Oberto Snacks Reviews | Glassdoor

Oberto Snacks Reviews

Updated May 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 49 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Oberto Snacks CEO Tom Hernquist
Tom Hernquist
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company pays competitive wages and has a great benefits package(in 5 reviews)

  • "There is a new energy with a lot of great products(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Pay is about average but not competitive, perks are very little, so many new people it feels like a disaster happened to this company a year or so ago(in 3 reviews)

  • "The only people not laughing is senior management right now(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Legacy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Kent, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oberto Snacks full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Respectful work environment was promoted by leadership team.

    Cons

    “Overpromising” to huge customers put a ton of pressure on most every department.

    Advice to Management

    Worked full time for nearly 20 years. Employees who worked under Oberto family president Laura were extremely loyal. After the company brought in more experienced leadership from the outside, the company attitude changed dramatically, and Oberto lost a lot of its uniqueness and charm.

    Oberto Snacks2019-05-25
  2. "The people I worked with were nice."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Oberto Snacks full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Diverse workforce, especially in production.

      Cons

      Low pay, never felt like you could advance out of your department.

      Oberto Snacks2018-09-15
    • "Mixed but Positive"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kent, WA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Oberto Snacks full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      The company is going through a transformation but more positive than negative. Specifically...good innovation pipeline...some good new talent especially our lead on US Grocery. Solid CEO who hopefully does the right things to keep the company independent.

      Cons

      Communication could be better & need to keep brining in new talent.

      Advice to Management

      Review your SG&A....very heavy in Finance & HR specifically.

      Oberto Snacks2018-02-28
    • "This company uses an abuses cheap labor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Machine Operator in Kent, WA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Oberto Snacks full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Ok health benefits descant hours an for those from the admin office that do come out an introduce themselves they are nice.

      Cons

      People that have been here 10 to 20 years are still at 13 per hour. If your sick they tell you to stay home to protect contamination . But big surprise you get points against you an they fire you.

      Advice to Management

      Wake up an get enough equipment to run each line correctly. There have been many verbal fights due to people scavenging tables, tape machines ETC to many hours spent searching.

      Oberto Snacks2018-03-14
    • Helpful (3)

      "Director of Sales"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Director of Sales in Kent, WA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Oberto Snacks full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Great products, standard benefits, good 401k, family owned (although they are not really involved day to day).

      Cons

      Fell behind major competitor (market leader by a wide margin) and have never really caught up or kept pace.

      Advice to Management

      Look to be on track with new and innovative products, don't lose sight of what brought Oberto to be a 100 year old company. Treat employees more like (work) family and less like a number with a ($$) liability and they will work harder for the company.

      Oberto Snacks2017-12-26
    • Helpful (2)

      "I regret leaving"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Raw Processor in Kent, WA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Oberto Snacks full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      3rd shift raw processor, descent people to work with

      Cons

      Nothing to mention, everything were positive

      Advice to Management

      Dennis and Steve, keep up the good attitude

      Oberto Snacks2017-12-16
    • "Growing Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kent, WA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Oberto Snacks full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      I have worked for Oberto for a few years and I have seen lots of growth and innovation-it’s been exciting to be part of a growing company. You have to stay focused and positive when times get hard-it will pay off!

      Cons

      Teams need to remember to keep talking to one another!

      Oberto Snacks2017-10-28
    • Helpful (5)

      "Needs a lot of help"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Corporate Employee in Kent, WA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Oberto Snacks full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      The majority of the reviews for Oberto Brands are on either side of the spectrum - either really good or really bad - and nothing really in between. The really good reviews are from the "go-go-go", "rah-rah-rah", senior executives mixing and passing out the kool-aid. The really bad reviews are, well, from the worker-bees in the corporate office whose voices are not heard but on forums such as this. This place needs...

      Show More

      Cons

      The HR department is completely useless and drunk on the kool-aid. How many VPs does one company actually need? Nepotism does exist and really should be eliminated. Playing favorites... if you are not a "yes" person or not willing to sell your sole to stroke the ego of your boss you will not enjoy this place at all.

      Advice to Management

      Unfortunately the existing "management" doesn't listen - look at the last 5 years of reviews - because things are getting worse, not better. I have witnessed many more years within the corporate office and seen this first-hand. Never seen more VPs in a corporate office. Never seen so many people fired. Never seen so much turnover. The accounting department has completely turned over 3 times at least. The finance department...

      Show More
      Oberto Snacks2017-11-20

      Oberto Snacks Response

      December 4, 2017CEO

      Over the last couple of months, there have been a few posts characterizing Oberto as being rife with turnover and favoritism. We sincerely value the feedback we receive on Glassdoor, but I would like to highlight a few things regarding our organization. When I came into the ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (5)

      "If not friends with HR click. You are doomed"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Receptionist in Kent, WA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Oberto Snacks full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Ok pay. Flexible. Good benefits. Schedule is good. Free parking and sometimes free jerky. Some old timers are very kind and sweet.

      Cons

      Turnover is HUGE. Lots of VPs, that just "sit" there. Lots of nepotism. Everyone wonders what exactly so many VPs do.

      Advice to Management

      Too many chiefs, not enough Indians. Check into HR department. Do you ever wonder why you lose so many people?

      Oberto Snacks2017-11-05
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great place to work!!!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kent, WA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Oberto Snacks full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The Company environment and Executives provide a professional "business casual," uplifting and contemporary place to work. There is an open-door policy with all Managers, Supervisors and Executives. I have never been made to feel that my input is unimportant or been denied additional training in order to better learn and prosper in order to contribute in the position hired for.

      Cons

      Parking right now, undergoing a lot of construction and physical changes.

      Advice to Management

      Work on communication between department to department. At times it seems like there a several different companies under one roof.

      Oberto Snacks2017-09-28
    Found 49 reviews