Pella Reviews

Updated Jun 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
84%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Growing company that knows what their challenges are but always trying to find a balance between customer satisfaction and employee work life balance(in 31 reviews)

  • "Great working environment, great people to work with, great benefits(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "The super long hours also really hinder having a life outside of work(in 11 reviews)

  • "Work life balance can lean more towards work, but the payoffs can be great(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good values"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pella full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good culture Family activities Community involved Development opportunity Strong upper management

    Cons

    Competitive salary Accountability Speed and agility in decision making and implementation

    Continue reading

    Pella Response

    June 24, 2020Pella Team

    Hello! We’re glad you’re part of the Pella team and thank you for sharing your feedback! We value our continuous improvement culture, so we welcome new ideas on how to improve. We complete an annual competitive market analysis to help ensure our team members receive competitive pay and benefits. We would appreciate hearing any additional thoughts you might have — you can email us at employerbrand@pella.com.

  2. "Great Company full of good people and great culture!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pella full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They offer a great benefits/compensation package as well as flexibility. The people and culture are great. A true work family.

    Cons

    As with any company, change can be slow. However, the current CEO is driving business growth and doing a great job with encouraging quick movement.

    Pella Response

    June 4, 2020Pella Team

    Hello, thanks for your review! We appreciate your feedback and support as we strive toward continuous improvement. We’re happy to have you as part of the Pella team!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place to Work. There is a lot to learn."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trade Sales Representative in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pella full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, you work out if your home and make your own schedule. The initial training is helpful but you end up learning what you need to know from your co-workers and when you’re out in the field. Very little management oversight - you are expected to be a sales professional.

    Cons

    You and your fellow sales reps are all in basically the same territory because there are not definitive boundaries and there is usually a lot of driving involved. You are not only competing with competitors, but also your own teammates for accounts and it can be difficult when your teammates have worked with Pella upwards of 5-10 years.

    Pella Response

    June 11, 2020Pella Team

    Hello, thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback and efforts serving our customers daily. We're proud to provide our sales team with flexibility and marketing support. If you’d like to follow up, please contact us at employerbrand@pella.com.

  4. "Corporate Changes"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Segment Business Manager in Pella, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pella full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Interaction amongst peers was great.

    Cons

    Top Sales Leadership plays favorites - once on her list you do not come off of it.

    Pella Response

    June 30, 2020Pella Team

    Hello, thanks for your feedback and for your efforts during your time with Pella. We believe people form the foundation of our success, and we expect our leaders to empower all our team members and support them to be successful. If you'd like to follow up, please contact us at employerbrand@pella.com.

  5. "Great place to work - Great culture - Excellent Products!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pella full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Last standing window manufacture with a true family oriented culture that can also provide a broad range of products that allow you to serve the market!

    Cons

    If you are looking for a small, agile business environment this might be a challenging environment - very process oriented culture.

    Pella Response

    May 22, 2020Pella Team

    Hello, thanks so much for sharing your experience! Our people, caring culture and commitment to continuous improvement and innovation are what set us apart. We’re grateful you’re part of the Pella team!

  6. "New Management destroyed this company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Pella full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Earning potential and not much else

    Cons

    Bad management, constant compensation changes and never for the better took our company cars away that were essential.

    Continue reading
  7. "Maintenance Technician"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Gresham, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pella full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fun people to work for

    Cons

    Don’t disagree with management they will find a way to fire you

    Continue reading

    Pella Response

    June 25, 2020Pella Team

    Hello, thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry to hear about your experience — it’s certainly not what we’d expect from our team. We're known for our caring culture and high standards of conduct, guided by the Six Pillars of Character: trustworthiness, respect, responsibility, fairness, caring and citizenship. We expect our team to have integrity in all that we do. If you'd like to provide more specific feedback, please email us at employerbrand@pella.com.

  8. "Its a gamble"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Operator 

    I worked at Pella full-time

    Pros

    Friendly co workers, nice vending service

    Cons

    Have employees working with no rotation screaming to hit a timer button while they paid kids to stand around and watch. Ive seen lazy people luck out with simple batch jobs on no timer for great pay and there was people who have great work ethics get stuck with no rotations for weeks on jobs that were tantalizing. And as far as management reviews on here they are a joke, they all have it made in the shade and they NEVER do anything wrong. They didn't even have to lift a finger if someone was struggling, and they couldn't do anything but watch because they didn't even know how to build a window. Got IN THE WAY for the most part. It was to the point where I was pulling frames out of the machine and bouncing them off the ground dragging them across the floor possibly damaging welds and that was okay to management as long as nobody else had to help lift them.

    Pella Response

    June 25, 2020Pella Team

    Hello, thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We’re sorry to hear about your experience because we value and expect a collaborative work environment. We expect our leaders to demonstrate care and concern for others, as well as commitment and accountability. If you're willing to share more specific feedback, email us at employerbrand@pella.com.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "..."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pella full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people who work there.

    Cons

    Lead Quality, No Gas Reimbursement, Constant Price Increases, Confirming appointment process, Compensation.

    Pella Response

    April 3, 2020Writer & Editor

    Hello, thank you for your feedback; we're sorry to hear you were not fully satisfied with your experience at Pella. We value empowering our sales reps and supporting them to be successful with warm leads. We also know the tools and support required to succeed in sales are critical, and we’d like to learn more about your experience. If you’re willing to provide feedback, email us at employerbrand@pella.com.

  10. "Great"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Framer 

    I have been working at Pella full-time

    Pros

    Good to work for. Reasonable. Enjoy to work for

    Cons

    Not necessarily for someone who is afraid of heights

    Pella Response

    February 19, 2020Pella Team

    Hello, thanks for your review and congratulations on recently joining the Pella team!

Found 448 reviews