Micro Center Reviews | Glassdoor

Micro Center Reviews

Updated September 13, 2018
570 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Richard M. Mershad
219 Ratings

570 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "times have changed and commission based jobs are starting to not pay enough because companies are cheap" (in 17 reviews)

  • "And customer service is fairly easy" (in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "New Hire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting Clerk II in Hilliard, OH
    Current Employee - Accounting Clerk II in Hilliard, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Center full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    MicroCenter is a great company to work for. Their intelligence, training and communication just makes this a great company. The atmosphere is comfortable, peaceful and enjoyable.

    Cons

    Sometimes in the office people tend to be a little to loud. They don't understand the meaning of inside voice. Many people are working and focusing on very important information. It's great to have a comfortable work area at all times. People need to be considerate of others and their jobs.

    Advice to Management

    My advice would be more team building. The team I work for is great with time management and responses. However, it would be great to get to know each other better. We don't always have time to socialize.


  2. "Good Chance for Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Micro Center full-time

    Pros

    Job is not too demanding for most computer literate types and is a great way to learn new skills and obtain certifications for future careers.

    Cons

    Retail work environment means volatile customers and unpleasant hours.

    Micro Center Response

    Sep 10, 2018 – HR Manager

    Thank you for your review of Micro Center! We are glad you are enjoying your position and learning new skills and tech along the way.

  3. "Last company from the good old days"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales
    Former Employee - Sales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Micro Center full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Every employee from each store I met felt like the same culture. Most actually cared about selling the right thing and were knowledgeable in the product.

    Cons

    Outside forces have been threatening their future for a while now, although the company still says it's revenue is growing year over year. There are some toxic people, but all jobs have them.

    Advice to Management

    Most of you have good morals and don't deviate from them, just keep that up.

    Micro Center Response

    Sep 10, 2018 – HR Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share about your 8+ years of experience with Micro Center! We appreciate your feedback as a long-tenured associate, and what a notable experience to see that... More


  4. "Micro Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Micro Center part-time

    Pros

    Micro Center has one of the best staff to work with, they are great people and they give you a chance to succeed in life, Saheed and Nigel are two of the greatest people I’ve ever worked with, they’re just chill and great at their job.

    Cons

    Nothing at all, staff is great.

    Advice to Management

    You guys are the best.

    Micro Center Response

    Sep 4, 2018 – HR Manager

    Thank you for your kind words about our managers and about your employment experience at Micro Center. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us!


  5. "Great place to work and get sales experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Salesman in Tustin, CA
    Former Employee - Systems Salesman in Tustin, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Micro Center full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The job in general is pretty fun and relaxed for the most part. Most of your time will be spent talking to customers and answering questions about product. when you not selling, you either be cleaning your area of responsibility or helping unload truck shipments and putting product on shelves. I think one of the better parts of this job is that its pretty relaxed and not very labor intensive.

    Cons

    There's not too many downsides to working here. There is a big amount of pressure from management to sell their service plans as well as office and eset antivirus whenever selling a computer. This was a bit uncomfortable at first but you get used to it early on and as long as you can do decent they seem to be content with that.

    The last manager was a major con to working there and was a big reason why myself and many others left the store, but he is not working there anymore so i can imagine that it is much better now.

    There will be days where it is completely dead, and you probably will average minimum wage, but that happens at any retail job

    The only other thing that comes to mind is that it is near impossible to get time off during holiday season. Managers are usually pretty considerate and will work with you but you will not get much.

    Micro Center Response

    Sep 4, 2018 – HR Manager

    Thank you for your feedback on your employment experience in our Tustin, CA store. I'm glad you enjoyed the job and would overall recommend Micro Center as a place to work!


  6. "Very kind and reasonable management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Sales Associate in Overland Park, KS
    Former Employee - General Sales Associate in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Micro Center full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very accommodating
    Gives you every chance to succeed

    Cons

    Sometimes you have too much on your plate

    Micro Center Response

    Aug 27, 2018 – HR Manager

    Thanks for your positive review and commentary about your employment experience and our store leaders in our Overland Park location! We are glad you enjoyed your time at Micro Center.


  7. "Good for the most part"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Micro Center full-time

    Pros

    Work is often laid-back and easy
    Optional overtime on weekends
    Bonus after seasonal employment

    Cons

    Work can be tedious and boring
    Little to no room for advancement
    Communication a common problem

    Advice to Management

    Dial back the greediness with production

    Micro Center Response

    Aug 27, 2018 – HR Manager

    Thanks for your recommendation and feedback on your employment experience at Micro Center. It appears you may be referencing work at our Distribution Center given the optional overtime and the... More

  8. "Knowledge advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Yonkers, NY
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Yonkers, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Micro Center (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, friendly employees, friendly managers, great discounts, you get educated while you earn money.

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for promotions, favouritism runs high, and a mans world for the female workers.

    Advice to Management

    Be better at taking care of your employees, listen to them instead of ignoring their needs.

    Micro Center Response

    Sep 10, 2018 – HR Manager

    Thank you for your recommendation and for the time you spent as an employee of Micro Center. I'm glad you had a positive employment experience, though I'm sorry to see that you felt there was... More


  9. "General Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Sales Associate in Westmont, IL
    Current Employee - General Sales Associate in Westmont, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Micro Center part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Good atmosphere
     - Great management
     - Good loyal customers

    Cons

    - The pay is not bad, but not good
     - If you can't sell, don't even bother

    Micro Center Response

    Aug 20, 2018 – HR Manager

    Thanks for your review and feedback, and I'm glad you are enjoying your position in General Sales!


  10. "Merchandising Operations Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hilliard, OH
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hilliard, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Micro Center full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Stable company, consistent work load.

    Cons

    Monotonous work, little room for advancement

    Micro Center Response

    Sep 4, 2018 – HR Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to share about your employment at our corporate office and for the time you spent with us in support of our Merchandising department.


Showing 570 of 572 reviews
Reset Filters