OpenX Reviews | Glassdoor

OpenX Reviews

Updated Sep 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 153 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
OpenX CEO Tim Cadogan
Tim Cadogan
113 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Headquarters in Pasadena, CA (that's a "pro" for me(in 6 reviews)

  • "Career growth and promotion is very slow(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Engineer in Pasadena, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits & competitive salary

    Cons

    Nothing to complain at this moment

    OpenX2019-09-05
  2. Helpful (9)

    "quintessential ad tech company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solutions Architect in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at OpenX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free stuff, good health insurance, good pay, smart co workers, video games, tons of food.

    Cons

    As soon as I started I saw a series of layoffs. I was soon laid off myself.

    Advice to Management

    Don't hire people if there's a chance they'll be laid off within a year due to downsizing.

    OpenX2019-07-02
  3. "Overall a decent mid size company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OpenX full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company has very good new employee onboard process. The culture is great. The upper management cares about employee and their career development. Adoption of new technology is fast.

    Cons

    The product lack direction. Innovation is very limited.

    OpenX2019-07-12
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Poor integrity. No loyalty. Limited capabilities."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OpenX full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Finally they sunset that clunky ad server!

    Cons

    Executives dangle the untenable prospect of large bonuses to overcome recruiting challenges. Products don't deliver on promise of value. Unstable, perpetual state of re-organization with routine rounds of hiring and firings. Culture of "what have you done for me lately?"

    Advice to Management

    Before dispensing any advice, tell me what you've done for me lately.

    OpenX2019-08-08
  5. "Great so far..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pasadena, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice building, startup type perks, great pay and smart people. The company seems to really care about their employees and everyone is treated pretty well. The management team is quick/nimble and are also not afraid to take risks and innovate which is rare in this space.

    Cons

    Pasadena. I mean it only takes 30-40 minutes to commute in from the west side, but….Pasadena. Despite my initial hesitation I’ve grown to like this town.

    Advice to Management

    Some departments seem a little low energy and could use a little jolt.

    OpenX2019-06-13
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Clueless exec team heading in the wrong direction."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Pasadena, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OpenX full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people are leaving because this place is betting on an internet identity solution that will compete against DSPs and loose.

    Cons

    They have the highest fees of any ad exchange and they can't stomach lowering them. They don't know the demand business at all.

    Advice to Management

    Fire the exec team and get a new one

    OpenX2019-07-05
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at OpenX full-time

    Pros

    good working environment and salary

    Cons

    work from home is not available

    OpenX2019-05-14
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Nice Environment and Interesting Problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Pasadena, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenX full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They try to hire talented people who are enjoyable to work with. The problems to tackle are big, so keeps it interesting. Full stack, big data, high throughput, low latency, scalable, distributed Amenable to new technologies, cutting edge, not stuck in a rut. Good benefits and atmosphere, unlimited vacation, catered lunches, PPO, 401k/match, etc, flexible schedules

    Cons

    AdTech in general is very volatile, so things change rapidly. Often, you might start a project but it gets canceled halfway through due to market changes. This can be frustrating. Volatility also adds long term stability questions. Internet companies typically have high turnover, and OpenX is no different.

    Advice to Management

    continue to focus on employees as the core asset

    OpenX2019-05-01
  9. "Amazing Experience with Ad Tech Innovator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Development Manager in Pasadena, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OpenX full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Superior culture, camaraderie. Catered lunches, company mingles, Focus on teamwork and strategy.

    Cons

    Complacent in regards to product offering. Competition first to market, engineering constantly behind the 8-ball. Lack of career advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Be proactive vs. reactive. Focus on retention, provide clear path for advancement to employees. Invest in your staff in the form of competitive salary.

    OpenX2019-04-23
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Was good until it was not"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OpenX full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great team collaboration , nice office

    Cons

    Favoritism, some advance and more deserving employees are passed up for promotions

    Advice to Management

    Bring in high performing C-level executives

    OpenX2019-03-21
Found 153 reviews