NPR Reviews

Updated May 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
81%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
NPR President and CEO Jarl Mohn
Jarl Mohn
36 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Quite a bit of temporary positions without many opportunities for full-time work(in 17 reviews)

  • " npr's (in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Very good experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NPR full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Supportive colleagues Intern gets to do a lot

    Cons

    Not a lot of chances to stay on--that's it!

    Continue reading
    NPR2020-02-09
  2. "NPR"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Correspondent in Washington, DC

    I have been working at NPR full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great place to work with good benefits

    Cons

    Still has some internal politics, though much improved over the years

    NPR2020-04-29
  3. "Get to know your union rep!"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NPR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The mission and the adrenaline of working in news are great.

    Cons

    But management can play fast and loose with the rules. Make sure you know what you're entitled thanks to the union contract - upgrades for working above your title, overnight pay, meal penalties, parking, etc. Especially if you're temping and struggling to find a way into full-time work - get to know your union rep!

    Continue reading
    NPR2020-05-07
  4. "Love this company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Editor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NPR full-time

    Pros

    mission driven, quality product, concerned with people, honest, truthful, good mentoring opportunities if you seek them out.

    Cons

    not the highest-paying for a broadcast or digital job; it's public radio. little accountability for management

    NPR2020-02-28
  5. "Make sure you ask for money money money"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Producer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NPR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture is great and the people are friendly. There is a lot of dedication to journalism in that place.

    Cons

    Pay is not at great as it should be. There is a lack of innovation with where the company is going and how we are going to get there.

    Continue reading
    NPR2020-02-25
  6. "Strong Pay, Smart Colleagues"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Out Patient Surgery Scheduler in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NPR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the best storytellers in the business

    Cons

    Collaborating across desks can be a challenge; Career growth can be difficult; the news magazines are the primary focus of the network, to the detriment of all other content

    NPR2020-01-24
  7. "Good and safe place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Copmputer Programmer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NPR full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Its mission is the most important reason to work there!

    Cons

    Not a lot of growing opportunities

    NPR2020-01-28
  8. "good company to work for!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Specialist in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NPR full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good company to work for!!

    Cons

    very active work place.

    NPR2020-01-02
  9. "Care for their employees"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NPR full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good place to work, company care about employees feedback.

    Cons

    Traffic in Washington DC and 24/7 operation.

    Continue reading
    NPR2019-12-27
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Painful to see a great mission have such a toxic environment"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NPR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Talented staff Amazing content Meaningful mission Tiny Desk concerts

    Cons

    The most toxic work environment I've ever been in Total lack of transparency No accountability for senior leadership Hostile environment for people of color Rampant abuse of power

    Continue reading
    NPR2019-11-21
Viewing 1 - 10 of 138 Reviews
</>Embed