PernixData Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2017

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
54%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
PernixData Co-Founder & CEO Poojan Kumar
Poojan Kumar
39 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "We don't seem to get the value in the benefits compared to amount of money the company puts in(in 2 reviews)

  • "Recent layoffs cut staffing to the bone while the external message seems to tell a different story - customers and partners see through the spin(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Despite the bumps in the road, this was a good place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
     
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PernixData

    Pros

    PernixData had something special. I enjoyed coming in to work every day. Medical benefits are superior, on-site perks were great and the office space itself was phenomenal.

    Cons

    Had some bumps in the road with layoffs, etc.

    PernixData2017-01-17
  2. "leader"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PernixData full-time

    Pros

    co founders had a vision

    Cons

    co founders corrupted the vision

    PernixData2017-07-15
  3. "Sales"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PernixData

    Pros

    Great technology, leadership, and perks

    Cons

    New product that was not ready for market

    Continue reading
    PernixData2017-02-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Classic Startup Story"

    2.0
     

    I worked at PernixData

    Pros

    Bright engineering ahead of their time

    Cons

    Arrogance leads to blindspots in building products that customers want

    Continue reading
    PernixData2016-08-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Fun While It Lasted"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PernixData full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people. Many excellent, innovative, hard-working people.

    Cons

    Management vision went off the rails.

    Continue reading
    PernixData2016-08-07
  6. Helpful (4)

    "blind league of soon to be legends"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PernixData full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic employees, very technical folks, many awesome talents in engineering and other parts of the company

    Cons

    Management is really bad. From arrogance to simple stupidity. They are worse than a 7 year old making "business" decisions.

    Continue reading
    PernixData2016-07-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good engineering, not so good management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member of Technical Staff in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PernixData full-time

    Pros

    This review is purely from R&D perspective. The biggest plus of working at PernixData is the learning opportunity it provides. PernixData empowers its engineers to take big independent decisions. Engineering decisions did not flow from top to bottom but were mostly defined collectively. The talent pool is really commendable.

    Cons

    I think PernixData is where it is today because it failed to get a pulse on its existing employees. They did attempt to correct the course, but it was too late and for some, too little. They also focussed on multiple products at the same time, so the quality and feature set on existing products took a hit.

    Continue reading
    PernixData2016-07-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Marketing"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PernixData

    Pros

    Was fun before things went to hell

    Cons

    Management cratered the company with bad decisions

    Continue reading
    PernixData2016-07-04
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Soon to be history."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PernixData

    Pros

    The technology was rock solid and solved customers problems. Employees were the strength of this company who performed exceptionally in a disorganized environment.

    Cons

    The management did to have a clue regarding communication, was disorganized, and did not understand the market they played in.

    Continue reading
    PernixData2016-07-19
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Joke"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PernixData for more than a year

    Pros

    Great snacks but that isn't enough to build a great culture. Especially when you don't listen to what people have to say.

    Cons

    Management. The management team over there though they were the smartest people to ever start a company. My guess is they are going to be bought by an irrelevant technology.

    Continue reading
    PernixData2016-07-19
Found 56 reviews