Red Dot Reviews | Glassdoor

Red Dot Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
5%
Approve of CEO
Randy Gardiner
13 Ratings
  1. "MUST READ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Red Dot full-time

    Pros

    This Company has seen a lot of turnover in its executive level in the last few years. It has caused a lot of doubt in people’s minds about the direction and future of the company. I haven’t really seen any significant changes to our work environment, pay or morale. Late January, we had a new interim CEO step in, and within weeks, we were able to see some visual changes happening around the Seattle facility. Something...

    Show More

    Cons

    To be very honest, there is no cons about this company. Everyone is so nice and they train you well in every department.

    Red Dot2018-04-11
  2. "Good company to grow and learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Current Employee in Tukwila, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Red Dot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Employee Stock Ownership Plan -Lots of employees have been here over 20+ years. Take a tour and look at the names, its amazing how many people can be at one company for so long. -4/10 Work schedule for myself -Great Medical and Dental- Low price -Yearly bonuses -Good co-workers

    Cons

    Starting pay is low for some areas, but I'm not in it for the money.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Red Dot2018-02-28
  3. "not the place to be if you need a work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Red Dot full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    good benefits, hard working team members

    Cons

    long hours no extra for salaried employees, high stress no job security

    Advice to Management

    increase pay for over time, time management, manage schedule , plan and add work force,

    Red Dot2018-01-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Bad Executive leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Red Dot full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Not many pros here but.... Good people, decent benefits, decent lunch options near by.

    Cons

    Horrible executive team, 5 CEO's in two years, Nepotism, Low pay, no raises, no bonuses, Limited to no internal growth opportunities

    Advice to Management

    Quit and let people who know what they are doing take over.

    Red Dot2018-02-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Red Dot full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Offer overtime; lenient on hours if you need time off; dog friendly.

    Cons

    Management has a hard time owning up to mistakes and blames most things on customers; moving up in the company is mainly based on favoritism; poor advice from management on training; team leads do not help on escalated calls or issues; you need to suck it up if you want to stay there.

    Advice to Management

    Leadership courses; listen to your employees AND customers because the customers are basically the ones that are paying you.

    Red Dot2017-10-19
  6. "Lots of improvements needed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Red Dot full-time

    Pros

    Autonomous work. Forces collaboration with everyone from Purchasing to Engineering to Production.

    Cons

    Engineering can be hard to work with as they won’t own up to any mistakes or process improvements.

    Red Dot2017-10-15
  7. "Management Needs Help"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Red Dot full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Dog friendly and that is it.

      Cons

      Policies are inconsistent, management shows favoritism. Human resources does not provide an adequate place to express concerns, promises of growth but no follow up with career path advancement, management has no formal education and lacks overall direction, and zero help from leadership.

      Advice to Management

      Take leadership courses

      Red Dot2017-10-19
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Red Dot full-time

      Pros

      Good atmosphere, people were generally nice to be around. I hear they've been turning things around financially lately, which is nice to hear!

      Cons

      Nepotism, lack of vision and leadership.

      Advice to Management

      When you hire someone to be an expert at something, listen to their advice.

      Red Dot2017-08-07
    • "Revolving Door of People"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Red Dot full-time

      Pros

      No pros for this company

      Cons

      High turnover rate, and no end in sight.

      Red Dot2017-08-30
    • "Sadly mismanaged"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Red Dot full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      The interpersonal culture on the shop floor is awesome by and large. Esop company. Benefits slowly got worse but are still great. Hopefully that trend stops. You do have a chance to get promoted

      Cons

      Most of the ways to get promoted have less to do with your qualifications and more with how close you are to certain people. Company is happy to rip you off on your labor if you never say anything about it. Morale is low. People are jaded about the company which is really sad. New management was supposed to fix this, but they didn't get rid of every vestige of the old guard, and those specific people are making...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Hire outside experience. Only promote from within if you're in it for the long haul with then and provide professional (preferably from outside the company) training to specialize them. Currently the blind lead the blind. Currently, most good employees just utilize Red Dot as a stepping stone for higher paying jobs. Most that I know are drowning in some way. Find a way to make them want to stay before they're gone....

      Show More
      Red Dot2017-06-28
    Found 32 reviews