Persimmon Reviews | Glassdoor

Persimmon Reviews

Updated 14 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Persimmon CEO John White (no image)
John White
45 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There really aren’t any cons to working for Persimmon Homes(in 6 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for , great atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Tech in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Persimmon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, clean environment, good holiday entitlement

    Cons

    None none none none none

    Persimmon2019-10-14
  2. "Good Company to Work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Persimmon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great long standing team, fantastic team ethic. Large pipeline of developments coming forward across the patch.

    Cons

    The office is located in the middle of Sowton Industrial Estate

    Persimmon2019-10-06
  3. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Llantrisant, Rhondda Cynon Taff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Persimmon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    All the staff are great, good salary and good working atmosphere.

    Cons

    There is no air con in the office.

    Persimmon2019-10-02
  4. "Groundworker Cardiff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grounds Crew in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends

    I worked at Persimmon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    8am - 4.30pm early finish on a Friday outside work , friendly and variable work

    Cons

    no progression no career prospects

    Persimmon2019-09-17
  5. "Excellent company to work for..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Wakefield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Persimmon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    •Great training programme. •Amazing management. •Perfect working hours. •Good salary and commissions. Persimmon Homes West Yorkshire is a great company to work for which I would highly recommend, every staff member gives 100% in to what they do, which is very rewarding to see the happy customers.

    Cons

    •Travel isn’t paid when you have to go to head office or meetings. Other than that I don’t have any other cons.

    Persimmon2019-08-01
  6. "Don't believe everything you read"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Persimmon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent management, they really do care about their staff, good hours and pay is competitive. Interview was very informal and was made to feel very relaxed, recieved a call an hour after I submitted my application and offered an interview.

    Cons

    Don't really get a break, but you manage your own time, so fit 5 minutes in where you can. Need to stay late often, but this is NOT expected. Do not get paid travel allowance, even when expected to go to head office or cover at other sites.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are.

    Persimmon2019-07-28
  7. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Persimmon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay if you are on full commission, nice people to work with. Fast paced and interesting.

    Cons

    No progression with career at all, not much commission paid, work every weekend and bank holiday

    Advice to Management

    Increase commission

    Persimmon2019-08-05
  8. "Wouldn’t recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Administrator in Bathgate, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Persimmon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Getting our bonus, staff nights out are good, every day is different.

    Cons

    Bullying in the workplace, very low wages for the amount of work you get places with, management don’t listen or take the time with office staff.

    Persimmon2019-08-01
  9. "Middle of the road"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Persimmon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are fun to work with.

    Cons

    Hard work is not recognised

    Advice to Management

    Take into account the people actually carrying out the work will have ideas and input and factor this into changes being made.

    Persimmon2019-07-15
  10. "PA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Personal Assistant in Maidenhead, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Persimmon

    Pros

    None. I honestly cannot think of any pros

    Cons

    Where to start! Low morale; understaffed in complaints department in particular; no support; no staff training and big on blame culture. Dreadful working environment due to refusal to spend money to improve the building

    Advice to Management

    Stop the bullying and take constructive advice

    Persimmon2019-08-03
Found 87 reviews