SCANA Reviews | Glassdoor

SCANA Reviews

Updated Nov 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
60%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
SCANA CEO Jimmy E. Addison
Jimmy E. Addison
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, extremely nice people to work with(in 15 reviews)

  • "Great people, some good benefits and 3wks pto plus some paid holidays(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "The good ole boy system still exists(in 4 reviews)

  • "Just let a lot of people go when they abandoned the AP1000 project(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Infrastructure Analyst 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SCANA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent place to work. Great growth opportunities. Great benefits. Good salary.

    Cons

    None that I can think of...

    SCANA2019-02-19
  2. "This CO only cares about meeting the numbers to GET HIS BONUS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instrument Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SCANA full-time

    Pros

    NONE none None NONE Not-a

    Cons

    Insurance is a joke Better be a good ole boy to work here

    SCANA2019-11-26
  3. "Ok Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Software Engineer IV 

    I have been working at SCANA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They have Good Pay and Compensation.

    Cons

    Lots of Favoritism and push to promote women and minorities, some qualified, some no so much...

    SCANA2019-08-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Save yourself and keep looking!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineering Team Lead in Columbia, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SCANA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Honestly good benefits package.

    Cons

    * This will vary somewhat between departments but middle management throughout this company is utterly horrible. There is a culture of absenteeism from the managers and department heads. After three years I've not seen earnest leadership. * There isn't room for advancement here. You will languish where you entered from. You can earn merit bonuses/raises but your actual job wont ever change. * With the... Dominion Energy acquisition, perhaps this will change but HR wields an absurd amount of power over technical interviews. The questions we were permitted to ask when interviewing candidates were pretty much useless. HR seems weirdly terrified of a lawsuit of any kind. * If you are technical, you will spend your time dealing with horrendous enterprise software, ever changing and annoying IT policies, and drudgery.

    Show More
    SCANA2019-03-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Be Leary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clerk in Cayce, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SCANA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cannot think of any pros except for orientation. They give you all the information needed in orientation.

    Cons

    The pay is low for the amount of work. Lots of politics and drama. It's all in who you know at that company to get anywhere or get anything like a bonus and/or pay raise. The more work you do the more they pile on while others do the minimum. Too many people get away with things that are not allowed like being on cellphone, surfing the web, and talking a lot while they are supposed to be working. Lots of... favoritism. They do not appreciate a hard worker and you do not get praise for doing a good job. You just get negative feedback and work in a negative environment. The work is great, it was the environment. Can't even trust the HR Department. The communication is the worse I've ever experienced, and not telling the truth. Lots of back stabbers and also being treated like a 5 year old. I have always heard that SCANA was a great place to work. Boy was I wrong. I'm in the process of looking.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Replace some of the management that has been there a long time. Do not show favoritism and praise workers once in a while for a job well done instead of telling them the things they do wrong. No one is perfect, we are all human and we make mistaked. BETTER COMMUNICATION! The communication is terrible.

    SCANA2019-01-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great work/life balance, frustrating work-place culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at SCANA full-time

    Pros

    SCANA is the place to work if you want to leave your work at work. You don't have to, but you certainly can. The organization values the family atmosphere and more intangible benefits over competitive compensation packages you may find elsewhere. The pay is semi-competitive for the locale, and you can set your own pace of work. Benefits are relatively competitive. It is VERY easy to stand out as a top performer,... but you don't really get anything from it. With very few exceptions, as long as you show up and are physically present for your work hours, you will have a job until you choose to leave.

    Show More

    Cons

    Company rep is in the gutter. Company is "age heavy". Median age is quite high, and SCANA is a pay-for-time company despite it's pay-for-performance incentive plan. New modern ideas are lacking, and "old school" best describes the atmosphere. If you see someone in their 20s, it was probably a grand-kid visiting for lunch. You can do almost nothing all day every day and get a 1-2% raise at the end of the year,... or you can work your tail off doing the work of 6 people and get 3%-4% if you are lucky. Most end up choosing the former and losing their work ethic and drive over time, which all-in-all means the global pace of work runs like a state agency. Promotional potential is limited due to the fact that the company will let people work until they die or choose to retire, and due to the aforementioned good benefits, people live and work forever. 40th and 50th work anniversaries are not uncommon, and we wonder why no O&M is available to pay top performers. SCANA in my estimation is about a 50% split of hard talented workers and retired-in-place leeches mooching pay checks every day.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Consider actually paying for performance (or taking away for lack of performance). Consider matching offers or meeting halfway to retain good employees. Consider the "F" word ("fire") and do it to people that show up and do nothing all day everyday. Consider going around and trying to meet the people that work for you once or twice a year.

    SCANA2018-10-31
  7. "Solid benefits but poor support and atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Cayce, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SCANA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits (health, dental, life, disability).

    Cons

    Toxic cronyism. Ineffective employees kept in jobs far longer than necessary. Disorganized project management means work is always behind schedule, over budget, and not quite what the customer wanted.

    Advice to Management

    Management claims to want to support their employees career development, personal well-being, and freedom to communicate ("openly and honestly" is the corporate value). However, this is only respected from management's interpretation, and disregarded whenever convenient. The amount of twisting and flip-flopping that happens to justify missing an annual goal is astounding -- all for the sake of getting that annual... bonus incentive. This creates a culture of laziness and doesn't encourage adhering to the SACRED values we're supposed to uphold.

    Show More
    SCANA2018-11-01
  8. "Looking out for the big guys"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Relations Specialist in Cayce, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SCANA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Bottom line is they do things for appearance only

    SCANA2018-09-10
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SCANA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and opportunities

    Cons

    There are no days off at this job during outage.

    SCANA2018-08-13
  10. Helpful (1)

    "It's in who you know"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clerk in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SCANA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits are really good for the employees.

    Cons

    If you do a good job in your position, you get rewarded by being denied advancement opportunities. I was stuck in the same job for over 10 years, interveiwed 16 different times for advancement to the next level. Was told I interveiwed very well, my skill level was out of sight, I had a great attitude blah blah. The HR person did not like me so I was never chosen. She finally left the company. I did not get a... chance to do an interview with the new HR person. Scana is a big supporter of Blacks In Energy.

    Show More
    SCANA2018-07-22
Found 134 reviews