NBA Reviews

Updated May 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
65%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
NBA Commissioner Adam Silver (no image)
Adam Silver
83 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Less than ideal work-life balance; very political work environment; lower than adequate salary compared to market equivalent(in 19 reviews)

  • "Sometimes lacking direction, no full time offers(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NBA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get to work on what I want

    Cons

    Not highly developed team yet for what I work in

    NBA2020-04-10
  2. "Strategic place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NBA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A good place to learn how to work with a variety of stakeholders in the sports business

    Cons

    The salary increase is minimal

    NBA2020-05-01
  3. "Great company great perks"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content in Secaucus, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NBA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Perks were great, culture was great

    Cons

    Bad hours/low pay for my job as a statistician

    NBA2020-04-08
  4. "Great company"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Assistant Basketball Coach in New York, NY

    I have been working at NBA full-time

    Pros

    Low stress environment, great team building, lots of road games.

    Cons

    Lockout seasons, selfish players, too much time on the road.

    NBA2020-03-10
  5. "None"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NBA full-time

    Pros

    good benefits, salary, perks, discounts, good workers

    Cons

    awful leadership, not a place i would look to grow

    NBA2020-03-19
  6. "Toxic Culture -- Exec Assistant"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Truck Driver in Secaucus, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NBA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Vacation Time, Volunteer Opportunities, Tickets to concerts in MSG and Barclays a few days out of the year, Discussions with athletes, Employee Resource Groups, Wellness Reimbursement, Tuition Reimbursement

    Cons

    Depending on your department, you may not have access to what the company provides, work from home, events in NYC, etc. Pay is low, very understaffed and bonus structure only allows the average employee to take home $1500, when the higher ups get a higher percentage so they can take him 10k plus as a bonus.

    Continue reading
    NBA2020-01-22
  7. "Great Company in terms of people and benefits.. Pay not so much"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 

    I have been working at NBA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Coworkers are awesome and you definitely get to learn a lot about sports business - Business travel both domestic and international -promotions often happen within the firm healthcare and 401k benefits are good

    Cons

    Salary is much lower compared to counterparts in other fields

    NBA2019-12-06
  8. "Good People"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Associate 

    I worked at NBA full-time

    Pros

    great people events a lot of travel

    Cons

    political environment pay could be better

    NBA2019-11-15
  9. "Good Company, Depends on the department"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Secaucus, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NBA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work Environment, Health Benefits, Paternity/Maternity Leave, Volunteer Opportunities

    Cons

    Not much room for growth, low pay, promotion process promotes favoritism, HR does not promote a fair environment

    Continue reading
    NBA2019-11-01
  10. "NBA Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Independent Contractor in Secaucus, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NBA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, great facilities, good people

    Cons

    Long hours, lots of travel

    NBA2019-10-17
Found 179 reviews
</>Embed