Performance Matters Associates Reviews

Updated Apr 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
33%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Performance Matters Associates President Michael Heard  (no image)
Michael Heard
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "great management teams to work with(in 5 reviews)

  • "I have worked with PMA now for three years, two of those years spent in Tampa FL & the past year in South Florida (West Palm/Ft(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "STAY AWAY FROM PMA USA and EVERYTHING SURROUNDING THAT NAME(in 8 reviews)

  • "I should say Washington National is but PMA markets for them so to me, one in the same(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Place to Get Started and Trained

      Feb 23, 2021 - State Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Training, team oriented, great place to start insurance career.

      Cons

      Not the most up to date with the industry

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Commission Sales

      Oct 27, 2020 - Insurance Agent 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Make your own schedule and choose work locations Commission pay schedule Fun travel and good bonuses Residual Income for life post 2 or 5 years Great training and upper management support

      Cons

      Unpaid training & meetings No base or salary pay No where to work if you don't schedule an enrollment or if your team doesn't have a location for you to work at High out of pocket costs Required "gifts" for anyone whether they buy or not from you Often locations have no elevator or easy route to enrollment but you bring tables chairs and 100s of gifts and electronics To make any money you'll have to travel and work 50 to 80 hour weeks. No benefits

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great people, poor company to work for. Definitely not a good college job.

      Feb 20, 2021 - Independent Contractor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - My coworkers were lovely individuals who deeply cared about my success and well-being. - Technically, the job does have good work-life balance, as each agent is in control of his or her own schedule.

      Cons

      - You have to cover all your own expenses (hotel bills, gas costs, etc.), and there is a lot of travel involved. Thus, even though I produced at the majority of enrollments I attended, I ended up losing money based on expenses alone. - The method of payment is advanced commission, so you get paid a large percentage of your total commission up front. However, if the policy is cancelled before it has been in place long enough to cover that advance, you have to pay the company back any excess commission. - After I left the company, the majority of the policies I sold lapsed. I don't know whether this was an intentional cancellation on the part of the policyholders or whether there was an error that occured with the employees' payroll deduction. Regardless, I ended up owing Washington National over $1,000 (due to the aforementioned bullet point), which I did not discover until over a year since I had last sold a policy. - I was informed that if I did not produce a policy for two quarters, I would be dropped from the company's payroll and cease to become a contractor. But this did not happen and I unknowingly paid several additional months of insurance before finally being dropped. - The job involves cold-calling. This isn't necessarily a con, but definitely something to be aware of, as cold calling can be exhausting for some. - Because you are an insurance agent, you will encounter people who don't like you due to the nature of your job. - Interestingly, though you are selling benefits to others, the job itself does not come with any benefits. - I'm not saying not to work at PMA. If you put in the work and expect to be there for years to come, it could potentially be a fairly lucrative job eventually. Also, depending on where you work, the other agents are fantastic people. But if you do work for PMA, expect to be there long-term. If you owe Washington National money and you are still actively producing for them, PMA will deduct any owed expenses from future paychecks. But if you work there as a summer job, or short-term, you may end up losing a lot of money. I ended up with a net loss of over $1,500.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not a good place to work

      Apr 8, 2021 - Insurance Agent in Fort Lauderdale, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      none - worst management I had

      Cons

      too many- specially the management

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great people!

      Jan 12, 2021 - District Manager in El Sobrante, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Has been a very rewarding experience.

      Cons

      Requires persistence and lots of determination.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great

      Aug 30, 2020 - Independent Contractor in Lynchburg, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Thank you for your time

      Cons

      Could have better growth opportunities

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Avoid at all costs or pay the price

      Aug 26, 2020 - Agent 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The day you leave. Thats it

      Cons

      Forget about buying gifts. Forget about driving hours and hours. Forget about pointless mandatory meetings. Forget about the joke of a pay structure. Just remember after all the empty promises, the day they decide to terminate you (most times without notice) they will place your previously advanced commissions into collections, while your up line has continued to collect on the policy. Someone should bring a class action lawsuit against these thieves. RUN as fast as you can away from this “opportunity”

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Joke of all jokes, run for dear life!

      Sep 2, 2019 - Sales Agent in Dayton, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Honestly there really isn't any to speak of. The sales trips were fun. But that also meant spending hours upon hours of propaganda sessions and cheesy awards sessions.

      Cons

      Where to begin, if you like working in a reality of being lied to from the interview on until your last day of employment, look no further this is the gig of the century. You will be told by the recruiters that you can make $60,000 in your first year, sell policies to only established accounts and enjoy only local travel, what a scam and so unfortunate really as the policies from Washington National, the real company that we represented, are actually good policies. You will travel a metric ton getting up at 4:30 or 5:00 am and travel to the boonies, and that's only if you're lucky. You will spend a lot more money(cheap gifts that PMA charges you for and makes a healthy profit on) than you can imagine and the commissions, averaging 20% upfront is dismal for the industry. Heard enough yet?? Theres more. If you aren't a manager they dont give 2 hoots about you or how broke you're getting. Also they make you attend quarterly meetings and you must swallow the same aging commentary and worthless pointers and outdated and useless sales tips. Other than all the above it's a great place to work:)

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Life Changing!

      Apr 1, 2020 - Regional Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Plug and play sales system, taught me how to be an professional in the Insurance industry! Great management and leaders who led me along the way. 9 years in, and I would not change a thing!

      Cons

      You wont get to work Holidays or weekends !

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A opportunity for hard workers

      Apr 24, 2019 - Agent in Sioux Falls, SD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's not rocket science that if you follow there system (attitude and activity) that you will be very successful. I was impressed with the training and managers in South Dakota. Have three days off a week a plus.

      Cons

      Traveling can an issue if you don't have support from your family.

      5 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 57 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Performance Matters Associates Job Seekers

    Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Outside Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Performance Matters Associates? Share Your Experiences

    Performance Matters Associates logo
    or