ModSquad Reviews | Glassdoor

ModSquad Reviews

Updated 15 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
ModSquad CEO Amy Pritchard
Amy Pritchard
50 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Very low pay for the work you are doing(in 16 reviews)

  • "No benefits; as expected for independent contracting work(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ModSquad full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, work from home, room for advancement.

    Cons

    Vacation pay for hourly employees - We get none

    Advice to Management

    Keep up what you're doing!

    ModSquad2019-07-24
  2. "Good job when you are in school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Moderator in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ModSquad part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Friendly people -Easy work -Keep to yourself type job

    Cons

    -pay is very low - dont really have enough info yet

    Advice to Management

    I wish the training was more organized.

    ModSquad2019-10-16
  3. "Poorly Run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 

    I worked at ModSquad full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work, remote, professional experience. Good for a quick buck.

    Cons

    The pay, constant turnover, inconsistent work. If you want to move up you have to work like a dog.

    ModSquad2019-10-01
  4. "Not sure yet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service in Sacramento, CA

    I have been working at ModSquad part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work at home flexibility

    Cons

    Not sure yet haven't seen enough

    Advice to Management

    Na

    ModSquad2019-06-08
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Waste of time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Moderator in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ModSquad full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There was good work/personal life separation, that's about it. Remote work if you don't get hired near an operation center.

    Cons

    Potential to lose the majority of your hours at any time without any form of warning, pointless training that leaves new hires confused out of their minds, management plays favorites MAJORLY and those favorites will always get best shifts, etc., No advancement opportunities / raises (never a talk of a raise in the almost 4 years I put in).

    Advice to Management

    Take some time to actually care for your employees, especially those that work in office that you see every single day.

    ModSquad2019-07-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Overall Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at ModSquad part-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    Doesn't have the hours sometimes

    Advice to Management

    Please pay your contractors more than 9 dollars an hour. Having to work hard to make a living with that is tougher than people think

    ModSquad2019-04-21
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Modsquad is a HORRIBLE company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ModSquad part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to pick your own schedule

    Cons

    No job security. Terrible training. And you make take the fall for the bad training. And upper management doesn't care about you.

    Advice to Management

    Require that projects have better training. Most of my projects had terrible training, and then upper management blamed me for mistakes I made when I wasn't even trained well. It wasn't fair.

    ModSquad2019-03-17
  8. Helpful (13)

    "Worst Company I've Ever Worked For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ModSquad full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - The ability to work remotely, so as to avoid the unwashed smell plaguing all MSQ offices

    Cons

    - Terrible pay (near or barely above minimum wage, no raises for mods or low level management) - Horrible benefits (some of the absolute worst plans I've ever seen offered through a company - the "best" plan offered has a $2k deductible before it kicks in!) - Spouts about "company culture" when none actually exists; current employees feel used, unappreciated, overworked, and underpaid for services provided -... Training is minimal, and most of the time you'll be thrown in to sink or swim with little to no support provided; when support is requested, the request is ignored - Success is dependent on who you suck up to, not the quality/effort of your work - The people who have been at the company the longest do the least amount of work; the newer employees are the ones who bust their booties trying to meet the unreasonable expectations set - NO work/life balance at the management level; time off (even a single day per week) is heavily discouraged, unless legally mandated by your state (so they can avoid paying overtime)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    For a company that touts its "expertise" in the social media field, their own social media accounts are astoundingly terrible - check them out for a good laugh & a lesson on what NOT to do!

    ModSquad2019-03-12
  9. Helpful (8)

    "A terrible employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ModSquad full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Remote working is the only benefit

    Cons

    No progression No development of its employees A "who knows who" and suck up sort of culture Zero to none benefits

    Advice to Management

    Hit the reset button

    ModSquad2019-02-27
  10. Helpful (8)

    "You could make more in fast food"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at ModSquad full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Variety of work since you can change to a new project or be on more than one if you want

    Cons

    Extremely low pay (in 5+ years, the company has never given a 'cost of living' increase to their wages, they never give anyone below management a raise) Projects can be pulled out from under you at any time, without warning Lack of communication HR makes you feel incredibly uncomfortable with even the idea of bringing concerns to them The 'who you know' atmosphere is so strong that utterly incompetent... individuals end up in management and stay there for years If you are remotely good at your job, you will be driven into the ground and lose all hope of ever seeing a promotion or a raise or any recognition beyond a verbal 'thanks' and good scores on your QAs (if your project management actually finds the time to complete them) Good PMs are worked just as hard while lazy, embedded ones seem to skate by doing nothing at all The upper management of the company seems obsessed with their outward, public image and sinking more money into it than the mental health and well-being of their employees, but they wonder why so many clients pull the plug (hint: the clients can tell when you treat your employees like crap and they don't want to be a part of that cycle)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Either just give in and go overseas so you can continue to pay pennies or start running it more like a company and less like a gentleman's club. I've seen people from 'mod' level up through 'PM' that deserve promotions and never seen them while they work their butt off for you. At the same time, I've witnessed people who are utterly incompetent, screw up, and break every ethics rule you have (I've taken that... training, I know the rules) remain in the management structure month after month, year after year, making every single employee and 'mod' underneath them feel uncomfortable, miserable, and terrified of speaking up.

    Show More
    ModSquad2019-02-08
Found 88 reviews