RRM Design Group Reviews | Glassdoor

RRM Design Group Reviews

Updated Feb 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Erik P. Justesen, ASLA, LEED AP
20 Ratings
  1. "Lots of opportunity to learn & grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RRM Design Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Variety of projects. Thrown right into flow of projects. Coworkers are always super helpful in teaching me new skills.

    Cons

    Large office can sometimes feel impersonal

    RRM Design Group2019-02-16
  2. "Great people and great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RRM Design Group full-time

    Pros

    Team work, great benefit and wonderful people

    Cons

    Not applicable since this is a great company to work

    Advice to Management

    Keep up great work and employee relation

    RRM Design Group2018-08-29
  3. "Principal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RRM Design Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, great projects. RRM values it's people - it's a truly collaborative work environment that is creative and fun. And the work is very diverse, which makes each day interesting and challenging.

    Cons

    Because we are on the Central Coast, it's often a long drive to get to projects.

    RRM Design Group2018-08-29
  4. "Great place to work and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RRM Design Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company culture, coworkers, work experiences, ability to grow in my career. Transitioning to employee owned (ESOP).

    Cons

    none that I have encountered.

    Advice to Management

    Stay as transparent as possible and continue to lead by example for what RRM should be.

    RRM Design Group2018-08-29
  5. "Great office environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RRM Design Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great variety of project types and services with a collaborative environment between planners, engineers and architects. Room to move up with mentor and leadership programs. Good firm size, work life balance, knowledgeable staff, nice coworkers and working atmosphere, community involvement, and good benefits.

    Cons

    The only things, that are really more about the profession than this office, are deadlines and budgets can be tight so work can be really busy and then tapper off and back again.

    Advice to Management

    I really appreciate the thoughtfulness with employee retention efforts that make this a great place to work.

    RRM Design Group2018-08-29
  6. "The Joy of a career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RRM Design Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Since before I started working at RRM, the firm was known for its exceptional work and exciting work environment. Now having been with the firm for many years, it is truly extended family. The culture is friendly, safe, fun and driven by a desire for excellence in making a difference in the world around us. I have been able to grow in my profession and utilize my particular skill set and style in being a contributor to...

    Show More

    Cons

    The downside of work at RRM has to be the "feast or famine" aspect of our industry which can be challenging. However, for the reasons outlined above, if I am going to be in this industry, I would prefer to be part of a firm like RRM

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    RRM Design Group2018-08-30
  7. "Smoke and Mirrors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at RRM Design Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Majority of people are passionate about their careers and the offices located throughout California are in good locations. Benefits are above average for industry standard.

    Cons

    Management will often only check in with you to tell you that the project is over budget instead of checking the design or addressing the needs of the client. Designs and plans can be rushed due to management wanting to make a bigger profit, leading to lower quality work. Often clients are told that highly experienced employees will work on the project, when in reality it is usually designers with minimal experience to...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Instead of managing from the sidelines, become an active leader in projects. This can result in happier clients and higher quality projects.

    RRM Design Group2018-09-01

    RRM Design Group Response

    October 4, 2018

    Hey, this is Erik and I was reading through the Glass Door reviews and read yours. I am interested in your comments which I take to heart and want to be sure we address areas of our collaboration, leadership or performance that is not as strong as it should be. I would really like ...

    Show More
  8. "Family Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RRM Design Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Diverse project types, stable company. Positive workplace and family oriented values. Strong benefits for individuals. Many great attributes which come from a multi-disciplinary firm. Self motivated individuals are free to pursue their passions at their own will. Virtual office capabilities.

    Cons

    Performance metrics and direct correlation to compensation/promotions are a bit ambiguous. Salary ranges are not competitive with the overall California market which RRM operates in.

    Advice to Management

    Enforce and incentivize performance expectations for all employees up and down the roster. Reward innovation, profitability and business development in more tangible ways. Walk the 'trenches' more often.

    RRM Design Group2018-08-30
  9. "Job Captain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Job Captain in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RRM Design Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly mid-level staff who is always willing to help one another. Very strong HR team. Live-work balance.

    Cons

    Lack of design opportunities. Very tight budgets and local design guidelines makes for very rigid design processes that leaves out all but a couple designers. California is not a great place to be an Architect given the regulatory burden, design boards, cost of living and general, business unfriendliness.

    Advice to Management

    Weave in younger staff into the project's design.

    RRM Design Group2018-06-15
  10. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RRM Design Group part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great management team, awesome projects, cool people.

    Cons

    Great benefits - just average compensation

    RRM Design Group2018-01-31
Found 27 reviews