SSE Reviews | Glassdoor

SSE Reviews

Updated Aug 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 396 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
SSE CEO Alistair Phillips-Davies
Alistair Phillips-Davies
173 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company provides good benefits(in 24 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, flexible working and annual leave (25 days min and you can buy more)(in 21 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great work. Former military in a challenging environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Publications Writer in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SSE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people. Learning something new everyday. benefits are nice and they are very flexible with when and how you complete your 40 hours a week.

    Cons

    not many...maybe business casual attire?

    Advice to Management

    Keep training like you do. Great company.

    SSE2018-09-15
  2. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SSE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work within UK.

    Cons

    No cons within UK context.

    SSE2018-06-23
  3. "Policy Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at SSE full-time

    Pros

    Great start in the energ industry in the UK Thoughtful leadership Good work life balance and talented colleagues You get real hands on experience with policies facing the utility industry

    Cons

    Salart for the mosyt junior positions are very low so might be hard for company to attract talent

    SSE2017-11-01
  4. Helpful (2)

    "A terrible place to work which left me a nervous wreck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Portsmouth, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SSE part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nothing comes to mind it's a shambles

    Cons

    A horrid place to work which has left me permantly signed off sick with the doctor. If you want to loose all self esteem and be down trodden and not appreciate then work for SSE. You will get better treatment working in North Korea.

    Advice to Management

    Managers bullying staff. Managers not taking any responsibility for there errors. Dreadful set up from top to bottom a complete shambles. They preach to staff to treat customers like family but treat there staff like dirt. Management only care about climbing the greasy career ladder.

    SSE2017-10-07
  5. "Telesales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SSE full-time

    Pros

    Good culture, grounding for sales and future career

    Cons

    Difficult job and high turnover but no more than other companies

    SSE2017-08-11
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Structured environment, not really that creative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jacksonville, FL
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SSE

    Pros

    An okay place to work. I do not feel micro-managed or hen-pecked as I have at other places. You need to be self-taught or self sufficient in finding answers to your own questions, because no training or hand-holding is supplied, but this gives me an odd feeling of independence even though I have no real decision-making role. Socially, the group is racially mixed but uniquely singular in political-cultural-religious bias.

    Cons

    More of a job and not so much a career, no course for advancement. Filled with former military types so civilians are somewhat challenged to fit this culture. Not really creative, more structured. Not a brilliant place to build a future but suits for steady pay. Thinking out of the box is okay, but do not push it too much or you will seen as one who challenges the system or brushes up against authority. And the authoritative...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Directives or goals are not stated clearly, with little communication or direction for action items. Often I feel left not knowing what to do or what action to take, and many others that I ask for help seem equally uninformed (or unwilling) to provide solid direction. Even the so-called corporate types are hesitant to state a fact as fact. A little too open-ended, with uncertainty about what prevails. Bits and pieces...

    Show More
    SSE2016-12-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "SSE inc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SSE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paycheck is delivered. 20 word minimum required me to fill this in with more pros, there really are none other than a paycheck.

    Cons

    The atrocious management. A ceo that doesn't care. Salesman that screw clients over. Expect more than 40 hours a week without even a thank you.

    Advice to Management

    Pros: a paycheck Cons: terrible management, don't expect more pay than what you start with. FOEs once upon a time this used to be an amazing place to work. After multiple mass turnover periods the company is a shell of what it once was. The good managers are long gone to bigger and better places, the ceo is oblivious to the day to day operations and the feel for the employees. The average seniority of the employees is...

    Show More
    SSE2016-07-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Not a Positive Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at SSE full-time

    Pros

    Steady work, at the time

    Cons

    Incredibly hostile and controlling management

    Advice to Management

    Take more of an interest in your own employees; don't sign over management to the prime contractor

    SSE2015-04-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "SSE intern over a period of 6 months"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Generation Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SSE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good place to get a working experience in the generation business and to appreciate the challenges of energy generation.

    Cons

    No processes, not strong e-learning platforms, big generation plants are not coordinated, therefore the engineering practices can vary a lot. Engineering level is very low, even though I don´t know whether this is just from the facility itself or the sector (there are no processes at all for introducing new technologies, for assessing efficiency of the plant, etc.). In general, the plant at which I worked had a very poor...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Improve the engineering culture. Bring people from other sectors with a stronger engineering culture (automotive, aerospace, manufacturing) to implement best practices. Set up central functions to create strategies across the business, promote charter-ship for engineers!!!

    SSE2014-05-29
  10. "Data Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends

    I have been working at SSE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing work environment, management respects and motivates for a good balance between work and personal life

    Cons

    No perks for the employees, basic salary a bit less than the market

    SSE2019-08-11
Found 396 reviews