cons

    Has to stay late night after closing the store

    Advice to Management

    Treat as human

    Micro Center Response

    Mar 28, 2017 – VP-Human Resources

    Please contact me at ajmiller@microcenter.com as I'd like to understand what happened with your employment since you were with us for over 5 years. It sounds like there was an incident that caused... More


Showing 451 of 451 reviews
Reset Filters