Salsify Reviews

Updated Jan 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
75%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Salsify CEO Jason Purcell
Jason Purcell
56 Ratings
Pros
  • "good company culture, good work/life balance(in 5 reviews)

  • "Great company, great product - everyone is working towards the same goal(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "As with any high-growth company, there will be growing pains:(in 5 reviews)

  • "This is a fast-paced and fast-changing environment that asks for a lot of flexibility from the team(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "Disruptive vision, transformative space, big tailwinds"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Salsify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Small company feel - everyone has an impact and a voice Big company plans - lots of growth potential Platform and solution executives want to invest in to drive e-commerce growth

    Cons

    Nothing that comes to mind.

    Continue reading

    Salsify Response

    January 26, 2021Software

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! So glad to hear of of your positive experience!

  2. "Great culture, awesome product and passionate clients"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salsify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Leadership is top notch, peers (cross-functionally) always willing to assist when needed, leading product in the space with few competitors that can solve the same end-to-end use case(s).

    Cons

    Still has a bit of immaturity with some internal processes, nothing serious.

    Continue reading

    Salsify Response

    January 26, 2021Software

    Thank you so much for leaving such a thoughtful review. We certainly take value in listening to feedback!


  3. "A company designed for success"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salsify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Learning from seasoned SaaS executives who know what it takes to be successful -The product quality speaks for itself -Great people

    Cons

    -Work-life balance is tricky at times

    Continue reading

    Salsify Response

    January 4, 2021Software

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a thoughtful review!

  4. "Great place to grow as an engineer"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Co-Op in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salsify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The team that I was placed on was exactly the experience I was looking for- an interesting product, a fantastic manager, opportunities to work with new technology. The engineering culture at Salsify is really fantastic and as a co-op, you start to feel like a real engineer pretty early on in the experience. - The remote situation threw me off initially, but Salsify really tried to make the most out of it. The new co-op program is a great start; we had fun events and got to work on a team project. - Good opportunities to learn and collaborate in cross team discussions- even in a remote setting. - There's not superiority complex to the managers or the senior devs. Everyone that Salsify hires is wonderful. I've had no negative experiences with anyone on my team.

    Cons

    - This may be a remote setting comment - it was hard to develop team relationships at first. Those casual conversations that you normally have in an office are gone. - If you need a lot of hand holding, this is not the place for you. No one is constantly checking in on you. I personally got used to this after a few months, but could be a con for some - I feel as though some of the executive team is getting a bit cagey about some topics. It's becoming apparent in some of the weekly meetings we have.

    Continue reading

    Salsify Response

    December 21, 2020Software

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your co-op experience with us! Our co-ops do such amazing work and we are so grateful to have such awesome student talent join our teams. Having such a distributed workforce is a new challenge for us and we sympathize with how difficult it can be to build relationships on remote teams. We are constantly brainstorming new ways to keep our teams connected. If you have any thoughts on how we can continue to improve here, please don’t hesitate to reach out and let us know. -Salsify’s People Experience Team

  5. "A Fast-Paced, Tech Company"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Manager in Boston, MA

    I have been working at Salsify full-time

    Pros

    supportive, innovative, great compensation, excellent leadership, strong vision

    Cons

    If you aren't prepared to work in a fast-paced collaborative environment this will be a challenge

    Salsify Response

    December 1, 2020Software

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review!

  6. "Lots of learning opportunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing Coop in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Salsify full-time

    Pros

    Various jobs function Exposure to different responsibilities Cool events for employees

    Cons

    Not really any cons for Salsify

    Salsify Response

    November 18, 2020Software

    Thank you so much for your thoughtful review!

  7. COVID-19
    Helpful (5)

    "Culture falling by the wayside in the name of scale"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Salsify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Product is excellent. When fit is good, customers find real value. Pandemic caused a permanent shift to distributed work model which is a pro for some. Compensation reasonable despite lack of structure around increases.

    Cons

    Starting to feel like a chimera in rush to compete with others in the space. Too much focus on new features and not enough on platform stability. Rush to scale means culture gets left behind. Work/life balance is out of whack as hiring can't catch up to demand. Leadership getting increasingly cagey and defensive about answering tough questions. No 401(k) match despite consistent asks by employees. Little room for growth. Constant reorgs create ever-changing expectations. Most leadership hired from outside. Pretty massive exec turnover in the last year. Health insurance benefits have gotten worse over time. Very little room for growth.

    Continue reading

    Salsify Response

    November 23, 2020Software

    Hello. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We recognize that it is both a challenging and exciting time to be at Salsify. As we continue to scale at a rapid rate, we know there will be many growing pains along the way and that we won't always get it right the first time. One of our values is to be a positive thinker and to assume good intent. Our leadership team has had lengthy conversations about many of the topics you raised, and have moved forward in their decisions with great care and consideration. We have also tried to be thoughtful and transparent in providing context to the company with regard to those decisions. Our hope is to make Salsify an exciting and rewarding place to work for everyone. If you feel as though you need more communication and context to be happy and productive at work, I highly encourage you to reach out to your PX business partner, your department head, or to me directly - we would welcome any conversations or feedback that will help us achieve that goal. Thank you again for your review. Thanks, Colleen Fuller, CPO

  8. Helpful (5)

    "Cool company, but very political and nearly no career growth potential"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salsify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cool office and "exciting trajectory," which probably isn't realistic to say anymore.

    Cons

    Management doesn't actually care about your overall career growth. They will stick you in the same position you were hired for and expect you to stay there (even while consistently blowing quotas out of the water). Compensation is low compares to the rest of the market, it's very political, and the culture is NOT the place it used to be years ago when it was actually exciting.

    Continue reading

    Salsify Response

    November 20, 2020Software

    Hi there. Thank you so much for your honest feedback. I am sorry to hear that you feel as though your career growth has not been prioritized. One of our values is to be empowered; we believe in letting our employees take the lead in driving their own growth and development. With that said, we do recognize what a big role our managers play in performance, which is why we have spent the last year focused on manager training and support. I encourage you to reach out to your PX business partner or department leader to have a transparent conversation about your development. You can also feel free to reach out to me directly, I would love to hear more about your experience and how we can continue to support your growth at Salsify. Thanks, Colleen Fuller, CPO

  9. "Risk of culture left behind in efforts to scale"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salsify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overall, working at Salsify has been a positive experience. I am surrounded by smart, and motivated people everyday who work hard for the success of Salsify and our customers.

    Cons

    As the company has been focused on scale, the culture has been left behind. New management (especially at the exec level) are eager to make big changes without understanding the current culture/company/product. Internal orgs are hearing competing messages leading to a lot of tension.

    Continue reading

    Salsify Response

    November 2, 2020Software

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy to hear that overall you have had a positive experience at Salsify and have enjoyed working with your peers. As we continue to scale at a rapid rate, we accept that our fast-paced environment means that there will be many opportunities where we could do better. One of our values is to assume positive intent, so we know that our leaders have the best intentions when joining and scaling our teams. We will also be continuing to focus on how and when we communicate best with our employees. Thank you again for your candid feedback - we will use it to help us to keep our employees top of mind as we continue to grow and scale! - Salsify's People Experience Team

Viewing 1 - 10 of 73 English Reviews