KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

SAM Companies

Engaged Employer

SAM Companies

Add a Review

SAM Companies Reviews

Updated May 23, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 102 of over 106 reviews

4.3
87%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
SAM Companies President and CEO Christopher M. Solomon
Christopher M. Solomon
34 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Good benefits.(in 10 reviews)
  • "Fun and good pay.(in 6 reviews)
  • "Many of the people there are great to work with.(in 3 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year
    Featured Review

    Rapidly growing company that prioritizes culture

    Feb 15, 2022 - Corporate Recruiter 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Top Work Place for 10 consecutive years. Company has been around for 25 years and is very reputable. Had over 18% YOY growth from 2020-2021. Very growth and people focused - so a big initiative is to retain, train, and attract talent. Career pathing is clearly outlined on the website to give you a sneak peek at what your potential could be at SAM. SAM uses the most advanced software and hardware programs to create customized, easy-to-use deliverables - making you more efficient from the start. SAM invests heavily in early talent management, the internship program, and training folks from the ground up in a skilled trade. Access to professional development resources such as tuition reimbursement, internal leadership training programs, and other ongoing learning resources.

    Cons

    They do offer the ability to work from home 2 days a week for select positions, but not a solution for individuals looking for 100% remote work.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SAM Companies Response

    Thank you for your feedback. We are grateful to our team members who have continued to vote SAM Companies as a Top Workplace for ten years. We have continued to grow exponentially throughout the years, including expanding our geographic footprint both organically and through acquisitions. We are glad you are part of the SAM team.

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Sense of Community

    May 23, 2022 - Senior Recruiter in Raleigh, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Our company genuinely cares about our employees. We have several mixers and functions throughout the year to build comradery and community.

    Cons

    Not really a con, but the rapid demand for a growing employee force based on precision expansion.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Good Company that seems to try.

    Apr 12, 2022 - Office Technician in Westerville, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good Coworkers, Hybrid work available in the office. Management is usually approachable. If you have less common skills, they will get used here.

    Cons

    Sometimes it feels like if you're working under the wrong manager, work experience gets worse. No Fulltime remote work for most office positions. Your position can really determine how much work you get. One portion of the office can be barely scraping by to get to 40 hours, while the other is asking if you can do more than 60. I've had situations where I had more overtime hours than regular hours in a week. Great if you're desperate for money, not great for family life. Field workers get laid off if their sector makes a downturn, office workers get limited to 40 hours. not always great at keeping things spaced out so you will have weeks of nothing followed by weeks of everything all at once.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good company

    May 11, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -good managers - good company perks

    Cons

    -no major cons I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Excellent Work Culture

    May 10, 2022 - Civil engineer 1 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Emphasis on work life balance

    Cons

    Logistics and recruitment deficiencies are an issue

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Growth

    Apr 19, 2022 - Technician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to grow and diversify yourself within many different fields

    Cons

    Communication may not always be top of the line

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Run far away

    Apr 13, 2022 - Surveyor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You will work a lot of hours if you are salary not hourly.

    Cons

    They make promises with no intention of keeping. You will get calls on vacation, they will not respect your off time. Will take advantage of you if you let them. Upper management will tell you what you want to hear to get you to keep working.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company to work for!

    Dec 23, 2021 - Recruiter in Columbus, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Continuing education, hybrid work models, great culture and work life balance

    Cons

    I can not think of any cons.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Great company

    Feb 1, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Just wanted to give a shout-out to SAM for how they handled Covid. The company showed great adaptability and flexibility to meet the needs of its employees.

    Cons

    Office politics sometimes get a little out of hand.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SAM Companies Response

    We appreciate the flexibility and adaptability our team members showed throughout the pandemic as we navigated the unprecedented times. Additionally, we encourage employees experiencing difficulties in the office or field to reach out to HR directly to navigate any challenges. Thank you for your feedback.

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Lots of opportunities for professional growth

    Nov 15, 2021 - Department Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Growth opportunities for employees Good work/life culture Very optimistic future Work on a variety of projects Great team in place Excellent sharing of resources between departments

    Cons

    I have had a great experience since joining the organization. No issues to mention.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SAM Companies Response

    President and CEO

    Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your experience. At SAM, we encourage work-life balance and are grateful to have been voted a Top Workplace by our employees for the tenth consecutive year.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 102 Reviews

SAM Companies Reviews FAQs

SAM Companies has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5, based on over 106 reviews left anonymously by employees. 87% of employees would recommend working at SAM Companies to a friend and 70% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 23% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, SAM Companies employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.8 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at SAM Companies. This rating has improved by 8% over the last 12 months.

87% of SAM Companies employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated SAM Companies 3.9 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.3 for culture and values and 4.2 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at SAM Companies to be coworkers, career development, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, culture, management.

Popular Careers with SAM Companies Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at SAM Companies? Share Your Experiences

SAM Companies logo
or

SAM Companies Careers

Cover image for SAM Companies

Come on in and have a seat! We’re glad you’re here. At SAM, we strive to foster an environment that supports a healthy work/life balance. ...More

  • Our Culture
  • Diversity
  • Community
  • Future Talent
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Company Updates

Logo

SAM Companies

142 days ago

Company News
SAM Companies is excited to announce the acquisition of Ghiotto & Associates, Inc. Based in Florida, this acquisition expands our geographic range, service capacity, and client responsiveness across multiple markets. Read more on our website. #SAMCompanies
Shared image - SAM Announces Acquisition of Ghiotto & Associates, Accelerating its Expansion in Florida and the Southeast U.S. - SAM
SAM Announces Acquisition of Ghiotto & Associates, Accelerating its Expansion in Florida and the Southeast U.S. - SAM
www.sam.biz

SAM Companies Photos

+ Add Photo
SAM Companies photo of: Florida employees showing support for Ovarian Cancer
SAM Companies photo of: SAM Vapor and Crew working on one of the largest UAS inspection projects in the United States.
SAM Companies photo of: Welcome SAM 2019 Summer Interns!
SAM Companies photo of: Employees Volunteering with Ronald McDonald House Charities of Central Texas
SAM Companies photo of: SAM's Applied Technology Team hosting a training.
SAM Companies photo of: Featured are some of SAM's leadership team with Founder Mr. SAM Hanna at the company's 25th Anniversary Celebration
SAM Companies photo of: Ann Richards students witness a UAV demo led by SAM staff
See All Photos