Recommind Reviews | Glassdoor

Recommind Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 79 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
34%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Recommind CEO Jan Puzicha
Jan Puzicha
3 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Delusional upper management: the valuation was "well north of(in 11 reviews)

  • "There is some title inflation so while the company is a little top heavy, it looks more(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Regional Manager, eDiscovery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Recommind for more than 6 years

    Pros

    These are the smartest people I've ever worked with. I work remotely, but from the day I first started, people were kind, mostly helpful, and wanted me to succeed. Today, there is a much better training program than when I started several years ago. The company continues to perfect its eDiscovery offerings, and the marketing programs support our efforts. It's a complex sale, but the company surrounds us with resources...

    Show More

    Cons

    Senior management changes focus too rapidly. For the size of the company, we are way too compartmentalized. Too many approvals needed to sell basic deals. Not enough eDiscovery services expertise in senior management--mostly enterprise software backgrounds.

    Advice to Management

    We shouldn't go to market with an offering until the product/service is completely fleshed out. It doesn't help our clients (or us!) to sell something that's not fully baked yet. Also, streamline internal processes so it's easier to close business--remove barriers to selling.

    Recommind2015-06-22
  2. "Great people; no meaningful opportunities for advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Recommind full-time

    Pros

    Great workforce and truly exceptional management.

    Cons

    No meaningful opportunities for advancement, even post-acquisition by OpenText.

    Advice to Management

    Without any real opportunities for advancement, the type of employees you want to retain most will leave.

    Recommind2018-11-27
  3. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Recommind full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    An intelligent group of dedicated professionals.

    Cons

    Inconsistencies in management and unclear direction of the organization and technology led to a sullying of culture and ultimately a brain drain of quality talent.

    Advice to Management

    Consistency and follow through are imperative to keeping a talented workforce.

    Recommind2018-06-12
  4. "Great people, shortsighted management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Recommind full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great people. The whole company, managers included, are very professional, practical and nice. My close team was a motley crew of the most amazing people. I still keep in touch with them.

    Cons

    Cannot keep talent. Did cut backs with cutting in the meat. Much expertise was lost. Many of those who were not cut back, left because of low moral. Cannot speak much to that, do not know all the facts. Maybe cutbacks at that time were inevitable.

    Advice to Management

    Company culture and moral matter.

    Recommind2018-04-20
  5. "Benefitd"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Recommind full-time

    Pros

    Great Company to work for

    Cons

    The company got sold off.

    Recommind2018-03-28
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Employees low on their priority list"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Recommind full-time

    Pros

    Possibility to learn how to lie well

    Cons

    Get lied to by upper management Employee surveys get shoved under the rug and thus, never acted upon results

    Advice to Management

    Get acquired so remaining employees have a chance to get recognized.

    Recommind2016-11-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Staff, Uncaring Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Recommind

    Pros

    Hardworking staff who worked long hours Camaraderie among staff

    Cons

    Long hours and low pay Unrealistic goals set Average benefits

    Advice to Management

    Know who the contributors really are and reward them.

    Recommind2016-10-21
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Just the worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Recommind

    Pros

    Some smart and hard working employees Pretty standard compensation

    Cons

    Constant lying from management Sycophantic employees prosper Product stagnant: AXC 5 has been in development for 3 years now, with no Dissatisfied clients No reward for good employees Delusional upper management: the valuation was "well north of $250m" in 2013, yet sold for $163m Stock options became worthless: $6 per share to sell at $3.80 per share Five rounds of layoffs in three years

    Advice to Management

    You sold, so there's not much you really care about anymore.

    Recommind2016-09-20
  9. "Great co-workers and laid back environment, bad training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Recommind full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    The work environment was low stress, managers did not micro manage, benefits package was very reasonable

    Cons

    No formal training, would just give you new tasks without training you on the skills required for that task.

    Advice to Management

    Offer training when giving employees new tasks. The skill development opportunity is great, but frustrating when training is offered.

    Recommind2016-08-15
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Run, don't walk..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Recommind full-time

    Pros

    Comp was on par. Great views of SF.

    Cons

    Incompetent leadership and toxic culture.

    Recommind2016-09-01
Found 79 reviews