KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Policygenius

Is this your company?

Policygenius

Add a Review

Policygenius Reviews

Updated Jul 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 93 of over 96 reviews

4.3
77%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Policygenius CEO Jennifer Fitzgerald (no image)
Jennifer Fitzgerald
73 Ratings
Pros
  • "Policygenius has an amazing work environment(in 6 reviews)

  • "The company has a great culture, and really makes you feel comfortable(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "That said, work-life balance is very good - many family-oriented individuals on the team(in 3 reviews)

  • "There is no commission, but is that really a con(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Respectful, fast-growing Engineering organization

      Jul 26, 2021 - Engineering Management 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Although I have not worked with any companies of this size before (~600 employees, ~70 in Engineering), I’ve found Policygenius to be an excellent place to grow in my career. I say this because (a) we have a huge impact on the financial stability of individuals and families, (b) we have a data-driven problem solving culture that is embraced by all levels of the company, and (c) product, engineering, and design all work very respectfully together. Our CEO is also noteworthy. She is very transparent in weekly all-hands conversations, and open to new information and ideas coming from anyone. These two cultural aspects have spread throughout the company.

      Cons

      Since the company is growing so fast (50%-100% growth each year), there's a good chance that we've outgrown any given policy or practice. This means that there are things we could always be doing better. For folks like me, it's exciting that we all get to rebuild the tracks as we run down them, but I can see how it would be frustrating for folks who just want to go heads-down and do their job. Ongoing transformations mean that we have to spend a lot of time on alignment.

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing company values, exciting growth

      Jul 19, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      + Speed of progress, decision making and chance to make an impact + Talented peers who prioritize collaboration + Competitive pay, benefits, 401k and equity + Transparent communications from the top down, at every level + BEAUTIFUL OFFICE

      Cons

      - Moving quickly can get messy - Can be long hours when there are business pushes, and schedules can be challenging - Lots of platforms, technology - could be a little easier to navigate

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Very demanding and only focused on numbers

      Jun 18, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Most people are very nice and helpful. They have company wide events and send you gifts during milestones. They celebrate your anniversaries and when you get a pet. They also give you $500 to spend on your WFH station.

      Cons

      When I applied, the job description did not reflect the actual job. It did not say it was 100% on the phone and that you would have to work on most weekends and until 11pm one night per week. This job was the hardest and most demanding job I have ever had in my life! The managers don't care if you provide great customer service, they only care about the numbers at the end of the day. They also DM you and ask if you can work extra before and after your shift. Overall the values did not align with the actual way people were being treated.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company to be a part of

      Jul 15, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Amazing culture 2. Excellent leadership 3. Brilliant employees 4. Everyone genuinely cares about building a great product 5. Modern tech company

      Cons

      I really have none at this point.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company!!

      Jul 12, 2021 - Case Management Associate in Durham, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, great leadership, competitive salary, flexible schedule

      Cons

      Can’t think of any cons

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Policygenius has a Great Culture!

      May 17, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Durham, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture - Mission and Values are talked about frequently. The benefits are amazing! Everyone knows so much and willing to answer questions and help on board quickly.

      Cons

      Policygenius moves fast - Its not bad, but if you are used to moving slow it will be a shock.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Start up from hell, not POC friendly

      Jun 24, 2021 - Sales Associate in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent salary and benefits for entry level positions. That’s why the marketing and recruiting team go out of their way to target recent grads. Opportunity to earn bonuses through sales incentive (note: not commission based)

      Cons

      Long Hours. (Expect work a late night shift if you’re in Sales) No career track or structure for learning and development There’s were some racially insensitive ‘incidents’ from leadership and peers

      2 people found this review helpful

      Policygenius Response

      We thank you for your feedback and are very sorry to hear this about your experience at Policygenius. The experience you described doesn’t align with our company values, as we strive to have an inclusive and empowering culture for everyone. We’d like an opportunity to improve, but can only do that if we can get concrete feedback. We value current and former employees' feedback and are interested in learning more about your experience and your ideas on how we can do better. If you’re open to sharing more with us directly, please reach out to me at megan.pittman@policygenius.com. Thank you again and we wish you all the best. Sincerely, Megan Pittman, VP of People at Policygenius

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Proud to work here!

      Dec 4, 2020 - Recruiting Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. My manager cares about my career growth. They has actively brought it into the conversation and is helping me determine next steps on how to reach my goals. 2. Every single person on my team is caring. If you feel sick, we all genuinely hope you feel better soon and we will step in where needed so you can the time off that's needed. 3. I personally love working on a team that can pivot quickly. Working at a start-up means I can make process improvements where I see fit. 4. We are constantly thinking about scaling in a smart way. RCs are not an afterthought. 5. The company cares about people and Jen is a very transparent CEO. We always know what the strategy is and where we are trying to go which is impressive for a company this size.

      Cons

      It can get pretty busy sometimes and there are days where I need to work overtime, but it's much less painful to do when you actually like where you work.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Review

      Apr 30, 2021 - Case Management 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Colleagues are very smart and educated

      Cons

      Loads of work for little pay, no diversity in leadership, management pushes all work on low paid employees

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good experience

      Jun 10, 2021 - Sales Associate in Durham, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Low pressure sales environment and good work life balance.

      Cons

      Workloads is not evenly distributed.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 93 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Policygenius Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Policygenius? Share Your Experiences

    Policygenius logo
    or