PatSnap Reviews | Glassdoor

PatSnap Reviews

Updated Feb 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
79%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
PatSnap CEO Jeffrey Tiong (no image)
Jeffrey Tiong
103 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Growing pains of a Mid-sized SaaS business - process(in 8 reviews)

  • "I guess maybe all hyper growth startup experienced this(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (10)

    "Great colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PatSnap full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have been working for PatSnap for quite many years. When I just joined, there was a handful of employees and now we have more than 700 employees worldwide. I had the privilege to see fast expansion and I got the opportunity to work on different teams and tried different roles. Over the past few years I learned quite a lot from many of my colleagues we recruited, who have great backgrounds & excellent credentials.

    Cons

    as a startup company, the company built everything from scratch, from no processes to an organized organization. We pretty much started working together by instincts, but when company is getting bigger we need to introduce more processes and procedures. Glad to see that we are working hard to set up many processes.

    PatSnap2019-08-29
  2. Helpful (17)

    "So much promise..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PatSnap full-time

    Pros

    I watched this company grow at a very fast pace. It had great talent, vision, hungry leaders and the ability to execute sales acquisition consistently. That was a recipe for success and the funding rounds that followed validated it. The success quickly faded away year-by-year as the CEO had no real clue on how to run a multi-national company and desperately turned to hiring VP's and MD's from companies who did not understand the culture nor have alignment with the existing senior management team. Once he hired them he did not have the competency or courage to try and manage them.

    Cons

    The CEO became complacent in the last 2.5 years - there is some correlation here... once he and the founders quietly cashed out on their stock the company tumbled dramatically. Continuously preaching about the market size and opportunity is not going to hide the fact that you clearly checked-out some time ago and now you don't know what to do. The current culture is toxic throughout the entire company. In London they have more than halved their headcount - Toronto can't even close a single new business deal and LA is moving backwards. The Chinese operation needs a whole glassdoor review itself because nobody actually knows what they do and how much they contribute to the overall business but many errors were also made there that have been swept under the carpet. When is the CEO going to take responsibility for any of these errors? Why has he not learnt from his previous mistakes? every week a mixture of senior VP's and junior staff members are leaving. I don't foresee it stopping. The CEO has presented his life story maybe 30 times to the entire company hoping this will do something to change the culture and business trajectory - Not really sure what to say about that anymore as he has tried it so many times it's almost as if he is forgetting that he is doing it. I urge staff to stop being pressured into writing fake reviews on here to cover up the catastrophe of errors and mistakes made. If this company is to survive it needs complete new management and the CEO and founders must step aside.

    Continue reading
    PatSnap2019-06-17
  3. Helpful (20)

    "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDR in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PatSnap full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    PatSnap is a great company to work for. They are the most supporting company I have ever worked for. You have a chance to be part of a company that is making a difference worldwide. The company CARES about its employees. Whether it is professional or personal struggles, the company wants to support you. They genuinely care about your success & well-being. If you need help - ask and you will receive. The new leaders in the Santa Monica location will set the office up for success in 2019. It will be exciting to watch the company grow. The HR manager will bend over backward to help her employees. The office is lucky to have her. Work hard, follow directions, have a good attitude and you will have a great career at PatSnap. Also - amazing benefits & perks!!!

    Cons

    The company has gone through growing pains within the last year and has made a few mistakes a long the way. They have learned from their mistakes, asked for employee's advice and have made a large effort to do whats best for the company & its employees. It is normal of a start-up to experience growing pains and the company will grow stronger because of the hurdles. It is a hustle & a hard industry to understand. Put in the effort to learn the industry/strategies and you will succeed.

    PatSnap2019-01-09

    PatSnap Response

    January 15, 2019Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We do endeavor to support and develop each and every one of our employees, so I'm pleased to hear that you're having such a positive experience working for us. Thank you for all of your hard work!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (13)

    "Horrible Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SDR in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PatSnap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice office location near the beach.

    Cons

    Literally, everything. This place is toxic and will negatively affect your health.

    Continue reading
    PatSnap2019-03-05
  5. Helpful (13)

    "Good product. Good money."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PatSnap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great product, company is aggressively dedicated to new product development (important when you're in sales). Earning potential is very good, I personally exceeded 1st year OTE. Performance-based culture, no favorites.

    Cons

    Normal growing pains of a midsize SaaS company. Change is frequent, a challenge for those who are not flexible. Not for order-takers, selling here is a challenge and takes real skill (rewarding for those who can do it well though).

    Continue reading
    PatSnap2018-11-20
  6. Helpful (10)

    "Company doesn't invest in your future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SDR in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PatSnap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Location, 50K base salary

    Cons

    inexperienced leadership that over promises, constantly changing compensation plan, and high pressure to reach unrealistic goals.

    Continue reading
    PatSnap2019-01-22
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PatSnap full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good location for the office

    Cons

    Small office for too many people, goals are unrealistic, no marketing strategy, lies from management, no money unless you hit unrealtic goals, management doesn’t have great qualifications, product isn’t needed for large Forbes 500 companies, expected to work OT for no extra pay and lastly no room for growth in the US

    Continue reading
    PatSnap2018-12-18
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Making changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PatSnap full-time

    Pros

    Making the changes needed to go from start up to growth company. Hired great senior executives and are building out the processes that were missing

    Cons

    Still some negative feedback but changing with new teams.

    Continue reading
    PatSnap2018-09-19
  9. Helpful (7)

    "SDR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at PatSnap full-time

    Pros

    Beach, literally, beach. the end

    Cons

    Absolute chaos. It is a Hunger Games in Santa Monica, NO ONE IS SAFE Run! Upper MGMT is chaos

    Continue reading
    PatSnap2018-10-17
  10. Helpful (8)

    "STAY CLEAR OF PATSNAP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PatSnap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The platform is great. Thats honestly it.

    Cons

    -VP makes false promises and lies constantly to keep company alive. -Management doesn't know how to run a company -Sales targets are impossible to hit making it hard to make money. Only a few hit their target. -Company does not care about its employees at all

    Continue reading
    PatSnap2018-07-26

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 143 reviews