PROTON Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

PROTON Reviews

Updated Feb 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
PROTON Executive Chairman Dato’ Sri Haji Mohd Khamil Bin Jamil (no image)
Dato’ Sri Haji Mohd Khamil Bin Jamil
17 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Family owner company with lots of room to grow. Overall, it was a positive experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PROTON

    Pros

    Office, access to gym, free lunch

    Cons

    Constant change, owner always away

    PROTON2016-08-13
  2. "Punctuality is crucial"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Executive in Subang Jaya, Selangor Darul Ehsan
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at PROTON full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free parking, meal subsidy, free gym facility, events and activities for bonding

    Cons

    Rigid working hours. Must arrive at 8am sharp. If you arrived at 8:01am, you have to do a written justification to the supervisor why you're late. Also, in other departments, some bosses require you to arrive at 7.30am and bosses yelling at staff is common (not my dept).

    Continue reading
    PROTON2020-02-04
  3. "Good place to work with low salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Tanjung Malim
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PROTON full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good opportunity to improve technical & management skills. English competency highly appreciated & easy to get recognized & promoted.

    Cons

    Some pesimist senior managers never appreciate young talents and support fresh new ideas for continues improvements especially sending their employees for training. Less managers have english competency & technical skills.

    Continue reading
    PROTON2019-08-28
  4. "Too Bureaucratic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Section Manager in Shah Alam
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PROTON full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good support within same division.

    Cons

    No clear direction from top management.

    Continue reading
    PROTON2019-05-05
  5. "Company salary and management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Development Engineer 

    I have been working at PROTON full-time

    Pros

    Good place to learn r&d on automotive

    Cons

    Bad management, poor salary increment

    PROTON2019-04-10
  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Kuala Lumpur
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PROTON full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work and the management is easy to approach

    Cons

    nothing i can think of, overall good.

    Continue reading
    PROTON2019-03-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good experience, tough workload, slow increments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design and Development Engineer in Shah Alam
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PROTON full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As for me, working in a good environment in Proton is one of the good benefit. The engineer is quite helpful and positive if asking on technical side. Know to deal with everyone is the good part.

    Cons

    However, abundant workload is too much. Engineer should do most of work regarding quality support, production line support in terms of design specs. Also, support any technical thingy for procurement and pmo side. The problem is that not enough staff to support on the workload. Increment and bonus is slow. Management too slow to upgrade the engineer grade.

    Continue reading
    PROTON2019-03-15
  8. "Understaffed, overbossed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern in Shah Alam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PROTON full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Engineers are very hardworking and dedicated

    Cons

    Too many bosses, too little engineers. They have to report to many bosses.

    Continue reading
    PROTON2019-03-08
  9. "IT Department Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Subang Jaya, Selangor Darul Ehsan
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PROTON full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    -Work-life balance -Great team spirit -Family-like relationship with team members

    Cons

    -Incompetitive salary -Hard to grow -Limited resources

    PROTON2019-02-07
  10. "Good learning ground"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Kuala Lumpur
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PROTON full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary and exposure to industry

    Cons

    Conservative and require more focus

    Continue reading
    PROTON2018-12-03

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 48 reviews